We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key but high quality.”
Review of Bahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahar
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Let me say that I am writing this from my room as we are still holidaying at Beautiful Bahar.
The review by Tony K criticising the food has little merit. OK.....if you are used to triple money 5 star Hotels that have massive menus of food and cocktails then you may possibly be disappointed at Bahar. If however, you enjoy fresh local produce cooked in traditional recipes by authentic chefs then you will love it here.

Breakfast today was omelettes as the hot option: salamis two local cheeses, olives,tomatoes melon,toast ,cereal etc etc etc.
Lunch was homemade mushroom soup , chicken goujons and home cut chips umpteen different fresh salads and cooked veg dishes ALL WERE SCRUMPTIOUS.
The same goes for dinner:only two hot options but both so delicious.

If you are a big carnivore then maybe book elsewhere but if variety is not high on you list of priorities then you'll be fine. The last word on this subject goes to my Greek wife. She says of the food it is like having food prepared by her late mother and aunties when she was back home in Cypress.....surely that is recommendation of the highest order!


Regarding the rest of the hotel every review says it all. From the moment you are greeted by Melda on reception you are welcomed into the family Bahar.

In all the countless hotels we have stayed at worldwide, non can come close to the friendliness, cleanliness and relaxiness (is there is such a word? )of this remarkable oasis.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GarryGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 327 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

Where to start? This holiday really was absolutely fantastic. I generally tend to not leave reviews, however, I felt my stay at the Bahar Hotel was so good I had to give praise. My girlfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 10 nights in early June- Aged 19 and 22 respectively.

First of all the food. Please ignore the comments others leave about the food served at this hotel. I feel people are forgetting they are on holiday in a DIFFERENT country. The whole experience is to try new foods and experience the local produce. The food was GREAT! It was healthy, colourful and plenty of it. The latest comment left saying there was only one choice and there was no vegetables is utterly ridiculous!! There were always three choices minimum, with soup also and a whole tables dedicated to fresh vegetables and salads. The comments people are leaving about not being served full english breakfasts, are you kidding me? You are in Turkey, the food they serve is lovely fresh and ideal for the climate. Stodgy, greasy bacon is not what you want in that heat. In short, the food is fantastic and anyone who says otherwise has done no research into the culture and if they want to eat fatty, sugary foods should not book a trip to a country with such a wealth in healthy produce therefore enjoy it and please ignore the comments from some people they are ridiculously narrow minded.

Secondly, the rooms were absolutely fantastic. Bedding and towels changed EVERY DAY, the rooms are large, come with free air conditioning and a large bathroom with a wonderful wet room style shower. We had hot water all week, even during longer showers. The room was spotless as soon as we entered. A TV gave a range of local channels which provided some great comedy and the BBC news so it was easy to keep up to date with at home also. Cannot fault the room at all.

The staff are really what makes this hotel so fantastic. They cannot help you enough. The fact that some people have the audacity to actually leave reviews saying there are not enough English speakers is crass beyond belief, once again. You are in TURKEY! Not the UK, you would not expect any Turkish visitors to the UK to speak only Turkish to you. Nevertheless, the lovely receptionist speaks remarkable fluent English and will do everything in her power to help you r stay- she gave us directions, recommendations and genuine conversation on a daily basis. The rest of the staff all speak enough English to go about day to day with great ease. They are all far more pleasent than you would find in any hotel in the UK, special mentions to the young waiter and bar girl who both are fantastic at their job.

General hotel comments. The pool is cleaned both at night and in the morning by the night watch man who will greet you very pleasantly if you are arriving or leaving late. The hotel provide sandwiches for guests who are leaving for the airport which is a great and caring touch. The reception area, toilets and pool areas are spotless and cannot be faulted at all. There are plenty of sun loungers to share and the pool is very large for the size of the hotel. The area around is quiet and peaceful. The bar serves a delicious local beer, local spirits and mixers. The bar is open 11-11 which worked perfectly for our stay.

All in all, this hotel really was fantastic. This is coming from a young couple- the primary suspects of whom would normally complain to the heavens if the place was not up to standards, however, we both could genuinely not fault one thing in our stay at Bahar, except to say it was not long enough of course.

Some last comments. I feel a lot of people on this website want a holiday were they pick up their British home and dump it somewhere with some sun. There is very little acceptance to the local culture and people need to stop being so naive and remember quite how much of a bargain this hotel is. TIP WELL!!

Room Tip: We had an "in-land" facing view which was absolutely fine. If you have a stay like we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Blair J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

A group of 4 of mixed ages (60,16, 24, 28) stayed for a week at the end of June/early July.

We had an amazing stay, the staff could not have been more accommodating or welcoming. They go out of their way to ensure you are comfortable and happy at all times. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Mary, Marella and Farouk were splendid and the food is superb. It is cultured with something to please everyone and you can eat as much as you like. The bar is more than adequate with cold draught lager being served from 11am everyday.

The rooms are of such a high standard, above and beyond anywhere I have stayed abroad previously with a wet room, balcony and air con!! The room service is brilliant.

The rooms with a view are fantastic.

It was my birthday whilst we were staying and Marella (receptionist) ordered a cake on request which was here the next day and Mary (bar maid) lit the candles and sang to me and cut the cake up for me!!

The guests were all friendly and many people had been before or would definitely go back.

Overall, I could not rate this hotel highly enough and would encourage you to try it. I cannot wait to go back. We are looking at booking to go again in October but please don't book so we can't go back!! :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view as this is stunning. Our was on the 3rd floor and was fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Just got back and am feeling guilty about leaving this review, Staff, Rooms and Pool areas are great, but the two big issues are the food and Noise


Food - great if your on a diet, 1 choice only, No veg, and very basic salad, desert was an orange cut in 4, or banana chut in 5 !!! This needs toi be improved big time.

At the pool bar about 15 yards from our room there was loud music until 3 or 4 oclock every evening, was a nightmare.

Sorry guys these little things would make the Hotel a great place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TONY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have just return from at week a this lovely family run hotel. I can only 'echo' previous comments. Have stayed in many 4* and 5* hotels worldwide and this is on par with the best for cleanness and beats some of them hands down.

We shall be returning sooner rather than later. Thank you to all the staff for a most enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank a-bird649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our fourth time at the Bahar and hopefully not our last.Great staff and management,Food a bit limited, but this is not an expensive holiday.Rooms lovely and beds very comfortable.The views are stunning,watch the sunsets they are fabulous.We hope to return next year.
Ann & John (oldham)

Room Tip: Just personal choice most rooms have sea views,but a couple at the front of hotel face the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annwooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

After the 3rd visit to the Bahar Hotel in Challis we were not disappointed it gets better every year.
The staff are great , very clean hotel, excellent location, food has improved but most of all this hotel is friendly and the staff cannot do enough for you its like hove from home.
I would like to personally thank Aiyan, Faruk, Murve, Mel on reception, maids and the cooks you make our holiday with your friendly smiling faces and you go the extra mile nothing s too much trouble for you we really appreciate it thank you so very much see you next year.

If you want good trips use Sunset trips on beach front they are excellent trips and very good value for money thanks guys we thoroughly enjoyed jeep safari and Dalayan river cruise to see Loggerhead turtles.

For a great meal see "Basil" at Serkul 1 and I guarantee you wont be disappointed


Brilliant enjoyed every minute!!

Sandra & Graham Fagan

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great views across sea bliss
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandra f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#17 of 102 in Fethiye
252 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Letoon
Hotel Letoon
#24 of 102 in Fethiye
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#26 of 102 in Fethiye
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
517 reviews
6.5 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
0 mi away
Rosary Beach Hotel
Rosary Beach Hotel
#81 of 102 in Fethiye
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahar

Address: Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range: $46 - $1,493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing