We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Bahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bahar
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks and had a great time, we thought the hotel and all inclusive approach offered great value for money and exceeded our expectations and indeed we are going back in Aug/Sept. Just don't expect the same level of all inclusive you get in big 4* hotels. The rooms are reasonably spacious and equipped and kept spotlessly clean with regular towel and linen changes. Staff were very friendly and helpful and took the time to chat and get to know guests and make them welcome. Hotel in a central location on promenade with shops and restaurants. All inclusive food was well cooked with fresh local ingredients with a reasonable variety and mix of Turkish and English dishes. At breakfast the chef provided eggs or pancakes and cooked tomatoes in addition to the normal Turkish breakfast. At lunch and dinner the salads were particularly good and there was normally one or two meat or fish dishes. The grilled trout and the barbeque was very nice. The bar was a bit hit and miss - the vodka and gin and raki are OK but avoid the brandy. Excellent pool but spoiled by other guests putting their towels on the sunbeds from 7.30am for the whole day whether or not they would be at the pool for the whole day which meant that if you arrived at the pool after about 9.00 am you were unable to get a sunbed. They could probably fit a few more sunbeds around the pool which might help the situation or it might help if the staff removed towels from sunbeds which had remained unoccupied for more than an hour or two. .

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank richard911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 327 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2011

I am a travel agent and have just returned form the Bahar hotel in Calis Beach.This is the third year we have been to Turkey and can honestly say we will return again.The Bahar hotel is in the resort of Calis Beach and has fantastic spot right by the beach for all you beach lovers, the beach is shingly with lots of sunbeds and parasols available to hire.
The bahar is an all inclusive hotel serving drinks form 11 till 11, plenty of time for a drink or 2.The food is buffet style with a variety of hot and cold, salads, breads and a desert to follow, there is something for all.We enjoyed the food we had as it was always fresh.
The rooms were a good size, we had a room with a pool and seaview.The maids came in everyday to clean and we had clean towels every day.
The staff in the hotel are very friendly and are trying to make the hotel better each year as its a family run hotel, the manager was very friendly and always asked if we were ok.
Calis is a lovely resort with plenty of bars and restaurants to go to if you fancy a change.
There are plenty of shops to browse around too and you can get across to Fetihye easily by the local dolmus or a water taxi where there are more shops and the local market and bazaars.Trips are readily available to so you can go off and explore what Turkey has to offer.A must in the resort is to watch the beautiful sunset in Calis, stunning so don't miss it.
All in all a lovely relaxing week in the Bahar hotel , Calis beach ..Would we return to the Bahar? we certainly would.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bobette9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We arrived back from the bahar just over a week ago and to be honest, despite it being an extremely cheap holiday, in fact the cheapest we've ever paid for All Inclusive, there were many aspects that were not particularly fantastic. The first thing to say is that the room was always kept extremely clean and we cannot fault the cleanliness one bit. The downside of our room was that we were not, as most people seemed to be, overlooking the pool, and our balcony was on the front of the hotel which is a busy main road with trucks and lorries and especially bin lorries passing all through the night. Unfortunately as there was a slight gap in our balcony door when shut, this did not make for a fantastic nights sleep, so given this I would heavily recommend asking for a pool side room on arrival.

To be honest, when looking at the food, of course for what we paid we cannot expect gourmet food, but to have a choice of more than one meat dish, one vegetarian dish and some kind of accompaniment at lunch/dinner would have been nice. The soups and salads were pretty good to be honest, however if you're not a great eater of that kind of food then there's absolutely no real alternative choice of something to eat. Dessert was melon most days which is great, but a little more variety would have just made that bit of difference. Breakfast was pretty standard so can't fault that at all.

The attitude of the barman was at times downright rude and our best night was the last night when it must have been his day off. On many occasions he complained of being tired and on one particular occasion at around 2240 as the bar was shutting at 2300 I went for a drink to be told he was tired, and that he'd give me a large glass to save him having to serve me again as he had jobs to do! I must hasten to add though that the rest of the staff could not have been more helpful and on the particular occasion where our air conditioning unit broke down in our room it was dealt with within 10 minutes.

Another main issue was the lack of enough sun loungers for everyone. I understand that it is certainly not the biggest pool, and therefore you can actually only fit a certain amount of sun loungers around the pool, but to have to get up at first light to get one, and then the issue of people leaving towels on sun loungers all day, while they go out for hours and hours, leaving people without who are there all day, is an issue that somewhat tarnished our experience. The solution to this is that the wonderful beach is simply down a small path, which does appease in a small way to be honest, but does not take away from the fact that when all inclusive, you've paid for your facilities, drinks etc, which you certainly don't get on the beach.

Overall it does actually do what it says on the tin and as I have also said before, for what we paid I do genuinely feel that it is a slightly harsh to criticise too heavily, however I don't feel I could give an honest review without bringing up some of these issues as it led to us having to go out quite a lot of the time, which, having an all inclusive facility was frustrating as I'm sure you can imagine.

The resort itself was absolutely superb and I'm almost certain at some point we shall return there although I would certainly recommend going self catering in this area, as to eat and drink in this area was very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room to avoid a noisy road!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ways86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I've just returned from a week holiday at Bahar Hotel and would definitely recommend it. The hotel is located right on the beach, which is brilliant. And the buses and water taxis, that run to Fethiye and various other places, stop almost right outside the front door.
There's a little bit of activity around Calis Beach in the evenings; we found karaoke and bars/clubs that were open throughout the night, but it's certainly no Ibiza.
Bahar Hotel probably won't be for you if you want round-the-clock entertainment, a full-English breakfast from the all-inclusive every morning and seven choices of vodka from the free bar. But otherwise, it makes a good base for exploring this part of Turkey.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Paddington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed here in June and for about 350 quid each we got flights, transfers, a room that got cleaned every day, three meals and a between-meals snack each day and free drinks from the bar from 11am onwards. I'd say that's pretty good value.
The only bad reviews you will read on here will be from people who seem to think that 350 pounds should get you a jacuzzi in your room, a Michelin star restaurant and a choice of the finest ales known to man. Oh, and your own butler.
As long as you are a realist, and not the sort of person who turns their nose up at most foods, and are willing to accept that the free bar only provides one type of lager on tap (plus one white wine, one red, gin, vodka, whiskey, brandy and mixers including tonic, lemonade and pepsi) then you should enjoy the place.
This is a family-run place with friendly and, in my experience, helpful staff, and since it is a small hotel with the balconies of most rooms facing onto the pool, it is easy to get to know the other guests: we were lucky enough to meet some nice people and there was a good atmosphere around the place. Many of the guests ended up making new friends and going off into town or on excursions together.
Of course with budget hotels there will be some negatives, but anyone who pays as little as we did to come here and then gives it a bad review because their hair drier wasn't powerful enough or because there was a slightly cracked bathroom tile doesn't deserve to be listened to. If you yourself are that sort of person, then go ahead and avoid this place - your very absence will improve the stays of the other guests.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Robbo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

thanks to all the staff at the Bahar hotel. We stayed there for 2 weeks in May and had a brilliant time, the food was excellent and the rooms although a bit dated were spotless, clean towels everyday & beds changed every other day! The staff & owners were friendly & really helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Thanks again to a wonderful team who made our holiday special. Hope to see you all again soon xx

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaytea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We have just enjoyed a week at the Hotel Bahar and found it to be excellent.
Room was clean and en suite the same, with daily maid service it was a pleasant stay.
The All Inc: was limited in choice, but the Turkish style food was good.
Most guest we spoke to were pleased with the hotel .
Pool bar is open from 11am- to 11pm with breakfast, lunch, afernoon snacks and dinner 7,30- 9,30pm it suited us down to the ground. We reccommend this value for money holiday from Olympic Holidays.

Room Tip: All rooms face the pool, yards from beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank photoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.2 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#16 of 102 in Fethiye
252 reviews
6 mi away
Hotel Letoon
Hotel Letoon
#24 of 102 in Fethiye
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#25 of 102 in Fethiye
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
517 reviews
6.5 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#21 of 102 in Fethiye
661 reviews
0 mi away
Rosary Beach Hotel
Rosary Beach Hotel
#81 of 102 in Fethiye
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahar

Address: Calis Plaji, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range: $47 - $1,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bahar 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Bahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing