We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, affordable hotel”
Review of Oykun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oykun Hotel
Ranked #9 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good, affordable hotel”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Okyun for 7 days late July 2013. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very poliet. The breakfast served albeit not all to my taste, had lots of variety and often changed daily. The hotel is a five minute walk to the main resort area so the location is ideal. Whilst the hotel is fairly priced, we often dinned out. In addition, I found the purchasable food to be of a small quantity. Nonetheless, a great hotel - definitely recommend. I also recommend trying some of the excursions such as microlighting or canoeing which were fantastic too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJSindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    148
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
147
341
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just got back from staying 2 weeks at the oykun all I can say was breakfast was very good, evening meal.. had a good choice, although everything does come with rice and chips. Rooms spacious and clean, bed sheet was a thick cotton blanket which was rough otherwise ok. In the evening we visited the shamrock bar and guitar bar had a few to chose from but liked these better. Only downside was the mosquitos got bitten alot even with repellant. would go again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradav2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel
Upon arrival at the Oykun Hotel, Oykun himself and a colleague took our bags straight to our rooms. We were also provided with the fridge immediately which we had asked for.
I was holidaying with my husband and my parents. Ages from 28 – 55.
Our room was very big with two single beds and two large settees which pull out as beds. The air conditioning was excellent. We were in the other block to which the reception was.
We went downstairs to get a drink and Freddie the very friendly happy to help bar man told us a few facts and offered to make up any drink we wish. He made us feel very comfortable.
The breakfast was nice. Not a typical English breakfast but you will not find this in any hotel in Turkey unless you pay extra for it. The breakfast consisted of Olives, salads, hams, many cheeses, yoghurts, jams, breads, cereal, tea, coffee, water and squash. Each day the hot food would be different. Some days they had fried potato and baked beans with the option to make your own toastie too, other days a chef would stand and make you a fried egg/ omelette or pancake.
The BBQ night is a good night but word of warning is turn up on time as they only have the food out for about 1 – 1.5 hrs and we arrived slightly late which meant we hadn’t got all the choice the other guests had.
We ate in the hotel two evenings eating from the menu. The food standard was good, but I personally preferred to eat out at the Restaurants on the beach front.
The reception was manned 24/7 and all staff are excellent at English and will help with any queries you have. Goldie is a lovely lady as all other guests have mentioned on Trip Advisor previously.
The pools are lovely (there are two) but we tend to use the beach more so only used the pool once. The pool side was quiet which was nice, but maybe too quiet for me, you could hear a pin drop. It would’ve been nice if there was some quiet music playing to create an atmosphere. The bar of an evening is nice if you like to get chatting with the bar staff however there isn’t any entertainment apart from BBQ night so we didn’t stay at the hotel very often.
Restaurants/ Beach
We ate out at many restaurants however I will mention a few which were exceptional food quality and service. Merhaba restaurant with Ozzie standing on the front is a lovely restaurant with many returning customers, you have to turn right when you come to the beach front (by the taxi boat). It is about 10 minute walk to the right.
Er-oz (first on the left) is also great quality and they have superb set menus if you are hungry. The sangria here is superb, for a litre (2-4 people) is 25 lire (£8.60) and is good stuff! We went here twice.
Bella Mammas – excellent food. The food choice on the menu is great. I recommend the Chicken Provincial. It is a quite posh restaurant compared to some of the others and not much dearer either.
VOJO – excellent again and they have entertainment some nights. This restaurant is English run, and the staff are great. LARGE portions!
The beach is very shingly/ stony but this doesn’t bother me to be honest. The sea can be a bit rough on windy days and goes quite deep quickly. The government charge 5lire per sun lounger/ umbrella which is a shame as it is ruining business for the bars.
If you walk for 15-20 minutes (turn right at the beach front) and walk up to Caretta Beach Club it is a beach where sun loungers are free if you spend 10 lire per person, this is only £2.90. Menu prices are the same as everywhere else and you get waited on all day by the staff that will bring your drinks and food to you. There are showers here at Caretta and clean toilets. Also chairs and tables to sit. Daniel Craig drank here during his stay in Turkey filming Skyfall  the manager will tell you.
Trips
Jeep Safari - Defiantly do the Jeep safari if you’re prepared to get wet! They have water guns on the jeeps (you may have to pay) and you play with these throughout your trip. The places they take you to are brilliant, you will visit the Gorge which is a must and also a few other pretty villages and a mud bath to finish off.
Olu Deniz – Worth the two bus journeys (approx 50 minutes in total) as this is a beautiful beach and resort with a day of things to look at. You can also watch the paragliders come down here.
Camel riding in the Ghost town – if you like history and camel riding do this.
Talk of the town- This is not just a drag act. It is not tacky it is top quality. The entertainment is five star. The dancing is professional in parts and there is some singing too. If you want a laugh and some nice food go along it is worth the £25. This is based in Hisaronu – usually your transfer will be included in the cost.

Room Tip: If your room over looks the pool this is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EmNFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Went to the Oykun in July and loved it!

The breakfast was the best we have ever had in Turkey - excellent selection; bread, jams, hot foods, (an egg chef was there that cooked pancakes, omelettes and fried eggs), cheese toasties, cereals, fruit, cake, meats and cheeses. There was something different there everyday - it kept us full all day!!

The hotel was spotlessly clean and both pools were glorious. Such a relaxing place to be.

Our rooms were lovely and were cleaned daily with towels changed every other day. We requested adjoining rooms and we were given them, we were very pleased :).

The restaurant was very reasonably priced and the food selection was good. The bar prices were also very reasonable.

The staff were very friendly, especially Goldie on the reception who was always happy to help. The only one issue we had was with the bar man Freddy. He pestered my sister and I to go out with him and even went as far as finding out our room number and calling our room phone. This is very unprofessional. He left us alone after we told him clearly that no we had no interest in going out with him (bear in mind he is about 38 and we are aged 21 and 18!). Ladies if he does the same to you just be firm in saying no!
All the other staff were lovely and never pestered us.

We hope to return to the hotel next year :).

Some other pointers about Calis in general; the Oceana Bar is great for a night out, Mangal and George's restaurant both serve gorgeous food - try them!
Calis market is on Sunday - we took a taxi there - the Oykun Hotel has its own taxi service, just ask Goldie to book a taxi for you. The market in Fethiye is on Tuesday, we travelled over there by water taxi - it is a great way to get there and is cheap.
We also went on a boat trip to Dalyan to the mud baths and to see the turtles - it was incredible. We booked through a company called Intersky who are based on the beach front - they were not pushy and the trip was very reasonably priced - £14pp.

Hope this is helpful! Would recommend the Oykun to everyone :-D

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meltem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This is fantastic value. The people that run the hotel are lovely. Helpful and friendly without being overpowering. There are two extremely clean pools, a relaxed and well priced bar/ restaurant. The rooms (we had two) provide everything you need. It is not 5 star standard but the service you receive is 5 star and you are certainly not paying 5 star prices. Can't fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Garry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our third time at Oyken and have now booked again for next year. Friendly, spotlessly clean,helpful staff and great bar. Whilst it doesn't pretend to be 5 star it is as good, if not better, than most higher rated hotels and much more enjoyable and relaxing .
We found the easiest way to book was with Thompson, but if you want to book directly I know you can do it for less.
The Hotel is situated close to the shops and restaurants of Chalis and really cannot be faulted.

The staff cannot do enough to make your stay special.

Room Tip: First floor overlooking pool is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ianfishersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first time at the “Oykun Hotel” and we simply chose this hotel because of the amazing reviews it’s been getting. We didn’t doubt for one second this was going to be an enjoyable holiday, and we certainly weren’t disappointed. As others have said, the hotel was spotlessly clean, the food was very good, & service was excellent, all the hotel staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. The receptionist Goldie was just fantastic, and always had a golden smile; the barmen Freddy & Eric provided excellent friendly service though out the day and evening, along with Mehmet, Eddie and the others.

This hotel has been very well maintained, and all rooms are cleaned on a daily basis, along with daily maintenance to all the pools, seating areas, gardens, and bowling green. I really can’t recommend this hotel enough, it was the most pleasant and enjoyable week we have ever had, and we will certainly be booking again for next year.

Try the sauna & Turkish bath on your first day, it really does refresh you and prepare your skin for the lovely weather. We stayed B/B but did eat a couple of times in the hotel restaurant and were very pleased with the food choice and service. There are plenty of lovely bars & restaurants on the sea front, which is only a 5-10 min stroll away. I would stay away from “Georges Bar” as we had a very disappointing meal there, but would defiantly recommend “The Meeting Point” - we ate there three times, the food was gorgeous and the service was second to none.

Tip of the day ..... Take UK sterling with you, and change it over there, you get a much better rate, not that you really need Turkish Lira, because they love the English money, and you get a much better deal when your gift shopping or at the local market, which in on a Tuesday in Calis Beach, and then the big one on Sunday in Fethiye, which is only a 30 minute ride by water taxi at a cost of 10 lira per person (Approx £3.25 Return)

IN SUMMMARY
A lovely clean three star hotel that is very well maintained to a high standard
All areas of the hotel was extremely clean, with rooms cleaned daily
Lovely quiet restaurant with plenty of choice from the menu for everyone
Excellent bar & restaurant service, and ample tables and chairs provided
Two lovely clean main pools & two baby / toddler pools
All staff was pleasant and helpful, and a smile was never too much trouble
We stayed 7 days, and couldn’t fault this hotel .... absolutely gorgeous !
Please look at the images I’ve provided, and see the view we had from our room
Ohhh yes, we are defiantly going back there .....Can’t wait !!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 2301, which was in the new block, second floor and overlooked the pool, quite spac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
2.9 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#2 of 102 in Fethiye
789 reviews
2.8 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#12 of 102 in Fethiye
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#10 of 102 in Fethiye
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
3,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Hotel
Delta Hotel
#17 of 102 in Fethiye
239 reviews
3.9 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oykun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oykun Hotel

Property: Oykun Hotel
Address: Calic Mah. Bin Sok., Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#3 Best Value Hotel in Fethiye
#4 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#7 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oykun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Oykun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oykun Hotel Fethiye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing