We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food but slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fethiye Fish Market

Fethiye Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 401 Restaurants in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food but slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

A great experience. Buy your fish from the centre then take it to one of the restaurants to cook for you for 6 TL. We really enjoyed it but it was slow - the whole meal took 3 hours, but well worth it. We go every time we go to Fethiye and we will be back!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mad_Madam_Nim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    199
    50
    39
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great idea but the reality disappoints”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Went in initially to look around and the system was explained. You pick your restaurant and sit at it, then get up and pick your fish from the vendors in the middle, and pay them. The restaurant then cooks your fish and supposedly just charges for the cooking and any drinks etc. however, watch the cons. They fire spiel at you at a rate of knots to confuse. They mark up wine up to £35 a bottle, stick mere on table at £10 a shot. Never given prices beforehand then try to sting you with a ridiculous bill at the end, and that was when we had gone there with Turks in our party! Very disappointed overall and left with a bad taste in our mouths from the attempts to rip us off instead of enjoying a promising experience. Worth going to experience it and fish was great, but get prices for everything and forget meze cos its poor. Just have your fish, pay the 6 lira for cooking, and the 6 lira for salad and bread and steer clear of the overpriced wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jsutt74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had a rock seabass and king prawns in a garlic chilli sauce. It was wonderful. Much cheaper than u can buy in rhodes but i prefer greek salad anytime. I would go again if i could. What u do is go over to the middle and choose yr fish. They clean it. U pay for it and then u choose one of the restaurants to cook it for you. They charge u for drinks and whatever else u have. Enjoy!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pennya65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upton Grey, United Kingdom
1 review
“Shrinking prawns”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

All looks very nice until the large prawns that we purchased seemed to have shrunk to Tesco value size when cooked! Although they were cooked very nicely it was a shame that they felt they could swap our large prawns for the small ones which would have been half the price. I would recommend to have a look at the market but then go to a nice restaurant elsewhere. I generally find most Turkish people honest and its a shame the fish market lets them down.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Bit of a rip off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Very strange experience! Bought the HUGE prawns, each about 5-6 inches long, which cost 24 TL. Paid 6TL to "Hilma" to cook them and serve them with bread and salad. So far so good. Waited about 40 minutes to finally have dished up 12 small prawns that were like budget frozen prawns from Tesco! Complained. Waited another 25 minutes and they finally arrived, a little bigger but I would say NOT the massive prawns we bought. They were nice enough although the garlic was burnt which left a bad taste on top of the bad taste we had at being just a bit sucked in to a tourist trap and a possible scam.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aroomsomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fethiye Fish Market also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Fethiye Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing