We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Week in Çalis!”
Review of Bambu Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bambu Apartments
Ranked #29 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Fethiye
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent a month traveling around Turkey and when we came across this place we settled in for a week. The owners Gary and Ann were very friendly and helpful! They recommended numerous delicious restaurants and attractions around the area. The rooms were really well designed and very clean and spacious. The quality you get for the price is wonderful! The location of the hotel is superior to many in the area because of it's proximity to the beach as well as the water taxi to Fethiye. The pool was really nice and kept very clean, we enjoyed lots of days spent at the pool cooling off from the heat. It was also very nice to have a kitchen and we cooked several meals. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Corey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 26 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

We spent 6 lovely nights at Bambu Apartments which is near the bottom end of Calis Beach. Myself and my two teenaged sons were in a second floor apartment. Nice small balcony overlooking the pool - two bedrooms - on a quiet street (except for loud Turkish pop music coming from a hotel blocks away - fortunately at enough of a distance that it became background noise at night). Ann was quite accommodating in helping us book and arrange transports to/from airport as well as a car rental.

The location is a water ferry ride away from downtown Fethiye or a short walk to the Calis Beach promenade. We also enjoyed our rental car to explore the surrounding area - ruins, beaches - much to see and do within manageable day trips.

The property was pretty and well maintained - the pool was nice - the property small enough to almost have a home feel to it. The rooms were nice sized and the wifi was decent. This is truly self catering - meaning paper products - as well as towels, etc. Beach towels were provided but with a washing machine, but no dryer access - it was tough. I would suggest bringing a few lightweight, quick drying bath towels.

However, for the price, I found this property an excellent value. The location, our hosts and the beautiful Turkish weather made for a relaxing and enjoyable vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

After a really busy 12 months for us all, what with so much pressure at work for both my wife and I, GCSE,s for the two boys and our daughter finishing University, we so needed this holiday.
We were not disappointed and from the minute we arrived everything was absolutely perfect.

Gary and Ann, the owners, are two of the nicest people we have ever met and Bambu is a credit to both of them. It is excellent accommodation and having seen all of the apartments during our stay (we stayed in apt 2) all of them are very spacious, well furnished, comfy and really well kitted out. The pool and pool area and all of the relaxing areas are brilliant and the pool itself is immaculate and superbly maintained.
The views from the apartment are superb and everything you need, from supermarkets to bars and restaurants are close by and all within easy walking distance.
Calis beach is really nice and the bars and restaurants along the front are very good. We dined out most evenings and every meal that we had was excellent, well presented and very good value. The people are really nice and very welcoming and we got to know some of the bar and restaurant staff and owners quite well during our stay.
Gary and Ann have superb knowledge of the area and can recommend many of the best bars and restaurants to go to. Some of our favourites were, Nil restaurant, Palms Restaurant, Eftalya Restaurant, Anna Garden and Hamsi Bar but I do not think you can go wrong with most of them in Calis and all appeared good value.
The water Taxi to Fethiye is a must and Fethiye itself is a great place and although some of the waterfront restaurants and bars are a little more expensive than Calis it is well worth the trip. We also dined out at Kings garden restaurant which is at the entrance to the rock tombs and which has great food and fantastic views over Fethiye harbour and bay.
We organised quite a few things to do during our two week stay ay Bambu and with the help of Ann and Gary we were able to plan and book these before travelling out from the UK. They couldn't have been more helpful and have great knowledge of the area and of the things to see and do should you want to drag yourselves away from the pool area.
We did horse trekking (a great few hours up in the hills above Olu Deniz), before spending the afternoon on the beach at Olu Deniz itself. Great place!
Kyakoy is well worth a visit and a combined day out to Tlos, Yakapark and Saklikent gorge is also a fantastic day out. These can be booked through Bambu, take the Dolmus or hire a car as we did.
We also hired a boat with captain for the day, again through Ann and Gary, and this is a must during your stay. The scenery, the bays and snorkelling/swimming and the food is fantastic and the captain and his son are excellent people to spend the day with.
The other thing you must try if you can is the scuba diving. Both Ann and Gary are both qualified PADI instructors and through them we arranged to do the Discover Scuba Diving with some general skills training and a full day out on a dive boat. We arranged this for the five of us and it was a fantastic experience and rates amongst one of the best things you could ever do.
All in all a fantastic holiday. Apartment superb, people brilliant and Calis and Fethiye area has all you could wish for an excellent holiday whether it be family, couples or friends.
We will certainly be going back to Bambu again and can see why so many people go back to this place and this part of Turkey year after year. We have fallen in love with this place for sure.
Thank you to Ann and Gary at Bambu and we hope to see you again soon.
The Davies Family (UK)
July 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KEITH D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Bambu.The views from our penthouse apartment were wonderful both day and night. The location is both quiet and convenient. Music could be heard from the local Turkish club every night but we viewed this as a welcome extra and liked it so much that we bought a CD to bring home with us.The apartment was very comfortable, the balcony and pool were lovely and the outdoor shaded relaxing area proved to be a welcome break from the sun.Ann and Gary were extremely pleasant and helpful. They arranged an excellent transfer for us and stored our luggage for several hours after we had checked out. We would definitely like to return to Bambu soon as we love Calis and visit most years.

Room Tip: If you want the best view then the top floor apartment is best but the first floor apartments looked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Calisregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I've been trying to think of a word or phrase to sum up Bambu, it just came to me: charm.

Bambu has lots and lots of charm. It has charming hosts, a charming atmosphere and a fantastically charming location.

This was my second visit to Bambu Apartments and this time I was accompanied by my Mum, my youngest son and my daughter. It was their first visit to Calis and Fethiye. So we covered an age range of 23yrs old to 76.

I'd requested Apartment 4 again and it was as clean, inviting and homely as last time. Everyone loved the apartment and its location. And everyone made much use of the equally inviting pool.

The location is spot on. 5 mins to the beach. 5 mins to the water taxis. 5 mins to the supermarkets. These are all walking times and by walking I mean leisurely holiday walking. However the 5 mins walk also means it is far enough away from the hustle and potential noise of other holidaymakers with more stamina, partying til late!

I defy you not to enjoy your time at Bambu and in Calis and Fethiye. We were all very much charmed.

Room Tip: Top floor has best views but they're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AishaSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Have just arrived back from our wonderful 1 week holiday in Calis Beach, Fethiye.
We (just me and my husband) stayed at Bambu Apartments and couldn't have wished for better hosts or a better location.

There are only 5 apartments to share a glorious pool. The building is situated on a very quiet road that runs parallel to the canal, over which is the beach. It is a short walk to 2 supermarkets in one direction and a short walk to the main road of bars and restaurants in the other.

The first floor, 2 bedroomed apartment was spacious and very clean, nicely furnished, with no less than three balconies, air con and everything else we needed. The bed was very comfortable too!

I spent a lot of time on the living room balcony enjoying the afternoon breeze (the breeze is a Calis Beach welcome bonus!) and it has great views of the bay over to Fethiye and the islands and the surrounding mountains. Sitting here in the evening with just the chorus of the crickets and the occasional sound of the water taxis going by on the canal, watching the bats flit around catching mosquitos and the distant lull of traditional Turkish music, is a memory I will treasure for a long time.

We travelled to and from Fethiye regularly by water taxis (5 Turkish Lira per person) and cannot recommend this form of travel enough. The water taxis are very regular (about every half hour) and the place to catch them is about a 5 minute leisurely stroll from Bambu Apartments. A 30 minute serene sail over to Fethiye taking in the gorgeous view of the bay, the islands and the mountains. Plenty of room on the boat for all your shopping on your return. Do it!

Whilst we holidayed slightly off season (9th to 16th Sept), Calis was fully open and there are countless bars and restaurants to choose from. All the shops stay open very late too, so there's loads of time to peruse the gifts and clothes and jewellery.

We found 'Ali's Bar and Restaurant' on the strip that leads to the beach (opposite 'Joseph's Bar' and 'Maria's Bar') and tended to eat here for breakfasts and dinner. Lovely food and lovely people (Hi, Tayfun and Ali!). However, there is endless choice of places to eat and drink.

I could go on forever about this holiday - the best yet - but let me just say: make Fethiye Tuesday market a must-visit (catch the water taxi and walk round the harbour front towards McDonalds - the huge market is next to the canal near there), enjoy the fantastic value for money that Turkish prices afford and appreciate the hospitality of the Turkish people. (We enjoyed friendliness everywhere we went). And if you want peace, comfort and a great location for your stay - holiday with Bambu Apartments!.

Thanks Ann and Gary, we loved it all!
Jav and Aisha, Sheffield.

Room Tip: ALL the apartments are great. There are 2 ground floor ones directly next to the pool for those that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AishaSheffield_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PalmyreParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.7 mi away
Lighthouse Nadia Aparts
Lighthouse Nadia Aparts
#16 of 137 in Fethiye
20 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jiva Beach Resort
Jiva Beach Resort
#4 of 102 in Fethiye
1,931 reviews
2.5 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#10 of 102 in Fethiye
2,378 reviews
9.8 mi away
Dikencik Cottages
Dikencik Cottages
#1 of 1 in Yesiluzumlu
153 reviews
0 mi away
Yesil Bahce Bungalow - Ahsap Evler
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bambu Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bambu Apartments

Address: Foca Mah. 994 Sokak No 12, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Fethiye
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bambu Apartments are in a perfect location for a perfect holiday. With a large pool, and quiet surroundings, there is a supermarket and bus-stop within 200 metres of the apartments, while the Beach, Water Park, and all the Beachfront Restaurants and Bars are all just 5 minutes walk away. Fethiye is a 10 minute bus (dolmus) ride away, with its bustling harbour, shops, boat trips and history. Ancient Lycian Tombs and the Ampitheatre, sit next to pavement cafes and waterfront promenades for the days when you don't fancy the beach. The apartments are very close to the water-taxi's for a beautiful scenic trip across the bay. In a small block of just 6 apartments, you have plenty of space to relax. These charming 2 bedroom apartments have a double bedroom, a twin or triple bedroom, a kitchen, and a lounge area , so are perfect for either a couple or a family, and have been constantly updated each season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bambu Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing