We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous”
Review of Mangal House Restaurant - CLOSED

Mangal House Restaurant
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: I don't know the exact address information as the restaurant isn't listed on google maps. But it definitely exists!
Margate, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Visited this restaurant 3 times whilst on holiday in Calis Beach and every time was excellent. Would definately recommend the peppered steak or the lamb shish - and the ice cream is simply wonderful.
Looking forward to going again next year!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    49
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Excellent food, good service, reasonable prices. We will definitely return to this restaurant on our next visit to Turkey.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorks
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“As good as they say...”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Our 3rd visit to Calis but our first time to Mangals, we ate here as it was recommended to us by someone staying at the same hotel as us, we found the food to be very good, service was friendly and efficient and the place has a really good atmosphere. You also get the complimentary bread here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nickyholmfirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buelach, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A complete letdown”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Influenced by the unanimously positive reviews on tripadvisor my wife and me chose this place for tonight's dinner. To put it briefly, we found it very poor.

We ordered the starter plate for two and were quite put off by what we found on it: a selection of strangely coloured small piles which except for the chili salad all had the same taste of mayonnaise and entirely lacked the flavour of spice and herbs you are usually supposed to encounter with Turkish starters. We left half of the plate untouched and hoped for the main dish, mixed grill for both of us.

Unfortunately, things did not get better with the main course. We were served plates with miscellaneous pieces of lamb, chicken and beef which all tasted very much the same, i.e. not very much, all of them quite greasy and entirely lacking the crispness you would expect from grilled meat as well as the delicious flavour of Turkish spices. The whole was accompanied by a tomato and onion salad untouched by any seasoning, a small heap of rice and some greasy, squishy fries.

We both also left the main courses unfinished and asked for the bill. The whole plus two small bottles of soda water and a large bottle of still water accounted for TL 76, which was quite expensive for this type of treat.

We will certainly be extra careful about all types of enthusiastic reviews in the future.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karl_Tastrofe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice takeaway lunch time kebabs.”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Ate here once evening and also had take away kebabs on two occasions.
Evening meal was ok, slightly higher prices, quality ok.

Try the kebabs - 5-6 lira each!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barks-from-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangal House Restaurant also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing