We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hillside Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillside Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2008

We have never been on a package holiday before and were abit wary, as we have heard many a tale about package holidays from hell.

My expectations were high for the Hillside Beach Club, but nothing quite prepared me for such a magnificent place.

It really is a little piece of 'Heaven on Earth'

Every detail is thought about:

- The Food is such high quality, there really is something for everyone, Fresh fish, chicken, steak fresh fruit and veg by the ton. about 50 kinds of deserts which are all delicious!

- The staff are wonderful, they really make the holiday, they will practically bend over backwards to please you, very friendly, they can speak many languages including English (which is clever) The waiters are efficient and friendly, always topping up your drinks and clearing the tables at lightning fast speeds!

- The resort itself was superb, very clean and well managed, plenty to do: Water sports, Gym, Tennis etc etc etc.... So much! Or you could happily do nothing and just sun-bathe, enjoy the wonderful weather, peace and tranquility. I suggest taking a snorkle to see the fish in the bay.There are a few shops too so take your wallet!

We will definatley going again, but for 2 weeks this time, I cannot wait!0

  • Liked — Very well run
  • Disliked — 2 hour trip to/from Dalaman airport
  • Stayed May 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoanneStorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    134
    38
    16
    16
See reviews for
496
337
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

First things first, rooms:

Hillside has 350 rooms in five grades. They are arranged in 7 'blocks', from left to right. The rooms are numbered according to the block, height, and position in the block.

Thus room 637 would be in block 6, three rooms up from the ground, 7 rooms along in the block. Up? Yes, up. The name hillside is accurate, as the hill steeply banks, and rooms go up to level 9 in some of the blocks, quite a long way from sealevel. They probably allocate the higher rooms to people without children, although note that there is a cable-powered lift on each side of the hotel to cut down on steps.

They bring your bags to and from your room using an electric golfcart, so no need to worry too much.

Within the blocks, there are five categories of room: A, B, C, D, and E.

Rack rates as posted in the hotel are:

A 898 Turkish Lire (approx £371)
B 1122 (£464)
C 643 (£266)
D 643 (£266)
E 894 (£370)

We however paid £370 for THREE nights in a Category E room. I felt this was a very fair price; £370 for a single night is too much for Turkey.

As it turns out, we got what is in fact a Category B room, i.e. the top room (I believe there is a super-pricey suite or two, but they are not generally promoted). This has an open-air livingroom/balcony, with a sofa and table, which overlooks the sea. From this central area, there is a swing door to the toilet/shower, and doors off to the second bedroom, which has a full-size single bed, and a shorter 1.6m single bed (i.e. only suitable for somebody up to about 5 feet tall). If your children don't want to sleep away from you, this room is not ideal. There is also a small TV (not LCD).

The master bedroom had a six-foot bed, with small LCD TV, minibar, walk-in closet, and four nice pillows, plus a pillow menu if you want to order a different type of pillow.

Category A is the same room with the terrace, but minus the second bedroom. If you request an extra bed, this room is suited for two adults + a child (possibly plus a baby in a cot as well), if you want to save money, or don't want two bedrooms.

Category E has a small balcony rather than the living area (not as nice - you cannot sit out and have a drink and enjoy the view), but does have a second-bedrom with a single bed.

I am not sure about Category C and D, but neither have the outside living area, and C is larger than D.


A few other things: Food is incredibly plentiful. Breakfast is the weakest point, the lack of pork is not really compensated for by the numerous Turkish cheeses and pastramis, none of which are stand up to international standards, and the eggs are strangely undercooked, leaving only a few hot choices (chiefly fried potato). There is still a couple of dozen cereals, fruit, etc., but it rather pales alongside the other meals

Lunch and dinner on the other hand are feasts. There were over 100 desserts on offer in the main restaurant, though the Turkish sweets (baklava) are unsurprisingly the best, plus probably 40 hot dishes changing with each meal (e.g., grilled fishes, roast lamb, pureed aubergine with chicken, etc., with some food for the unadventurous, such as spaghetti bolognese, chips, etc.) Alongside this there are then over a hundred cold salads, such as several varieties of couscous, runner beans with garlic, etc. There is also a wood pizza oven on which different varieties of Turkish breads/pizzas are cooked. The service is good, with plates being taken away so you can take fresh ones almost immediately.

The beach restaurant offers a casual cut down version of the main restaurant for people too busy/lazy to change at lunch, while in the evening it offers a table service, as does 'Pasha'; the latter is for adults only.

There is a daily program of activities such as water polo, beach volleyball, aerobics, dance classes, as well as free access to sea kayaks, basketball court, table tennis, pool, and football. In the evening a show is put on, which is of good quality.

There is also a kids club with its own swimming pool, waterslids, where children can be left from the age of 4 from 9am to 6pm.

Unfortunately the low point is the extortion that takes place on drinks pricing.

Beer/soft drinks/wine is included with meals in the main restaurant, and sometimes they give away beers by the pool, but otherwise you have to pay. The price is outrageous.

We ordered two cocktails from a beach-side impromptu bar they had set up, initially thinking they were free. The cost was 21 Turkish Lire each, almost £9. For a margarita it was 26 Turkish Lire, almost £11. These prices are above what you would pay for a cocktail mixed by an expert bartender in London, whereas my margarita (ordered half-price during the 4pm-6pm happy hour), was sub-chain restaurant in quality. This is nothing other than extortion.

Sticking to basic beer (6.5 Lire for 300ml draught glass) and soft drinks will keep things less outrageous, but it still leaves a nasty taste in the mouth. Baby-sitting was also expensive, at €10/hour, which is a rip-off considering local staff get paid about €250 a MONTH.

So a very nice hotel, but the 'rip-off the captive guest' policy is unpleasant, and prevents them getting the 5* review they otherwise deserve (hence instead the 'Okay, but some problem' rating I am giving them) . I am not sure how much they charge for taxis, and excursions, but if you want one, I would strongly recommend that you contact a local travel agent, as I am sure hillside will otherwise rip-you-off.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank somewhereinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2008

We have been to the Hillsıde quite a few times before, but this will be our last trip for a while. The prices have seriously gone up for drinks and the cost of some holiday luxuries have sky rocketed. 5 pounds for an ice cream, 15 pounds for a cigar. We ate in the pasha restaurant one evening and the cheapest bottle of wine was over 30 pounds. They need to put more staff on some of the bars long waits to get served and also introduce a youth rate. Our son will be 12 next year and therefore will be charged adult price to come. Also the first year there has been large groups of English youths drunk, not good.
After giving ıt quite a slating the scenery, food, facilities and general quality is fabolous. The kidside ıs wonderful and the staff all deserve more money! Still loads to do, you and your kids will not be bored, although the shows have been lack lustre this year. Sorry had to get that one in. I hope this is not a downward spiral for a fantastic hotel. The problem is they were SO good before. It must be hard to maintain.

  • Liked — views and scenery
  • Disliked — getting rıpped off for basic items - ice cream etc
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tbartravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2008

I booked hillside as it had been recommended by plenty of people we knew. I travelled with my husband and 21 month daughter and another family with child of the same age. The hotel was everything we had expected and more. The room was lovely, very clean, spacious and with extra bedroom! The toiletries were great, dont pack shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, moisturiser, cotton wool, nail file etc as they provide it all in the room everey day and there is a shop on site for everything else, I am fussy about products but these were great. There is no bath but they will give you a larger than average babay bath if you ask for one.
The pool area and pebble beach was clean safe and plenty of sun loungers with towels provided and the staff were there for all your needs. the kid side was brilliant even though a parent has to stay with an under 4. Water slides, sand area, drawing area and soft play all under UV canopy.
Buffet style restaurant for all meals or lunch by the beach with fantastic food and plenty of choice. Entertainment fantastic with shows, beach party, market stalls and games for all the family. Child facilities fantastic with great clean highchairs, microwave, as much hot milk as you need and pleany of free snacks. the steps are not an issue with a pushchair if you requset a room near the cable car.
I believe a holiday is all about relaxing, great service and 5 star accommodation and to find one that is so fantastic for kids as well is a bonus. We will be returning next year and that is something I have never done before!!!

  • Liked — The fab clean and modern rooms with great views
  • Disliked — balcony slippy when wet
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayamum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barrow in furness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2008

i stopped in this hotel last september with my family, there were ten of us all togther. two babies and child age 6 and 7 adults off different age's. and i cant recommend it enough. it suited everyone off all ages. the kids facitlites were great, a fantastic kids club, with heated pools for the babies, slides for the older ones and sand area for those who had enough of the pools. it ran everyday from 10 untill 6 with lunch included. the food was to die for, great choice day and night, snacks by the pool with some alcohol drinks. there was activity's during the day which inc vollyball, football, arcary, tennis,and more. or for the more realaxing of us there was lazing by the crystal clear beach. we stayed in a deluxe room and the balcony's were hugh all most the size of the bedroom. the only draw back was it was showers only, which was a bit difficult with babies, but worth it. we have already booked to go back next september, and every september to come. FANTASTIC!!

  • Liked — all of it
  • Disliked — only having showers in the room, more for the kids than me
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank whitey43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2008

Great choice for families. Kids club is excellent but when we were there there was no facility for kids under 3. Our kids loved their time there and talk constantly of going back, which we are. Kids were taken for lunch each day by the Club staff who are amazing and get the medal for best staff in the whole place!!!!! Enjoyed time away from the kids as they did us, but also had plenty of time with them so you don't feel guilty about leaving them, which did rattle me for the first few days. Food is excellent Breakfast is available through until noon - fab!!! but the food service ends quite early in the evening, the entertainment after that is well above the norm for this kind of set-up. Some rooms are tired but you really don't spend too much time in them, shower only, no baths which if that is part of your holiday relaxing regime can be a disappointment, but there is free Turkish bath which is a good substitute. Great Spa and the best french manicure I've had in ages! Drinks are expensive when purchased outwith meal times - wine is free with Lunch and Dinner and is very drinkable....!! Reception staff are a bit (understatement!) dour. Beware of slippy terrace if it rains it can be lethal........

  • Liked — Kids Entertainment
  • Disliked — Slippy fllors when wet and the repetition of the same music every day at the Pasha Beach bar
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank BigBird67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

I am a regular user of the trip advisor website and thought it was about itme I gave some feedback myself. Found out about this hotel through a friends recommendation and it did not let me down.

Great place to stay. A fantastic setting in a unique cove. We watched the sun set every evening. There is a buzz about this place and everyone is really friendly, you will meet plenty of friends here.

I normally find it hard to stay in 1 place but we spend 10 days here and never left the complex once as their was so much to do.

I would recommend this for families more than couples.

Only negative would be meal times were a bit of a mad rush of people, not as refined as I would like.

  • Liked — Views and the many things to do
  • Disliked — The layout of the eating arrangements
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Glenaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
1.4 mi away
Yacht Classic Hotel
Yacht Classic Hotel
#1 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
5.5 mi away
Club Tuana Fethiye
Club Tuana Fethiye
#8 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lykia Botanika Beach & Fun Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Unique
Hotel Unique
#5 of 102 in Fethiye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.9 mi away
Infinity Boutique Hotel
Infinity Boutique Hotel
#11 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.0 mi away
Letoonia Club & Hotel
Letoonia Club & Hotel
#6 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Beach Club

Property: Hillside Beach Club
Address: Belen Mah. Belen Cad. No:132 Kayak0y, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Fethiye
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Fethiye
#1 Family Hotel in Fethiye
#1 Romantic Hotel in Fethiye
#2 Luxury Hotel in Fethiye
#2 Spa Hotel in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hillside Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where the Mediterranean caresses our private bay, Hillside Beach Club is a first-class international destination for living your dream. Relax, rejuvenate and revitalize or get active, fit and entertained - design your day in any way from dusk to dusk. It's only about you on the sunny side of life at Hillside Beach Club, where we make you feel at home and always go beyond your expectations. Love to feel good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia and Jetsetter so you can book your Hillside Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillside Beach Hotel
Hillside Turkey
Hillside Beach Fethiye
Hillside Beach Club Fethiye
Hillside Resort Turkey
Hillside Club Turkey
Hillside Fethiye
Hillside Beach Club Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing