We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gemiler Island, Turkey”
Review of Gemiler Island

Gemiler Island
Book In Advance
More Info
$19.76*
and up
Ölüdeniz Boat Trip to Butterfly Valley and St Nicholas Island with Lunch
Ranked #24 of 73 things to do in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Gemiler Island, Turkey”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The island is covered in ruins of ancient churches. It is also called St Nicholas Island, named after the saint that lived here and originated the stories of Santa Claus. Yachts moor in the narrow corridor between the island and the mainland.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 1o5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    36
    14
    2
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southend
Level Contributor
137 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A journey through time”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The ruins on Gemiler are mainly Byzantine but the earliest go back to the 3rd century. You pay a small fee and can wander round the island on your own. The whole island is covered in ruins and was clearly a very thriving commercial port in centuries past.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GirdleTheEarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
558 reviews
182 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Fascinating ruins of the ancient monastery”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The island of Gemiler is a fascinating place to visit. You can wander around the ruins of the old monastery and imagine how the monks would live. The views from the top of the hill of the bay of Karacorean are quite stunning.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jude9999_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Beautiful bay, but rip off restaurants”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Decided to visit the bay after reading so many reviews on it, we were not dissapointed as it is a beautiful bay.

The only dissapointment fo the day was the rip off restaurant, we got offered free sunbeds from the first restaurant on the right hand side, so decided that yes we would buy a drink while visiting so thought that ok, we had 2 cans of coke while there and on leaving the beach decided to have a bite to eat, no menus were provided and when asked what they had to eat, we got told fresh fish or calamari, free with the meal comes salad, chips, and bread, lovely we thought, so we ordered calamari, plus 1 large efes, and 1 small bottle of water, when coming to pay the bill we nearly fell on the floor, 60 lira was the charge:( i think this is a disgusting price for what we had, and if we go agan we certainly wont be using the restaurants there.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank longlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
250 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort to visit”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Whilst the cost of the boat across was not cheap (and I don't think we haggled enough!) the time you get to explore the Island is worthwhile. It has links with St Nicholas (he of Santa fame) and the view from the top by the stone graves is amazing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WidleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemiler Island also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Gemiler Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing