We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Any old iron...”
Review of Fethiye Market

Fethiye Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.22*
and up
Small-Group Day Trip: Fethiye, Kayakoy, Blue Lagoon, and Turkish Delight
Ranked #8 of 73 things to do in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Any old iron...”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

What a place! Shambolic, crowded and bustling doesn't do it justice - there's Turkish mockneys calling out in rhyming slang to get you to buy ripoff designer labels, peasant women selling leeches in water bottles (I'll never see Evian in the same light again) and the most divine pancake stalls. Everything from a needle to a haystack. A proper market like one you rarely see any more.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LJC49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    245
    104
    24
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stressfull but worth it!”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Fethiye market was brilliant! I'll get the negatives out of the way, it's very easy to get lost, it's a nightmare when it's hot (we were baking as the temps hit 50) it's not the best place to be dragging the kids for both of these reasons, you do get more hassled into buying however they are easier to haggle down prices with than shops. Positives, it has the most amazing array of characters, from traditional turkish elders selling handmade netting, pottery and food, to the younger more modern turkish people selling good copy designer goods and giving you the cheeky banter that comes with it. They ALWAYS lower their prices we walked away from one stall refusing to pay 35 euro for a bag we offered 15 they said no they wanted 25 we walked away they chased us down the market and said "ok my friend 15 euro" don't be afraid to haggle! Best going to the market as part of an organised trip that way you get enough time to look around then jump back on your organised coach and head off to the next set of shops or attractions we visited a turkish delight factory, a gold centre, the market and the ghost town all in one day all for £15 per person and kids were free! you'd pay that in a taxi to fethiye. Make sure you know your labels and what the real product looks like as you will only be dissapointed when you get it home to find the lettering isn't right or the colour dosn't match, also be wary of the DS games a few people we know bought them off the market and they didn't work. Best getting them from shop in resort as you can take them back if they don't work. ASK FOR WRITTEN RECIPT! Be wary, be wise, know your stuff, keep safe, learn a few turkish phrases and definatley HAGGLE! Lots of fun to be had!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiec1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fethiye - Tuesday Market”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Tuesday's for me is not the same without a morning trip around Fethiye market. The market has everything you can imagine from clothing, shoes, households items such as glasses to washing lines, curtains, bedding, towels and the fruit and vegetable area. Haggling is part of the experience and dont get carried away.

If you visit between June and end of September it can get very hot under the canvas roof, so a bottle of water is essential.

The pancakes which are made whilst you are seating resting the weary feet and drinking either a freshly squeezed drink or turkish tea is another experience not to be missed. If you are really hungry then I suggest the fish in bread at one of the two fish boats just outside the market near the traffic lights which is freshly cooked for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank LoftygcIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“The Oldest Turkish Haman (bath house) - Fethiye”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just back from a Gulet cruise that included 2 days in Fethiye. Whilst there we decided to visit "The Oldest Turkish Haman" (bath house) which is located just inside the Old Market, close to the Harbour. What an experience!!

The Haman has 2 sections - "Men's" and "Mixed" (note no "Ladies only"). You are presented with a cotton towel on arrival and invited to strip down, leaving your possessions in a locked locker. Advice: ladies might like to wear a bikini and gents some swim shorts - they are also perfectly happy if you have less garments, but you might feel less than relaxed about it...

The initial 'steam room' is at quite a gentle temperature, just inducing a gentle sweat. The male masseur who occasionally sees how well you are 'cooking', delights in ensuring that you have a good dash of "fresh" water thrown over you to move the process along.

Finally, after about 15 minutes, you are put onto the masseur's marble slab and the towel is discarded (hence it's a good idea to have a bikini / swim trunks). The masseur then gives you a good pummeling and a soaping with a loofah and generally gets you all clean and shiny before another wash down. All fine and a pleasant experience.

Then, optionally, there is a proper massage in another room carried out by trained diploma'd female masseuse. I think that there must be one massage for ladies = gentle and soothing; and another for the gents (unless they have pleaded for something less rigorous) = totally deep tissue!!!

The lady masseur who 'dealt' with me was a charming and jolly lady of slight stature. Quite how she managed to inflict such pain, therefore, I can not imagine. Every joint, muscle, nook, cranny and crevice was massaged to within an inch of it's existence!! Wherever she felt a muscle knot, she was straight in with her sharp little elbows and wow she could put some power behind them!! Even walking up and down my back was part of the package.

She seemed to delight in my deep manly screams, my appeals for a doctor or any passing ambulance, and she just ignored them, giggling as I wriggled even more...

Actually, after the agony finished, I must admit to having had an excellent massage and felt quite renewed and revitalised. My wife couldn't see what all my screams were about and she and the masseuse seemed to think the whole thing was hilarious. They have no idea...

A brilliant visit costing, I seem to recall, around £20 each in total including the torture, er, massage. Great fun to try.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“rewarding day out”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

if you want an extensive adventure to an outdoor market this is a must,fruit and veg to clothes and catering,there is nothing missed here i had an enjoyable day out and was quite tired by the end of it but this not to be missed.i caught the dolmus from OLU DENIZ which took 25 mins.the market is on every tues.add this to your day trip agenda when visiting this area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank thedunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fethiye Market also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Fethiye Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing