We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a tourist 'scam'; not even a tourist 'trap' but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Reis Restaurant

Reis Restaurant
Ranked #319 of 404 Restaurants in Fethiye
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a tourist 'scam'; not even a tourist 'trap' but....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

You buy the fish, (or meat), from the market stalls and they cook it for you at 6L a plate and throw in a salad. That's fair enough. Totally disagree with the reviewers who say that the fish was anything less than excellent. We had some prawns 'to die for' and some super-fresh swordfish. (We also bought an extremely good aged T-bone steak from the butcher) Now the 'but' - the market prices are not cheap but they aren't a rip-off either. HOWEVER the mistake is to buy anything else besides drinks from the restaurant. Those are a rip-off. Our mezes were rubbish and over-priced. Stick to the fish and you'll have had a very good meal at a reasonable price, in a unique setting. (I would guess that a meal on the basis I suggested will come in at around £15 per person)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OldSpecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    13
    11
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not eat here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We came here because of the good lonely planet review, however this was the worst turkish restaurant experience I've had. 220 TL (!!!) for two people, with being treated like crap thrown in for free.
We were amongst the only non-Turkish diners (which made us think: 'ah! This must be a good place'), but actually there was a form of cultinary apartheid in practice. The people next to us- who arrived afterwards- had mezes and drinks before we had anyone even say hello.
We bought the fish beforehand at the market, and raised eyebrows at 60 TL for six prawns and a piece of Sea Bass. Perhaps this is part of the charm we thought. Perhaps there'll be very little mark up from the kitchen. No. We are mugs, and they were entirely dishonest.

We asked THREE times to ensure that the prawns weren't cooked in butter, as my wife is lactose intolerant. But (after a huge wait) they emerged, swimming in a dish full of the stuff. I told the waiter that we couldn't eat this, and was typically apologetic (for his mistake). The prawns subsequently arrived 20mins later, still smelling of butter, overcooked, and in (at best) a butter/oil cocktail....
It took almost 40mins to get the bill, and after several asks we had to go up to the cash desk and demand to pay (which elicited a sarky comment).
Then the bill arrived!! Huge overcharging for every item, which of course we hadn't had chance to check as 'part of the rustic charm is having them suggest dishes and cook your fish.' Only eat here if you are into being abused and thieved, or stupid. God knows this how we feel. Am only writing this so others can avoid the shame of being duped like we were. Terrible, condescending and smug service, as well as heinous overpricing. Don't eat here. Really.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Karmapoliceman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“If you're not Turkish be prepared to be treated like a tourist”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

My friend and I chose to eat at this restaurant based on the rave review they were given in Lonely Planet. To sum up our experience, we felt like were treated like tourists and not in a good way. At first everything seemed fine - the waiter took our order (we ordered mixed mezze, sea bream, calamari and prawns). Our mezze was the worst we've had in Turkey (we'd been here two weeks by this stage). It didn't taste fresh at all but like it had been sitting out for more than a day. later during our meal we realised that normally the waiters bring out a sample platter of all the mezzes and the locals choose which ones they would like. Our waiter must have thought that as we were tourists he was better at choosing what we'd eat. The prawns we ordered were good, the calamari was average and my sea bream not so fresh. By this stage I'd eaten a lot of sea bream and this was the worst. We read in the lonely planet that you could choose a fish from the markets and have it cooked there, but our waiter insisted we use their fish. We were both extremely disappointed with our meal and couldn't finish our food as hardly anything tasted fresh. I don't recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank okayb83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
monza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bad service, we waited for half an hour to have something different from what we ordered and nobody prepared our table. We paid 18 liras for one mezza and it was really bad! 36 liras for little shrimps and prawn. Never.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelleG745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best fish.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were taken here by a local jeweller who recommended it. We were with 2 people that were staying at our hotel and we were trying to show them a good time.
We went around the fish market and selected two lovely big sea bass, each one big enough for two to share.
The fish was brought to the restaurant for us and we waited and waited for our meals to arrive. Well eventually it turned up and I must say it was ruined! It had been cleaned and filleted and griddle cooked. It was overcooked, dry and burnt in places. I complained at the time to the head waiter, he just shrugged his shoulders, I bought some more sea bass a few days later and cooked it myself in our SC apartment. It was gorgeous that time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reis Restaurant also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Reis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing