We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible”
Review of Reis Restaurant

Reis Restaurant
Ranked #323 of 408 Restaurants in Fethiye
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
monza
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bad service, we waited for half an hour to have something different from what we ordered and nobody prepared our table. We paid 18 liras for one mezza and it was really bad! 36 liras for little shrimps and prawn. Never.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelleG745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    13
    12
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the best fish.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were taken here by a local jeweller who recommended it. We were with 2 people that were staying at our hotel and we were trying to show them a good time.
We went around the fish market and selected two lovely big sea bass, each one big enough for two to share.
The fish was brought to the restaurant for us and we waited and waited for our meals to arrive. Well eventually it turned up and I must say it was ruined! It had been cleaned and filleted and griddle cooked. It was overcooked, dry and burnt in places. I complained at the time to the head waiter, he just shrugged his shoulders, I bought some more sea bass a few days later and cooked it myself in our SC apartment. It was gorgeous that time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Service could of been better”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Maybe it was because Reis is a very popular restaurant at the infamous Fethiye Fish Market, but the service we experienced left much to be desired.

1) Waiters should take time to explain how the system works rather than just assume that stpid tourists like ourselves are aware of what is being charged as extra and how your fish is being prepared
2) 70 minute wait for fried calamari and prawns is not acceptable

Other than that Reis is one of the charming restaurants at the Fethiye Fish Market.

If you like to haggle for the costs of your seafood from the pushy fishmongers while at the same time trying to make a decision about which restaurant you would like to cook your food while the owners enter into a scrum for your trade... Then this is the place for you.

Seafood was prepared to a satisfactory standard and the being able to recount a story about choosing fish direct form a fishmonger to be cooked at a restaurant 5 metres makes this excursion almost worth it.

Otherwise choose a seafood restaurant somewhere else in Fethiye, much less hassle and the food is much nicer

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank supres6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Meals of My Life”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The atmosphere at Reis is amazing - and that's topped by the food! We came here both nights we were in Fethiye - we didn't want to tempt fate and try to find somewhere to better it! We started with the best calamari I've ever had - fresh and lightly fried with a delicious lemon sauce. We also had mussels, octopus and other cold mezze. Then came the main source - a truly wonderful grouper that they cooked so simply with lemon - and that was all it needed. The second night we had the same appetizers (why mess with perfection?) and a rock snapper that was slightly less expensive than the grouper, but also incredible. The owner was a fantastic, huge personality who made out night(s). The music and atmosphere surrounding Galata Saray's soccer victory also made for one of the most memorable experiences on our honeymoon. I can't recommend Reis enough!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A gentle introduction to the delights of Turkish fish and seafood”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My husband and I have eaten at Reis a number of times over the last 5 years. The premise is very simple. Buy your fish at the fish market, and they will cook it and provide it to you along with local bread and a salad. The current rate (@ May 2013) is 6TL per person.

There has never been any hard sell or additional costs added to our bill. We have typically chosen one or two of the local salads, a couple of soft drinks and a 1L bottle of water and the bill has come to less than 30TL.

The fish is generally grilled and things like calamari fried. You can ask for specific ways of cooking the fish - and when we've done this its been great.

Over time, we have taken my family to eat there - and they coped with a party of 10 of us with ease and good humour.

Reis is our favourite, but there are a number of places around the fish market doing an indenticial approach. However, the friendliness of the staff make the difference and the ease at which they switch from one language to another leaves me envious!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SLLushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reis Restaurant also viewed

Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 
Fethiye, Mugla Province
Fethiye, Mugla Province
 

Been to Reis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing