We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little Turkish Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tugay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tugay Hotel
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little Turkish Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We are a couple in our late twenties and have just returned from a fantastic two week stay at the Tugay Hotel.

Our room was modest, but suited our needs perfectly. Cleaned every day and fresh towels every other, we had a wet room, fridge, balcony and TV. There is a plentiful traditional turkish breakfast buffet from 8-10 each day, and the pool is the cleanest i've ever seen! Also with plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas if you'd like to laze by the pool.

It's a short 5 minute walk to the beach (mind the main road when you are crossing) just far enough from the noisier hotels/bars on the seafront to enjoy evenings out, but still be able to have a peaceful evenings sleep after.

Iklay and his family were very friendly and accomodating, and were more than willing to advise as to the local tourist attractions, places to eat, day trips and the like. We were also able to store our luggage upon checkout on our last day, in order for us to have one final beach trip before our night flight which was great.

Overall a lovely holiday, and a great base for our trip, we have holiday blues already and can't wait for a return Journey.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SammyMagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    39
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
30
73
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bucks
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading the good reviews, we thought was for us. Rooms was clean we did not like a shared balcony or having to pay for a safe that was removable, the breakfast was the same for 14 days and i don't think that will change,there was flies all over the food at the uncovered breakfast table
There is a pool bar with no drinks, so strange for a small and friendly hotel.
A small amount of rooms have tourist in,the other rooms have noisey Turkish families in..
This is not a hotel where friends can be made as there is no social place to meet other people other than around the pool.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ritaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
295 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

This family-run hotel is located close to Cadiz Beach and is very popular with British tourists. Everyone was very friendly including owners/staff and other guests. Our room was larger than many we had in Turkey with lots of storage space. The bathroom was large however shower was the type that sprays the whole bathroom. Everything was very clean including the pool with lots of sun chairs. Breakfast was fairly basic, not as good as most of the other breakfasts we enjoyed during our 3 weeks in Turkey. Most of the restaurants along the pleasant promenade at Cadiz Beach seemed to cater to British tours with every second one offering "English breakfast" or Fish and Chips. We spent most of our time in downtown Fethiye which was easily reached by dolmus very close to the hotel. Fethiye itself is a lovely place with a beautiful long boardwalk with shaded benches to sit and admire the view. it was easy to find an all day boat trip that took us out to several islands which we enjoyed a lot. We stayed 3 nights at the Tugay - it was very reasonably priced. We also ate lunch at the hotel one day - it was a fixed menu, delicious and inexpensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Small family run hotel on outskirts of Calis. Good maid service. Rooms are typically Turkish basic, we asked to be moved to a slightly larger room which the owner did with no problems. Breakfast is basic (as expected) The pool area is pleasant and all guests were British when we were there. A good 10 minute walk to the centre but along the prom this is pleasant. There are bars etc nearby but they are quiet. The The nearby caretta beach bar/ restaurant is good for those wishing to Sun worship as you can have a Sun bed free if you buy drinks or food there, which are standard priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopsyBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Nothing much has changed since our first visit last June. This time we were in a ground floor room at the front of the hotel, which did feel a bit on the small-ish side for two people and the shower room really did need a tray/shelf where you could put shower gel/shampoo etc , but both of these points are just minor niggles really, and for cleanliness, value for money and friendliness of the other guests The Tugay is still an excellent option in Calis.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank soozieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Oh i don't like leaving negative feedback, however sometimes it's necessary. I go to Turkey twice a year, normally two weeks in May/June then again for two weeks in Sept. I usually stay at the Seketur hotel, however when i booked my recent trip via Travel Republic, i couldn't book the Seketur Hotel, therefore i relied on Trip Advisor reviews. As such the reviews for the Tugay hotel were very positive, i had no reservations in booking this hotel. Prior to arriving at the hotel, i had emailed the hotel for some advice on the rooms/WiFi etc......no reply was forthcoming. On arrival at the hotel i was greeted by the owner, who was very pleasant as were the other staff working there. My main issue with this holiday was the building work taking place on the upper part of the hotel. The owner is extending the hotel to include additional rooms on the upper floor.......these will be lovely once they are completed. During my two weeks stay, there was constant banging, drilling, hammering, not to mention the view from my balcony looking like a building site. One extended family checked out after 2/3 nights and moved to the Seketur Hotel, where i know they enjoyed the remainder of their trip. I decided to stay at the Tugay, however apart from sleeping and having breakfast there, i would be away from the hotel all day/evening. It was impossible to have an afternoon nap for the constant building work related noise as well as doors being slammed shut. I love Calis Beach and will return there year after year and i always try to remain positive, even while disappointment reigned supreme. I've waited over a week to leave this review, thinking i might have thought less of it, however i paid good money for a well earned holiday, only to be let down. I'm sure once the work is complete this hotel will continue to receive good reviews.......sadly i can't offer that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sparky2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having read all the rave reviews for the Tugay Hotel I had high hopes. We booked through Jewel In the Crown holidays. We returned a week ago.
On arrival, we were allocated a room adjacent to the small reception area. It was around 2am so we just went straight to bed. We were woken at 5.30 am by someone else checking into the hotel, then again at 7am by other guests chatting in reception. We have a young daughter, she had very little sleep. We spoke to the owner, Ilkay, he said he only had one other room available ( the other were being used as store rooms). The room was extremely tiny, they squeezed in an extra bed, we decided to accept it as we would at least get undisturbed sleep. It was far from ideal for three people though. The balcony (complete with rusty railings) over looked an area that was being used for storing junk, old sunbeds, mattresses, sacks etc.......not very pleasant. We wasn't expected a 5 star hotel but the grounds of the hotel should be kept clean and tidy.
The first few days were ok, sometimes we struggled to find room with shade around the pool as nonresidents were being allowed to use the pool. I have no objection to this but there should be ample shades for the residents, there were only three large umbrellas along one side of the pool.
THEN the noise started! From 8.30am, banging, drilling, sawing, welding. No chance of peace around the pool so we went to the beach. We returned for a siesta, no chance the noise was horrendous. The following morning the noise was the same, we spoke to Ilkay and he assured us that it would only be for a couple more hours. We went out for the day and returned in the late afternoon to more noise. I felt like I was holidaying on a building site. I went to sit on the balcony, it was covered in builing dust, as were the towels I had left to dry. No wonder, the builders wer throwing all the rubble over the balcony above onto the floor below.
The owner avoided us.
The following day was the same so we went out for the day to escape. Because the noise started early in the morning and continued all day we decided our daughter neede and early night. However, even at nearly 10pm the banging and drilling continued. My husband went up to the workers and asked them to stop then went to see the owner who was no where to be found, the only member of staff around didn't speak English.
The next morning at breakfast, the owner made no apology and just gave us dirty looks. The rep from the travel company came round and agreed it was unacceptable, she was also appalled at the state of the grounds. She spoke to her boss, he rang the owner. Before we went out that day, we bumped into Ilkay, he offered to make up for 'his mistakes' (his words) by offering us a much larger room, he showed it to us, we accepted and he said it would be ready when we returned. Sadly, when we got back, he had given the room to someone else!!
The following day, we could take no more of the the noise, the filthy grounds (our room did not overlook the pool which was the only tidy area) and the dirty looks from the owner bacuse we had dared to complain. We spoke to the rep and asked to move, it was at our expense but it was worth it, we couldn't spend another week like this.
Luckily Calis Beach is a wonderful resort so our time out of the hotel made up for the fact that our time in the hotel was so disappointing.
I have never needed to complain about a hotel before, hopefully I won't have to ever again. Thankfully the Jewel In The Crown Rep, Fiona, was excellent and did everything she could to help us but Jewel In The Crown should have informed us of the building work before we travelled, it had been going on for a few weeks and it's set to continue as the owner is building a laundry behind the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flowerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Fethiye hotels
0.8 mi away
Ten Apart Hotel
Ten Apart Hotel
#21 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oykun Hotel
Oykun Hotel
#7 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
6.9 mi away
Flora Palm Resort
Flora Palm Resort
#14 of 102 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Poppy Apartments
Poppy Apartments
#37 of 102 in Fethiye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Remer Hotel
Remer Hotel
#25 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harman Hotel
Harman Hotel
#18 of 102 in Fethiye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugay Hotel

Property: Tugay Hotel
Address: Merkez Mah. 1049 Sok. | Calis Bay, Calis, Fethiye 48300, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Fethiye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 102 Hotels in Fethiye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tugay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Tugay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing