We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (11)
Filter reviews
11 results
Traveler rating
10
0
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
10
0
1
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 11 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Right next to the river. Accommodating - clean and comfortable. If you are looking for a good night's sleep steps from river fishing this is as good as you get :)

Friendly owner and excellent price.

Recommend to fellow fishermen

Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PJ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015

I rate various hotels that we have stayed in ranging from luxury to those providing a basic place to sleep. My rating should not be used to compare hotels in differing settings but taken in context of the purpose of the lodging. This is an excellent place to stay if you want a CLEAN room, no frills, but very friendly, helpful service. I went solo to join friends for a ten day fishing trip. Mike, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. In the winter, snowmobilers come to ride the trails that can take you all the way to Vermont. In summer, these same trails are used by ATV people. The scenery is very nice with the clear, clean Salmon River as the main draw but also near Lake Ontario. Side trips to the Salmon River Falls and the Salmon River Fish Hatchery are very interesting and worth visiting. All restaurants we visited served large portions at very reasonable prices. No food is served on the premises however, Mike has a refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven and morning coffee in a common area for guests to use. If you are an early riser and want to get to the stream, bring your breakfast food with you and fix it yourself before setting out for the morning. All fishing holes along the Salmon River are just a few minutes drive from the motel/campground. Mike has another building with a large freezer where you can freeze and store your fish until you leave. There is free Wi-Fi but I could only get two sketchy bars so I was unable to use my computer or smart phone on site. When I went to nearby Pulaski for a meal, I was able to call out using my smart phone which is on the Verizon system. Some other guests were able to connect, depending on where they stood on the property. Locals use different service providers so they don't have these issues.

Room tip: All rooms are similar with private bath (shower). Rooms I saw had a double bed and a bunk bed with two bunks.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arlen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2015

Mike is the proprietor and a top-notch guide. We found him very people-oriented and attentive to their level of expertise in regards to salmon fishing in the area. His advise as to fishing locations and local dining opportunities was most valuable. He steered us to the Altmar Hotel for their Saturday Night Special Prime Rib Dinner that was truly exceptional and a steal for the price. There was more than I could eat at one sitting. My son however, is very physically fit and works out daily had no trouble ingesting everything.
The lodging itself is not the Ritz but it provides everything that one would need for the brief time he/she is sleeping before going out fishing. Complimentary coffee and donuts are provided before setting out.
In summary, this is the place you want to be for all-around information and needs for your once-a-year salmon run vacation.

Room tip: Ask for a quieter room - salmon anglers tend to be noisy at night. More so if the fishing was good. Smile.
Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2015

Just came home from another trip to Mid River Motel. Owner Mike keeps a clean, convenient and friendly home away from home for fishermen, campers and soon snowmobilers. Clean rooms at a very affordable rate along with the free fishing advice are a win-win. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Thanks Mike!!

Room tip: All rooms are great. Better to ask mike for some fishing tips.
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My friend and I recently enjoyed a women's fly-fishing trip in Pulaski. We stayed at Mid River Motel and was pleasantly surprised by Mike the new owner. He has made improvements to the motel. It was very clean, comfortable, and affordable. We had a great time speaking with other fisherman/women on the porch! Thanks for the great accommodations - we really enjoyed our stay.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank amesly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews