We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dessert”
Review of Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro - CLOSED

Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our goal is to bring the community delicious home-made cuisine with a modern flare, utilizing local-fresh ingredients with a warm & inviting ambiance. Enjoy a drink at our full bar with some of our Wood Fired Chicken Wings or if you prefer, relax with friends in the dining room & experience our perfectly cooked Homemade Raviolis. For those with a sweet tooth, indulge with our freshly made desserts and homemade ice cream. We will be opening November 2011, we can’t wait for you to dine with us!
Altamont, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dessert”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I decided to review this Restaurant again as it has become our Favorite spot to Dine out . We had a splendid dinner again this past Saturday evening and the new menu is addicting , Sea-bass tacos were delicious and Dessert is what prompted me to write a review.. The waffle sunday with home made gelato and home made whipped cream is to Die for ! We are going back tonight for Dessert and a glass of wine !

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the kind words. We are always excited to try to push envelope with our food, wine and service. Make sure to keep an eye out for our fall menu. It will be spectacular.

Tim Turano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    16
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altamont, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in update NY !! Period !”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My wife and I dine out regularly and when you add up all the things that make a restaurant great this is the place ! People tend to be over critical on these reviews like they are experts or food critics ! Keep up the good work Mio Vino !! this was our 7th or 8th Visit to this restaurant every visit was wonderful , nothing in life is perfect like some people expect,but Mio Vino strives for excellence and people are human and can make mistakes .. if you have read my lenthly review then you can rest assured this is a Must try Restaurant that offers a great varidy of choices where you can have a inexpensive night out for 2 for under $30.00 with tip ! or a eligent night out with a Bottle of wine for under $70.00 with Tip! I honestly can not think of a restaurant in upstate NY that offers quality food, good service and a nice atmosphere where you can do both.....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GEM1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for such a great compliment. Hopefully we can continue to live up to that expectation. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Tim Turano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamont, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and Awesome”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Mio may be the best thing to hit Altamont in 30 years. It is such a pleasure to have an upscale restaurant exuding warmth from their employes and serving superb food. The wine list out of this world. Fine food,fine wine and lots of laughter. Keep up the good work lovin' it in Altamont.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for the stellar review. It is always a pleasure to have our passion for food and wine recognized. We look forward to continuing to serve you.

Tim Turano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“If you enjoy being treated poorly you should visit Mio Vio....”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our second visit to Mio Vio and we will never return. We attempted to give this restaurant a second chance thinking maybe the first time was an off night. We again went with the same friends as we had the first time spending close to 275.00 each time with tip. The management is poor at best and the man at the front counter should be fired. Both times he sat at us at the first table at the front of the restaurant ( first time was in the dead of winter) when we asked to move we were met with huffs and puffs as if we should be honored to even be in his presence. The meal was average and the atmosphe was nice however SLOW... 3 hours to finish a meal is a bit ridiculous, after finishing our main course we played a game at the table to see how long it would take for dessert .... 45 minutes later despite attempts to flag down waitress.... After the meal we asked our waitress why the man at front seating people was cold and distant and why he kept coming into the room we were in to stare at us and give us dirty looks? The waitress stated she wasn't sure but she knows he is shy....seriously? On the upside Jaimie was excellent and we made the best of a mediocre situation... So again if you want to spend 275.00 and feel as if you are doing Mio Vino a favor by dinining there then this is the place for you... If not I would highly recommend someplace else.....what's the old saying. Fool me once?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Disakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
I am so sorry for your experience and that this is the second time you have encountered these problems. Mio Vino takes pride in its service, food and atmosphere. That being said, Mio Vino is a 16 table restaurant, unfortunately some of those tables happen to be in the same room as the bar. Fridays and Saturdays are the busiest nights of the week for us. We try to accommodate everyone that we can, in the best way possible. We hope that our patrons can understand the dilemma that we face with our size. We have sent you a private message with a cell phone number so that we can discuss your experience further and learn from our mistakes.
Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A hidden treasure”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our second trip to this wonderful restaurant located well off the beaten path that connects Albany and Schenectady. We had dinner our first time ...nothing short of excellent ... Enjoyed a so-so wood fired pizza last night ... nothing superb or different here .. started off with an excellent beet/pear/arugala/feta salad ... which saved the day!...Jeff is an excellent bartender making sure everything is perfect! Find it on Main St in Altamont ... be well worth the trip

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Allen_from_Ghent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tim T, General Manager at Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing us. We are lucky to have the staff that we do. I am sorry that the pizza did not knock your socks off and I appreciate constructive criticism and am always working toward making things better. Our goal at Mio Vino is exceed each guest's expectation.

Thank you

Tim Turano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mio Vino Wine Bar & Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing