We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in town!”
Review of Otel Selcuk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Otel Selcuk
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Konya
istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
7,388 reviews
282 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10,991 helpful votes
“One of the best in town!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

I am a frequent customer for this Hotel since many years and l always liked to stay at this one due to followings:
Very central location
Very friendly and efficient staff
Modern and clean rooms at very reasonable price level
Extensive breakfast buffet
Very good restaurant at very affordable price

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junior1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    24
    7
    4
See reviews for
4
22
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sebastopol, ca
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I know that having 1 foot long birds in a 3 foot cage could be a difference in norms.... so not holding this against them... though it did sadden me each time I went through the lobby....

Worst hotel of our month in Istanbul. I excused myself (in Turkish) as I asked the desk clerks politely if they could change a 10TL bill and the guy actually snorted. He snorted out loud like a Saturday Night Live sketch! Then the other staff member rolled her eyes, then sort of opened a drawer and pretended to look through it and said, "no" and went back to her cell phone share with the 3rd staff member. That could all be a one-time thing... so moving on to the room.

Smelly beyond words with deodorizer. No soap bar-- only liquid dispenser that smelled like bug spray. Filthy, worn carpet. I have stepped this up to a 'poor' rating because the location is good-- in the center and near a park. Also, they had a big t.v. with lots of channels. Oh-- and they offered us a cool drink when we came in. (I assume because we were a group.) Those are the only positives I can think of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kawh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Konya hotels

Istanbul
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I has stayed at other Konya hotels in the past, so I can make comments in comparison to others.
I can say that Selcuk Hotel is fairly comfortable, has a great location and a staff that is very interested in helping and assisting the guests. They are formal, not that they don't care about guests, because it is the social norm in the city.
The breakfast is one of a kind, very high quality products and very rich spread, due to the fact that hotel owners also have a large farm and raise almost all products on own.
The safety hotel offers is a great asset. They have not changed staff for a long time and very reliable. I guess some service and housekeeping staff has been there for about 15 years.
Unfortunately, all hotels in Konya have a clientele that regularly smoke even in non smoking rooms, so not only this hotel, but all hotels have this problem.
Konya is a very cold city. In the winter, heating of all city is done by coal. Awful. This causes rooms to look dirty and warn out.
Therefore, rooms smelling smoke is an unfair comment for this and all other hotels of this city.
It is true that rooms and hotel is a bit tired and need renovation. I am told that hotel will be shut down and renovated from top to toe over the next winter.

Room Tip: Hotel is very accommodating of personal requests. I suggest you contact hotel for any matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is the nastiest hotel that I have ever stayed in. It was filthy and wreaked of cigarette smoke which I thought was unusual for being in the most pious city of Turkey. I will admit that the breakfast was unusually good but everything else about the place was horrid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are many beautiful areas, but the rooms are old. AC/heat is modern. Rooms are big and the bed comfortable. Mold here and there and desk surfaces that are scratched. Our room on 3rd floor overlooked the street. Fortunately with the double glazed windows and our white noise machines we didn't hear much. Pleasant staff. Good internet and breakfast. Just average in our experience with three weeks of Turkish hotels. Good location. Bed was quite comfortable. Worth a stay.

Room Tip: It's a big city and I don't know that any room would be much of a view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garlec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sakarya Province, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I told reception that I was sick and I asked a silence room. After for a while door knocked and room clark brought me some soup, it was a gift :) He told me that all hotel stuff were sorry for my sickness and hoped me to heal...

I felt better believe me.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gokhan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice helpful staff, good Turkish breakfast, large rooms and a not bad location -near the Alladin hill. Only negative is that the hotel seems a bit older, there was a somewhat musty smell in room and in hallways. It was also a bit hard to find, as the entrance is actually off the main-drag and there is no large sign.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank william mudpucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konya hotels
0.0 mi away
Selcuk Otel Sems-i Tebrizi
2.1 mi away
Novotel Konya
Novotel Konya
#7 of 40 in Konya
64 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Konya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pasapark Hotel
Pasapark Hotel
#11 of 40 in Konya
129 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ibis Konya
Ibis Konya
#12 of 40 in Konya
69 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dedeman Konya Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Otel Selcuk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Otel Selcuk

Property: Otel Selcuk
Address: Semsi Tebrizi Mh. Mevlana Cd. Mazhar Babalik Sk. No: 4 Karatay Merkez, Konya 42050, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 40 Hotels in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Otel Selcuk 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Otel Selcuk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing