We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hz Mevlana”
Review of Hotel Balikcilar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Balikcilar
Ranked #27 of 39 Hotels in Konya
tehran
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hz Mevlana”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

I knew this hotel from my previous travel to konya 7 years ago at the same time of the year, which is the time for reminding and memorial of one of the great poets of world Mevlana rumi. Last time i was in ozkymic hotel which is also a good hotel. But its far from the heart of konya city ( mevlana tomb) as many of the activities about Hz mevlana orus take place in his tomb and some centers around his tomb. And balikcilar is bestly located. U could see the tomb from your window every day and every time u want. And at nights there are some homes( named dargah) close to this holy place which have special programs which no one who is coming to konya for these ceremonies could miss them. You could simply ask from the staff about the homes no 5&25, which has great great programs almost eveynight from 7 pm till 9 pm. Which you couldnot leave konya at this time of the year and not seeing thesm.Balkcilar is the best for this purpose . Very welcomung staff , relatively clean hotel, and a good morning and evening bufet. The other important aspect is as many iraninans prefer this hotel u could simply particupate in the programs they have for Hz Mevlana . They are so welcoming and you could learn alot about their culture , their poems, their music , and more, donot miss that chance.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank arya7379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    18
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
15
16
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

This hotel was very convenient to visit the Mevlana museum / tomb as it is just across the street corner. We got a largish triple-bedded room as we were 3 but the view from the room was not godd. Good variety at the breakfast buffet but the dinner was average. Although we had a sunny day looking around the Mevlana museum / tomb and excellent rose garden around it, the skies opened up with an almighty thunderstorm in the evening. I got some great photos of the lighting strikes over the Mevlana museum / tomb. The view from the top floor dining room after dinner was great looking over the Mevlana museum / tomb which is lighted up at night. The hotel bar is good and it was relaxing having a beer there as it is not possible to do this outside in the town due very conservative, religious attitudes in Konya.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The best thing about this hotel was the location-- great for walking around the city. There were very few people there when we were there (the place was empty) so the breakfast buffet was really lacking, but otherwise it was a fine place to spend the night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted to stay at Balikcilar to be close to Mevlana and to have a good base for walking around Konya for two days. Very good hotel, good standard of amenities and adequate breakfast. The big pluses were friendly staff and being almost next door to Mevlana and Selimiye. Will re-vist one day.

Room Tip: choose upstairs to get away ( a little) from the hustle and bustle of the intersection but also embr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We loved this hotel...it was like a step back in time in a good way. Perhaps a hotel Bogart and Greenstreet might have frequented. We were greeted with Turkish tea on arrival, always a nice touch. The interesting Mevlana Museum is across the street and a must-see in Konya. The room was similar to a yacht's cabin...small, tight, nicely appointed and utterly charming and the view a busy side street bustling with Turkish life. The hotel staff was friendly and MOST helpful. My husband inquired about where to purchase a bottle of wine and the concierge insisted on taking him personally to get it. The errand led to a circuitous route through dark streets and alleys to a closet-size, dimly lit "liquor store." The excursion turned out to be a memorable experience, as I understand he just missed seeing Peter Lorre!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j68ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very friendly staff... Pretty hotel. I don't know why, but those photos that I see on this website are not good enough compared to what I saw on my own eyes... Unfortunely I didn't take photos so I can't upload them. And if you want to hear a prayer very late then you will surely get what you want sleeping in that hotel ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amarie1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

very average hotel..... the only advantage was the mevlana museum in the vicinity. hotel placed in middle of the old town... breakfast was was not good and we try the hotel restaurant for dinner one night, it was horrible... but there are good restaurants with traditional food in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konya hotels
0.3 mi away
Selcuk Otel Sems-i Tebrizi
0.2 mi away
Dergah Hotel
Dergah Hotel
#21 of 39 in Konya
9 reviews
0.4 mi away
Safa Royal Muze Hotel
Safa Royal Muze Hotel
#22 of 39 in Konya
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Otel Selcuk
Otel Selcuk
#25 of 39 in Konya
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rumi Hotel
Rumi Hotel
#14 of 39 in Konya
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Novotel Konya
Novotel Konya
#7 of 39 in Konya
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balikcilar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balikcilar

Property: Hotel Balikcilar
Address: Mevlana Karsisi No 2 | Karatay, Konya 42020, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Konya
#10 Luxury Hotel in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Balikcilar 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Balikcilar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balikcilar Hotel Konya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing