We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing special”
Review of Mevlana Museum

Mevlana Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.85*
and up
Cappadocia 3-Day Tour from Side
Ranked #1 of 52 things to do in Konya
Certificate of Excellence
Spain
Level Contributor
147 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went here as part of a set tour but I wouldn't have wasted my time in Konya, if I had been able to choose. You can visit the tomb of Mevlana and his family and some rooms and see some codices written in Arabic. It was interesting to see how Turkish people were praying as if they were in a nirvana state and how some visitors smelt a little chest with the beard of Mevlana. You don't need to cover you hair to visit it but they give you some plastic bags for your shoes. There are two cafés and the stinkiest toilets that I have ever used. If you don't need to stop to rest, you can miss Konya.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MariaESpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    959
    420
    161
    16
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fascinating whirling dervish museum”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is a fascinating museum which depicts the training and life of whirling dervishes. The museum is joused around the mausoleum of Mevlana, who was instrumental in starting the Mevlevi Order. Apart from the interesting exhibits, the buildings and grounds themselves are very attractive. This is definitely worth a visit if you are anywhere near Konya

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank jotheringman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lebanon lb
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good to see”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

It 's a good place to visit once you pass by konya to learn more about the philosophy of Melvana but it's a little bit crowdy

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimstad, Norway
Level Contributor
197 reviews
108 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Bring you to Rumi”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I visited the museum because we need to pass Konya when going to Cappadocia. I'm admirer of Rumi's poets and curious about Sema ceremony. The building is almost like a typical turkish mosque, with beautiful decorations. Inside the building are Rumi's and some respected muslim scholars' tombs. A beard of prophet Muhammad, was preserved there too. It is a popular destination for muslims to visit, but are opened for other religions too. Many of them are try to smell the beard of Muhammad inside a glass box with small holes on the glass. Taking picture inside the building is not allowed. The original collection of Rumi's poet, Masnavi is also well-preserved in the museum. I would suggest to read a bit about Rumi and his poems before visiting this place, in order to be able to appreciate what is the museum about.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
342 reviews
251 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Interesting if you are going through Konya”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Unless you are a devotee of Rumi and his philosophy, this is probably not worth a detour unless you are going through Konya anyway. The museum has been upgraded since I was there a decade ago, but it is still somewhat artificial with mannequins in dioramas. The mausoleum with Rumi's sarcophagus is beautiful and worth the (reasonable) ticket price. There is a gift shop and good restrooms on site.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mevlana Museum also viewed

Konya, Konya Province
 

Been to Mevlana Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing