We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, great service”
Review of Konya Dervish Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Konya Dervish Otel
Ranked #1 of 30 Konya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Thoroughly recommended.
I stayed here for one night with my wife and two children July 2013. The hotel was full but they put us up in a separate building in the garden which seemed to be normally occupied by the owner's family. The owner was very apologetic and gave us a special price of a total of just 60 euros (150 lire) for two bedrooms to accommodate all of us, while stressing that if it wasn't to our liking he would find us another hotel.
The accommodation was of course a bit improvised but it was actually fine - clean and comfortable and at that price exceptionally good value.
We used the hotel for breakfast, which was included in the price, and was just as good as the breakfasts we had in most of the other hotels we stayed in in Turkey which cost twice as much.
The owner was extremely kind and helpful in suggesting places to eat, giving us directions to our next destination and even suggesting a route for me to go running in the morning and giving us advice on carpet buying!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavinRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were looking for an overnight stay on our way from Antalya to Cappadocia and we found this hotel. I would recommend the Dervish Otel in every way possible. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful. The hotel rooms were elegant, spacious and clean. Breakfast was delightful. Thank you for making us feel very welcome.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Take the shoes off and feel yourself like home. I have nothing to complain as everything was over expectation: the room, the bathroom, the kitchen and the lovely buffet breakfast, the private parking, the garden and the feeling you are in your house not in a hotel.

The location is good, close to the city center where you can eat, visit the mosque or to have a coffee on the park on the top of a hill.

If you are there on Saturday take a chance to see the Dervish ceremony at the Mevlana cultural center for free. If you have seen the ceremony before as a small private ceremony, this will be a little disappointing, as there are lots of people, the dancers will be far away from you and the feeling is not the same.

While in Konya, this is the only place I can recommend and you will not be sorry.
Thank you, Adam!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent one night in Konya on our way from Cappadocia to Antalya, and decided to stay at the Dervish Otel. It is well situated, near the city center, and has a private parking lot. If you plan on exploring the city, it is a very convenient place to stay.

The hotel is very clean, and well kept. We stayed in a triple room with three single beds. It was one larger room with two twin beds, and a single smaller room off to the side. The room, while not spacious (probably due to the set up), had plenty of room and we did not feel crowded at all. The bathroom was not large, but again, it was large enough to be comfortable. There were plenty of outlets (very important feature since there were three of us traveling, and we each required at least three outlets every night), and the wifi worked well. The beds are pretty firm, but overall, were very comfortable. Also, keep in mind, in order to keep the hotel clean, all guests are asked to take off their shoes and to wear slippers in the hotel. This was true at about 25% of the hotels we stayed at.

The hospitality was terrific overall. The owner and his brother were both great, and we enjoyed talking with them, and learning about their family and history. They also give really good advice about what to go and see. During breakfast, they recommended that we stop at Sagalassos ruins on our way to Antalya, which we had not even heard about, and it turned out to be a great detour. It is perched on a mountain top with a breathtaking view, and some pretty impressive ruins. We also accidentally took our hotel key with us, and when we discovered this, they were incredibly gracious, and told us just to drop it off with a local delivery carrier. Since my turkish was non-existent, I showed the teller the key, and the email with the instructions, and turns out the hotel had requested that they pay for the shipping. I cannot praise them enough for their hospitality and graciousness, especially since it was my mistake. However, do be warned, while we enjoyed speaking and interacting with the brothers, we also interacted with one other worker who struck us as a bit too pushy- he kept pushing certain restaurant recommendations on us, but I would not hold this against the hotel since this seems to be a common phenomenon on in Turkey.

The breakfast was quite impressive. There is a terrific variety of olives, cheeses, breads, and fruits. While there was nothing particularly special (not much was cooked besides the hard boiled eggs or homemade), but what they did have was fresh and very good.

I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The price is extremely reasonable, it is central, and a good value. The only thing I would say is that you are not that interested in Rumi or the whirling Dervish, Konya can probably be skipped. Someone had recommended to me that we skip Konya and spend more time in Antalya, and now I wish I had done this. It would have been nice to have an extra day in Antalya just to relax on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bemmybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This tiny hotel is very well run by very friendly people who will put their heart and souls into making sure that you enjoy your stay. Peculiarity: you have to leave your shoes at the entrance of the house to keep it clean! The mattresses are very hard, which I like. The rooms are very clean. The hotel is located very close to the main attractions, the museum, the bazaar. Konya is a great city, very chaotic and vibrant. Good look finding alcohol in that town. Its overall conservatism gives it a unique Iranian touch.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank williamgag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Dervish is a very well located hotel in a quiet neighborhood of this big industrial city. We occupied a very comfortable room on the first floor, overlooking the front gate and garden, a good and comfortable bathroom too, the only observation is that they should use a top cotton sheet and the bed cover to be complete, also take notice that they have hard mattresses that could be uncomfortable sometimes. The breakfast is great and Mehmet and his staff are very nice in a real Ottoman service. They have a very convenient car park at the back of the property for those, like us that were on our way from Cappadocia to the Turquise Coast.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OSKILIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I must say that while disappointed by the city itself, our stay was made wonderful thanks to Muammar Mehmet and his colleagues running this boutique hotel. Always there for you, fantastic hospitality and most importantly we have friends now in Konya. You feel home. Breakfast is wonderful and the rooms are large and super clean. Thats the only place to go in Konya! The people running this place share all the values that Rumi advocates. Thank you once again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hichi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konya hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Konya
0.1 mi away
Hich Hotel Konya
Hich Hotel Konya
#1 of 39 in Konya
997 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rixos Konya
Rixos Konya
#6 of 39 in Konya
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Dedeman Konya Hotel & Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Araf Hotel
Araf Hotel
#5 of 39 in Konya
101 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayir Diamond
Bayir Diamond
#8 of 39 in Konya
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konya Dervish Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konya Dervish Otel

Address: Aziziye Mah Gungor Sk. No: 7, Konya 42030, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Konya
Price Range: $42 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Konya Dervish Otel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Otel is 200-year-old renovated Ottoman house. This cosy hotel is located in the city centre of Konya and 3 minutes walk from the Mevlana museum and the Bazaars of Konya. It offers a large garden and comfortable rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. With matching curtains and bed linens, the rooms of Dervish Hotel are elegantly decorated with traditional furnishings. All rooms have private bathroom and LCD TV with satellite channels. Each morning, an open buffet breakfast is served in the dining room of the hotel. Konya Airport is 15 km from the hotel. We have 7 rooms, free parking and traditional Konya Garden. In the same spirit as in a traditional Turkish home, we kindly ask our guests to take off their shoes before entering. We provide slippers for the whole stay. This way, we can preserve the atmosphere of a traditional Konya home. Our hotel is the only hotel in Konya with a garden. Any questions about Dervish Otel are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Konya Dervish Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing