We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What wonderful people!”
Review of Konya Dervish Otel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Konya Dervish Otel
Ranked #1 of 29 Konya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What wonderful people!”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Derivsh Otel is 5 minutes' walk to Mevlana Museum and 15 minutes' walk to Mevlana Culture Centre.

More importantly, the sincere service won us over. The Dervish Otel hospitality started even before we arrived in Turkey. Muammer replied to our reservation and subsequent queries very promptly, and was very helpful. A day before we arrived, we were informed that we would be upgraded to a bigger room for free.

We arrived at night after driving from Cappadocia to find a beautifully furnished (and very warm - crucial on a cold winter's night) mansion. There is also a "no shoe" policy which keeps the place spick and span. No dirty and dusty carpets in this hotel!

Muammer's colleague (whose name we did not get, unfortunately), made an awesome restaurant recommendation. When we returned to the hotel at about 10pm, we had a great time chit-chatting with Muammer over freshly squeezed orange juice.

Our room was tastefully done up and spacious. The huge bathroom was fitted with Groehe shower and Duravit WC. There was even a radiator in the bathroom (only one we came across in Turkey so far).

As a parting gift, Muammer's colleague gave us an adaptor which we had borrowed from the hotel the night before. His kind gesture helped us tremendously for the rest of our stay in Turkey. After we left, we also received an email from Muammer who had knocked off before we checked out.

We definitely recommend this to anyone who is staying overnight in Konya. In fact, we are still wishing that we have stayed for at least another night!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ying W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    27
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
42
86
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

this is a beautiful and peaceful hotel in the old city of Konya. we loved the atmosphere in the hotel, and the fact that we were the only guests made us feel even more like we were at home. the owner family are very friendly and the breakfast buffet was fresh and plentiful.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quick_draw_mcgraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Dervis Otel is located very close to the Mevlana Museum and Konya Cultural Center, which are the two most important sights for visitors to the city. The service is very friendly and helpful. The staff made our young family feel very welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SidWanderer80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Although slightly pricier than the types of accommodation I'm used to (there aren't many/any budget options in Konya), the Dervish Otel was worth every penny.

The staff were lovely - generous, helpful, made sure you got to the bus on time - and the room itself was divine. Clean, comfortable, attractive, with a great bathroom. The buffet breakfast was simply incredible, with lots of fruit and produce from the owner's mother herself, and there was always a supply of free bottles of water and help with anything you needed.

It's a little hard to find (especially at night), but if you get dropped off by dolmus near the Mevlana Museum most of the shopkeepers there know what direction to point you in.

I loved my stay there and wish it had been longer. It was great getting to learn more about Turkey over breakfast and taste some of that amazing homemade food. The location was excellent too - five minutes walk from the museum and 10 minutes from the Dervishes. It felt like home, but an even nicer version. I cannot recommend Dervish Otel more highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The staff were helpful and very friendly and really made us feel welcome. They all spoke excellent English.

The room was modern, stylish, comfortable, quiet and clean.

The main site - the Mevlana Musuem was only a couple of minutes walk away, and other places in Konya were easy to get to on foot.

The buffet breakfast was delicious and generous.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whidbey Island
Level Contributor
195 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We are a group of 21 from the U.S., Europe, South Africa, joining the throngs to celebrate Rumi's passing in Konya. We are finishing a one-week stay at the Dervish Hotel. From the moment we were greeted, then ushered to our exceptional room #17, we felt graciously welcomed. Fluffy down comforters, professionally-designed interior decor, and the best breakfasts in Turkey. Fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal, delicious Turkish breads and whole wheat plus toaster. Homemade jams, fresh honey, comb and all, cheeses, hard-boiled eggs, fresh tahini, molasses, freshly squeezed pomegranate and orange juice, olives, and more I haven't even mentioned! Our group had the full-time use of the dining room to join together to sing, host Iranian and Kurdish musicians. The trip of a lifetime. Mehmet went out of his way to walk us to the Muftagi restaurant and to help us try to save a gorgeous golden retriever, Badem, who was tied up, trembling, on the street (he sincerely offered to buy him, which got the owner in gear to hopefully take proper care of him). I could say so much more. Unless you're on a shoestring budget, this is THE place to rest your body and soul in Konya!

Room Tip: We LOVED Room 17. There is an older, more quaint section in the back. More privacy, but we definitel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judythr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is located very close to the Mevlana Museum, so a good location. The hotel staff were really friendly and helpful, and provided excellent restaurant advice. When we arrived we were the only guests, so they upgraded us to a more spacious room. The hotel is full of lovely carpets - the owner runs a carpet business and was very happy to show us his extensive range and drink tea with us. The breakfast was really nice too. We had 2 nights, 1.5 days in Konya - it was nice to be somewhere much less touristy (apart from the Mevlana Museum, which was packed!) but one full day was plenty of time to see the sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanberraK79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Konya hotels
0.1 mi away
Hich Hotel Konya
Hich Hotel Konya
#1 of 39 in Konya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Konya
2.3 mi away
Dedeman Konya Hotel & Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ibis Konya
Ibis Konya
#12 of 39 in Konya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rixos Konya
Rixos Konya
#5 of 39 in Konya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Araf Hotel
Araf Hotel
#4 of 39 in Konya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Konya Dervish Otel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Konya Dervish Otel

Property: Konya Dervish Otel
Address: Aziziye Mah Gungor Sk. No: 7, Konya 42030, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Konya Province > Konya
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Konya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Konya Dervish Otel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dervish Otel is 200-year-old renovated Ottoman house. This cosy hotel is located in the city centre of Konya and 3 minutes walk from the Mevlana museum and the Bazaars of Konya. It offers a large garden and comfortable rooms with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi. With matching curtains and bed linens, the rooms of Dervish Hotel are elegantly decorated with traditional furnishings. All rooms have private bathroom and LCD TV with satellite channels. Each morning, an open buffet breakfast is served in the dining room of the hotel. Konya Airport is 15 km from the hotel. We have 7 rooms, free parking and traditional Konya Garden. In the same spirit as in a traditional Turkish home, we kindly ask our guests to take off their shoes before entering. We provide slippers for the whole stay. This way, we can preserve the atmosphere of a traditional Konya home. Our hotel is the only hotel in Konya with a garden. Any questions about Dervish Otel are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Konya Dervish Otel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing