We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Food”
Review of Kamer

Kamer
Ranked #1 of 40 Restaurants in Kars
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Having had a number of indifferent meals in eastern Turkey, this was a real delight. The food was simple but delicious and very fresh and the service was friendly and swift. The seating has a full view of the kitchen. If I lived in Kars, I would be here every day.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MBF0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    27
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
antalya
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Still best deicious local food all in Kars.”
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been here one year ago. İts still best local food.this is worth to visit here.if you have time you should visit Dogubeyazıt and see İshakpasa palace.it is 3 hours by bus 2 hours by car.of course you cannot miss Ani ruins

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Bulent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
550 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
“Good Food and the Bonus is Support to Local Women”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

This quite plain restaurant has nothing fancy other than its delicious local food. It can accomodate up to 30 people utmost but the service is swift and the local dishes they serve are quite delicious, prices very reasonable. But what is more fascinating in this restaurant is that, it's part of a local initiative to empower women in the area. The organization lend money to local women so that they can open their own businesses and after a certain period of time, these women become the owner of the businesses they established with this financial support. During our lunch in this place, we met the lady owner who was cooking everything herself and knowing we indirectly supported her endeavour added a further satisfaction to our experience.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“very delicious traditional food”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We ate all of our meals in this small nice place during our stay. They have veyr nice traditional food and people are very nice.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Erman Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“wonderful tradtional food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were taken to this restaurant by friends and colleagues of a non-profit group we were visiting in Kars. We were especially eager to try regional food the last few days before Ramadan was to begin (when standard menus usually apply, we found). Unfortunately, I did not write down the names of the many delicious, unique foods we ate! However, many were vegetarian, which was a very pleasant change from typical chicken or beef standards, and there was nothing we didn't like! The atmosphere was fine, but nothing unique, hence "only" 4 stars. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamer also viewed

Kars, Kars Province
Kars, Kars Province
 
Kars, Kars Province
 
Kars, Kars Province
 

Been to Kamer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing