We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bastoncu Pension now named Bastoncu Hotel”
Review of Bastoncu Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Safranbolu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bastoncu Hotel
Ranked #32 of 68 Safranbolu B&B and Inns
Western Norway, Norway
Level Contributor
573 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Bastoncu Pension now named Bastoncu Hotel”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Bastoncu Hotel has a nice location in the old town - just below the museum building.
It is an old house and the rooms are upstairs - old style decoration rooms.
Bathrooms are small. There is a small veranda upstairs for smokers.

Ali picked us up at the local small bus station and also brought us there when we left.
He also arranged a sightseeing day for 5 of us to The caves - the Aquaduct and to an old village a few km away. In addition we drove north to Amasra on the Back Sea coast. The price was fair.

We were satisfied with our stay (2 nights) but there are many other hotels in the area with more comfort for the guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T3T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    5
    1
    6
See reviews for
3
25
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I live in Istanbul. Safranbolu is one of the many "other" places to visit in Turkey. This pension was supurb. The owners are wonderful. The week I was there they opened their renovated patio with a barbeque. I was going to stay for two days, but stayed for four. Such lovely people!

Room Tip: This is a lovely place. Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamelawev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here a total of 10 nights. We traveled onward to Amasra but came right back a few days later because we enjoyed Bastoncu Pension so much. The owner and staff and incredibly helpful and friendly. We also enjoyed their day tour of the local sights and their evening BBQ. The room was simple, but with nicely maintained and authentic woodwork. We thoroughly enjoyed the beauty of the town itself. After two months of travel in Turkey, this was the highlight!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank russellm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I had the pleasure of spending three nights at Bastoncu and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The owner is extremely friendly and eager to help in planning your activities and gives great advice for exploring the area. We loved our large ottoman room (101) and the overall atmosphere of the place. The location is perfect and central for exploring the small and charming town of safranbolu, and the place is clean. Our one regret is that we didn't eat dinner at bostancu that is prepared by his lovely mother, it looked and smelled delicious and appears to be excellent value. I would highly recommend staying at Bastoncu if you are going to Safranbolu. It also offers free wifi and laundry is available for 10 TRY. English, Japanese and some Korean spoken. The owner also gave us a free ride to the bus sto, such a nice guy!

I

Room Tip: Room 101 was swell, big and a nice view of the mosque.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yolisarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Bastoncu Pension is perfectly located between the main square of the old part of Safranbolu (the one where one can find Cinci Hani) and Kaymakamlar Muze Evi (a restored Ottoman house).

Staying at Bastoncu Pension is as near as possible to living in a 19th century Ottoman house (except for the bath, which is modern and not of the "cupboard" type as it used to be in Ottoman times). The owner speaks good English and takes great care of his guests (free pick up service from the place where service minibus will bring you from the otogar in the new part of the town). Detailed bus timetables to various parts of Turkey are clearly exposed near the reception desk and there are the only truly nice postcards of Safranbolu for sale. The breakfast was the usual Turkish fare (it could be served with more immagination, in order to make it look more "authentic" - in the line with the house).

Bathroom is very small (I understand it wasn't possible to make it bigger because of the lack of space), but more annoying was the low pressure in the taps and long time one had to wait for hot water to come; fortunately, the bathroom was equipped with a back up system that supplied hot water in seconds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
here
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2012

The house is well-maintained and decorated with Ottoman kitsch. For a Pension, I was impressed with the cleanliness and charming decor. There is also a garden, which is a great place to meet other travelers after a long day of wandering the twisted streets, or have breakfast in the morning.

While I was very pleased with the room, the best thing about Bastoncu was the customer service. The owner really goes above and beyond to serve his guests. We wanted to go hiking, and he offered to help us find transportation. On the morning of our hike, he got up early to make our breakfast and even gave us his number to call in case we got stranded. Finally, on the day of our departure, he called to arrange a bus, drove us to the bus station, and walked us into the station to let the bus company know we were there (and couldn't speak Turkish! ;)

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the triple room, which was decorated with jars of spices, an old wooden clock, and a window s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This Ottoman house is well kept and the rooms are ample and clean. It's very basic, no luxury here but you are paying accordingly. A great value option to explore the cobblestone streets of Safranbolu. Ali, the owner was extremely helpful, he even drove us to the Karabuk bus station or else we would miss our bus to Ankara.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulopintoq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Safranbolu hotels
0.2 mi away
Leyla Hanim Konagi
Leyla Hanim Konagi
#6 of 20 in Safranbolu
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gokgozoglu Pansiyon
Gokgozoglu Pansiyon
#31 of 68 in Safranbolu
3 reviews
0.1 mi away
Efe Guest House
Efe Guest House
#6 of 68 in Safranbolu
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Arifbey Konak Hotel
Arifbey Konak Hotel
#8 of 68 in Safranbolu
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sabri Bey Konak Otel
Sabri Bey Konak Otel
#12 of 68 in Safranbolu
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safranbolu Seyir Konak Otel
Safranbolu Seyir Konak Otel
#14 of 68 in Safranbolu
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastoncu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastoncu Hotel

Property: Bastoncu Hotel
Address: Musalla Mah. Hidirlik Yokusu Sok. No:4 Safranbolu Merkez | Kaymakamlar Muzesi Evi Alti, Safranbolu, Turkey (Formerly Bastoncu Pansiyon)
Location: Turkey > Karabuk Province > Safranbolu
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Safranbolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastoncu Hotel is an Otoman building in the centre of the old town (Eski Carsi) and it is about 350 years old. You can see Ottoman architecture in our rooms. You can visit old Safranbolu by walking. Facilities: breakfast, TV, shower, toilet, wireless, central heating, laundry, local food, local tour, bus reservation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing