We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turkish hospitality in a beautiful ottoman house”
Review of Cesmeli Konak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cesmeli Konak
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Safranbolu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Turkish hospitality in a beautiful ottoman house”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed in Cesmeli Konak with my parents, and a friend. We booked 3 rooms, My room was big enough to fit 2-3 ppl, while my parents room could fit 3-4 ppl and beautifully decorated. All the 3 rooms are very clean and comfy. The hotel location is very good especially for my parents who can't climb a lot. Breakfast is ok, more eggs would make me happier though.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. I lost my phone in Ankara airport before arriving in Safranbolu. Once I arrived, Serhat the manager made a few phone calls and managed to find my phone. Also another staff lend me his personal phone to call my friend and trying to be helpful all the time even he can't speak any English.

It was my 2nd time visiting Safranbolu, and I think I will never get bored with the city. And definitely would stay in Cesmeli Konak again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 21, 2015
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    35
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
58
46
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

I stayed at Cesmeli Konak with my family 03.04.2014. The room was amazing and clean. The beds are comfortable, bath and shower are clean, flat tv, bottle of water with tea coffe and kettle in room. The best thing is the atmosphare in the hotel and room. The breakfast was delicious. The owner Hatice prepared your table with a rich old Turkish breakfast. All the staff was help full and friendly.
I advice you to visit the following places during your stay in Safranbolu;
1- The Mencilis Bulancak cave. It is a little bit far (15 min by bus) from the old city but wonderful. You have to visit there
2- There is a Crystal terrace (15 min by bus) from the old city. It looks directly to the canyon and you stay on a glass terrace over the canyon.
3- Visit the Kaymaklar House. It is a old traditional Turkish house where you will see the living stile of Turkish culture.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank serdalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Location is good near central of old town, not far to famous turkish bath. Room is clean and comfortable, a traditional safranbolu style house.
Only one way free pick up transfer from Safranbolu old town to new town (not include Karabuk). Our arrival time was early at 6 o'clock when we called for pick up, we felt them a little not patiently.
Staff help us book bus tickets to Goreme. Good turkish style breakfast. Only offer one bottle of water in the four people room. Some staff communicated in English are poor. We asked them departure time of minibus maybe they didn't speak clearly or we didn't understand what them talk about result in we're too late to take a minibus transfer to new town, and need to take a taxi, let me feel a little strange.

Room Tip: We stayed in a double bed and 2 single beds room, we always see out of window some staff are walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed at this place for two nights and loved it.
Location: it's a stone throw away from the central square. It's a small village so it's short distance to any place. Make sure you get to two excellent view points from high up for the view of the village centre and beyond - the city museum ( you dont need to go in) the hidirlik hill (1 lira but we went in early April and no one was there to collect the admission fee). It's also recommended to walk around the village early in the morning before the village wakes up and the package tour groups flow in.
Room: very nicely decorated, with old- fashioned ornaments dotted in the room. It's very clean, warm (with heater), and comfortable. It has kettle, cups, tea/coffee bags, and hair dryer. Bathroom was a little small but very efficient and clean. The stairs are wooden so if your room is by the stairs like ours, it could get a little noisy when other guests go up and down. Wifi is available in the room. Breakfast is served on the ground floor, with a good range of food and very healthy.
Services: we arrived from istanbul at safran at 6.30am, way too early from the standard check- in time. However, the staff was kind enough to check us in at 8.30 ( well I guess the fact that its still low season helps) so we were able to had a hot shower and some food in our room. The lady was very helpful in providing all sorts info, although more proficient English would help making the process much easier. We were especially grateful for the arrangement of the bus tickets going on to goreme via Ankara by the manager, and the very details information from the lady about how to go from the village to take the bus ( see below). The lady even walked us to the bus stop to make sure we catch the correct dolmus.
Although many people say one night is enough for safran, but We enjoyed the stay here for two nights very much and this wonderful konak was a great part of it.
Tips for leaving safran: where you'll stay is most likely in the old town of safran in the valley. The inter-city coaches however leave from karabuk ( the departure place printed in the ticket), which is 10 km away.
The Easiest way, although costly, is to take a taxi from the square.
Alternatively, take a local bus (dolmus) to kirankoy, the new town of safran 2km away above the valley, which takes about 5-8 mins at 1.25lira each. Tell the driver you are going to the coach office (e.g. Metro coach office), so they'll let us off and give you direction from where you get off (only 1 min walk from main road, really easy to find). Then take the coach company's free shuttle minibus to safranbolu octogar first, change to the big coach and set off for karabuk before finally hitting the road.
A middle way would be take a taxi from safran old town to safranbolu octogar, 10 min or so at 15 lira top.
So, our experience was: left hotel 10.20am, got on dolmus at 10.30 ( approx. every 10 min a bus), arrived at Metro bus office 10.40, free shuttle minibus left 10.45, change to big coach at safranbolu octogar and departed from there at 11.00, stopped and then eventually left karabuk at 11.30. Check the departure place and time on your ticket.
I hope this is useful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shuang Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Thank you very much .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2014

First I must say guesthouse is charming but remember to bring earplugs. We stayed 2 nights .the one night it was after 2:00am that we finally got to sleep but could still hear the guy next door snoring. Doors opening and shutting and could hear the people above us walking around. The second night people were talking quite loud. Again there no sound proofing.
Another thing that was quite annoying was the price, I was quoted in Euros but only had dollars and not quite enough Lira's but when I showed the the exchange rate on computer from euro to dollars they said the price in Lira's. It was $10.00 more.so if you don't have euro get the price in Lira's so your not surprised.
Breakfast was good. I guess I would ask more questions on how they calculate their rates.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dubuquers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

It's a very nice,clean and comfortable hotel in the city center of Safranbolu.The hotel is a renovated,old Ottoman house.The staff is very gentle and helpful.We were welcomed like old friends or family members.Great hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YEvren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I found this hotel by a trawel web site that the hotel was offering best price for last mınute booking. Enjoyed to stay there. They have 2 hotels under same name but i stayed in the centre but the other was also few hundred metres away from the centre. no problem to walk few minutes.
This is a famiy run hotel with really old house rooms. Recommend this hotel for a stay during a trip to old town SAFRANBOLU.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michiko o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CesmeliKonak, Yönetici at Cesmeli Konak, responded to this review, September 27, 2015
Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Safranbolu hotels
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Safranbolu
Hilton Garden Inn Safranbolu
#2 of 20 in Safranbolu
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leyla Hanim Konagi
Leyla Hanim Konagi
#6 of 20 in Safranbolu
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gulevi Safranbolu
Gulevi Safranbolu
#3 of 20 in Safranbolu
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Zalifre Hotel
Zalifre Hotel
#15 of 20 in Safranbolu
53 reviews
2.0 mi away
Safir Konak
Safir Konak
#9 of 20 in Safranbolu
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Imren Lokum Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cesmeli Konak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cesmeli Konak

Property: Cesmeli Konak
Address: Cesme Mah. Mescit Sok. No:1, Safranbolu 78600, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Karabuk Province > Safranbolu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Safranbolu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cesmeli Konak 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Çeşmeli Konak which is guessed to be built in 1800s has been restorated and opened to service in 23rd April 2002. It is one of the 1300 monuments which is under protection of UNESCO in scope of world heritage list. Our mansion is so close to historical center of the Safranbolu that you can walk every place and monuments that you should see is in distance of walking, the farest place/monument in distance of walking in 10 minutes maximum. Our mansion reflects traditional Turkish home image and architecture. Our mansion has 8 rooms which each has different structure with decoration. Our mansion is a family business and it's dates back to our past few generation's heritage. Çeşmeli Konak means in english "Mansion with Fountain". The mentioned fountain is in the garden back side of our mansion and it has still working. It has been used by near neighbourhood and by us at old times till now.. Çeşmeli Konak vision is to present self-home comfort and convinience with jocund and unique service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Cesmeli Konak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing