We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Italian” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pepe Rosso

Pepe Rosso
Ranked #102 of 2,561 Restaurants in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Average Italian”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

The view was nice as it is from most restaurants along this strip. We were looking for something Italian which is why we chose to eat here. We thought the prices were a bit high, but then when the food came out the portions were a good size and the food looked really good. We paid 78TL for a pizza, a pasta, a salad and some tea. Unfortunately the food didn't taste as good as it looked though, and we were a bit disappointed. Salad was great, pizza and pasta was flavourless.

Helpful?
Thank Romara0709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    32
    18
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“My Favorite Breakfast Place Downtown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Haven't tried their lunch or dinner but breakfast was very good! I am pretty much picky when it comes to eating downtown. Everything was fresh and most importantly tea! It was perfect! If you live in Turkey you can tell when tea tastes nasty like one at the Otogar, but this tea is brewed properly and it is unlimited with breakfast. They have buffet breakfast on Sundays so beware of that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 88Aida88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Good food and Italian Style service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

3 italian friends at dinner: pizza, beef tenderloin and red wine. Excellent food and service, cool ambient. that's it!
for sure we will come again...

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NDR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent but pricey food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

We just returned from Peppe Rosso and wanted to share with others our experience. This is the second time we ate there. Our review is based on our taste and personal criterias regarding taste, which are influenced by the type of food and the prices we are used to (we are Greek).
While desperately searching for good food in Izmir - being absolutely disappointed by the turkish food and the hygiene in this country - we searched and found this restaurant on Tripadvisor and decided to try it based on the good reviews.
This restaurant lived up to our expectations and was a pleasant surprise. The food was very tasty, the portions are quite big and everything seemed to be clean. All these are very rare, not to say inexistent, in Izmir's restaurants.
The personel was very helpful and polite but not everybody speaks English. However, they do have an English menu, which made our life easy. The ambience was excellent and the place was full of customers.
I would like to emphasize the cleanliness of the toilet, where they even had small towels. You could take one, dry your hands and put it to the laundry box.
The only drawback in our opinion was its price, which we considered to be quite high, given that the restaurant is situated in Izmir and not in Paris, London or any expensive city.
Overall we highly recommend this restaurant to all those who want to avoid oily and bad smelling kebabs and other meats.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philippe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We had a lovely evening here last Saturday. Lovely meal. Delicious pizza. Lots of Variety on the menu. Nice to get away from Fish and Kebabs for an evening and have a different choice. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Connie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Rosso also viewed

 
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Pepe Rosso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing