We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent although very challenging to find”
Review of By Cicogna - CLOSED

By Cicogna
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent although very challenging to find”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We found this restaurant thru trip advisor and had given up walking in circles to find it (on alley) next to french cultural center) when we tripped upon it and had a really wonderful meal. Grat food and lovely venue- central once you know where it is but off beaten tourist track.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All is good!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

In fact it is brilliant!!!
All, service, food and environment are brilliant.
One of the most valuable restaurants that I can recommend in Izmir and in a walking distance...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carl_tt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Le Cigale is casual cafe&restaurant.They serve from world cuisine also at weekdays Turkish cuisine is served in open buffet.Sometimes it is so crowded that you have to make reservations at nights.Their service is good

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank bernlils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great choice”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were recommended La Cigale (on the water) by the hotel and we were not disappointed. Great food and service and a very nice area.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PaskyJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good family place and nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

It's hard to get to at first. You have to find this small, dark street that seems to consist of dingy apartment buildings. In fact, we had given up on finding it and were walking away when we found it.

It's very nicely decorated, with colorful lanterns in the yard and comfortable furniture inside. Another plus is the music -According to my parents- which is 'good' music without rap or auto-tune. There's also a nifty buzzer with a button for service, and another button to call for the check.

The food is fantastic. I had a four cheese pasta, and my whole family ended up sampling it. Even my father, who doesn't generally like pasta- said it was really delicious. The only thing they lacked- and this is the reason the rating is 'Very Good' instead of excellent- is chocolate sufle.

(Sorry if I used a ton of 'very's and my paragraphs didn't make any sense, I'm practically sleeping. XD)

Helpful?
1 Thank Ana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed By Cicogna also viewed

Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing