We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish in a good location”
Review of Deniz Restaurant

Deniz Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 2,593 Restaurants in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Great Barrington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
136 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in a good location”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently ate here on a visit to Izmir. The restaurant is located on a lovely walkway by the sea, tables are outside or inside. THey have the usual variety of mezzes, followed by nice fresh fish. Service is perfectly attentive and everything was nice and clean. We left a little earlier than planned, a man at the next table was befouling the air with an enormous cigar - think he may have been the owner, so nothing to do but leave. But overall, it was a fine, if unremarkable meal, in a terrific setting.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wywyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    162
    62
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Allison Park
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful evening, delicious fish, excellent service”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

It was great to be outside on a beautiful evening, enjoying calamari, shrimp, octopus and other meze before our main course of red snapper and red mullet. These were accompanied by many glasses of raki, traditional with fish according to my Turkish colleagues. However, I think that I would have liked the meal even more with a good white wine. The red snapper was rather bland (perhaps overwhelmed by the raki), but the red mullet and all the shellfish dishes were truly excellent. I hope to try Deniz again next time I visit Izmir.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schoffpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent fish, attentive service, high prices”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Most reviewers have already said it--the grilled fish here is superb. We had an excellent levrek (sea bass) for the whole family, as well as several orders of the grilled calamari because they were so tasty. Meze were good without being remarkable.

Our waiter was extremely competent and professional, appearing out of nowhere whenever the wine glasses were empty and able to remember all manner of additional or changed orders despite the intense Saturday night bustle of the restaurant. He (or perhaps the kitchen staff) cleaned and plated the fish extremely well. Overall, he didn't miss a beat.

And the restaurant has nice outdoor waterfront setting, too. Of course if you order wine here, and a big old hunk of fish, like we did, then you have to be prepared to pay very high prices!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
como
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a good balance between food and value”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

In my opinion (and after more than ten dinners there) is the best in Izmir in terms of fish. A very large choice and a solid quality in cooking. The starters are fantastic (my suggestion is the yougurt-made starters and the marinated sea bass, really a must!). The fish (as usual in Turkey you have to choose it inside the restaurant) is more than fresh and very good. The service is a bet! The place is every day crowded and the quality of the service depends on your lucky day. Anyway the level is on avarege good even if sometime you must ask more than one time before having the attention of a waiter. A large choice of wine even if I prefer the Turkish habit to dine drinking Raki.
The price is at the mid - high leven of the category, it depends on your choice of fish and wines but it remains a very positive experience, especially when you dine during the sunset.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maurizio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istsnbul
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A lovely seaside evening”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Staff was very good and responsive. Found us a table on a crowded night without a reservation. We asked them to select the wines since we don't know Turkish wines. They served us very good and yet reasonably priced wines. Fish was of course superb but it was the relaxed atmosshere in a superbly run restaurant that made the evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Deniz Restaurant also viewed

 
Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Deniz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing