We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting room, nice pool, poor business practices”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Interesting room, nice pool, poor business practices”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here a couple nights prior to a tour. As friends gathered, we grabbed a table at one of the hotel's restaurants and had dinner. I bought a bottle of wine for the table. When the tab came, the already-inflated published price of the bottle had been added to by a significant amount. I challenged it in a culturally sensitive manner, and they fixed it, but without an apology.

The restaurant system was computerized, and in my opinion it was a manual price override - a clear attempt to bilk us of even more than they were already extracting . If you decide to go, enjoy the place, but watch your wallet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadtripper111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback. In order to learn more about your experience during your stay please contact us through guestrelations.izmir@swissotel.com or +90 232 414 51 76. Looking forward welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,406
    313
    67
    18
    31
See reviews for
320
409
91
803
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We stayed here as part of our Insight Vacation Turkey tour. I will review this hotel by using just one word - fantastic. Fantastic location - a short walk to the city center and the waterfront. Fantastic landscaped garden - especially at night. Fantastic room - spacious and clean. Fantasist service - the staffs were just all wonderful. Fantastic food - both breakfast and dinner buffets. Fantastic Sky Bar - must visit for the experience. It was absolutely a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Travelnuts101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

The Swiss hotel is very nice locatated, with a good garden. Breakfast with a lot of choies. Turkish and europian food. Athmosphere is very relaxed. Spa and swimmigpool is beautifull. The rooms are spacious and with exellent bathrooms. They were also clean, fresh and everything was considered for: toothbrush, soaps, shower gel. scrubsalt. I really liked the weloming plate of fruit and bottle of wine...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Ada R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us. Your comments are very important for our team to monitor our services as well as to achieve and maintain service excellence. We hope to see you again in Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Izmir.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfville
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Hotel is superior in everyday and the entire staff made our conference stay of 6 days an absolute pleasure. They anticipated our needs and took care of details quickly and professionally. Hotel is located near the waterfront so walking and shopping are nearby also. Overall a great experience and I would recommend this hotel highly and would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your post and your comments. We are happy to see that you had a pleasant stay with us and went home with nice memories of Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Izmir.
We truly appreciate your valuable feedback about our services. It's very important for us to get feedbacks from your experiences. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staying at this property was a delightful experience! Hotel staff provided excellent service and attention. The facility was well maintained and attractively appointed. Food selection/variety was superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for spending your precious time to share your kind feedback. We appreciate your valuable comments.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future and hope to host you again in Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Izmir.


Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a very good Hotel with excellent facilities, well trained and courteous staff. The Hotel is well maintained with state of the heart materials. The only shortcoming seems to be in the area of menu served which did not cater for all the wide range of International clients!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank BOO25918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding our hotel and staff during your visit. We are delighted to hear that you were happy with our property.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2014

it was a great pleasure staying at the hotel I stayed there for 3 nights, for vegetarians they have very less to offer, amenities are too good swimming pool is maintained very well should try once!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kaushal Sukumar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rıza E, Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us. Your comments are very important for our team to monitor our services as well as to achieve and maintain service excellence. We hope to see you again in Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Izmir.

Best Regards,
Swissôtel Büyük Efes, Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 97 in Izmir
1,308 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 97 in Izmir
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Property: Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing