We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel i've stayed in!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Of course we were happy as we were unexpectedly upgraded to a suite (with club room access)! The front desk staff are very friendly and welcoming and you get the feeling you are truly welcome! The rooms were modern and very complete with amenities (even a Nespresso machine in the room) and Molton Brown toiletries. I tried the Turkish Bath at the Hamam in their spa and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The sauna and steam rooms were free for everyone to use. Breakfast and cocktails at the Club room were adequate (breakfast at the main coffee shop was more exciting). Walked to the Plaza across the street for a nice stroll by the water (lots of nice seafood restaurants there too, all walking distance). All in all we were very, very happy we chose to stay here!

Room Tip: Rooms either overlook the garden and pool or the water. Both are equally excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iamjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

905 - 911 of 1,922 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2012

A pity that I could stay only one night at this lovely property close to the sea front in Izmir
Staff are very well trained ,extremely courteous and helpful and speak good English.
Rooms are large and well appointed . Buffet breakfast was a delight and good variety of food
on offer .
Check in / Check out was quick and efficient. Dinner at Aquarium was above average but good value .Better than getting ripped off at the seaside restaurants! All in all a superb hotel and a very relaxing stay.
Will go back again!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HariVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Large hotel in better area of waterfron in Izmir. Great pool and interior gardens for urban center hotel. Great spa area. Modern styled rooms.

The hotel has a restuarant and bar on the top floor with great view, however it isn't open every day. The hotel's size seems to be its detriment. Its floor plan is by towers, or blocs as they hotel labels them. Ask for a bloc nearer the front desk, or you'll spend several minutes hiking to/from your room.

Cons: our room had two single sized beds, with plastic liners for mattress pads. In the morning, we discoved neither us slept well..having woken several times at night in sweat from a non-breathing mattress. I think we were in a kids room, since we had adjoining room door, that would explain the plastic mattress pad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelpods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gefes, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

We are deeply sorry to hear that a guest who stayed with us felt uncomfortable. We search every possible way to make our guests feel comfortable during their stay. The equipment we use in our rooms are designed considering the environment. Bed linens, liners and covers that are used in Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir are made of hundred per cent cotton. The kids room that we offer in our property is designed entirely for the kids aged between 3 to 17 . It is full of toys and its difference from adult rooms is easily noticeable.
Our top roof restaurant Equinox which offers its guests modern style preperations of fish and meat dishes is open every day except sundays.
We hope to welcome you again in Swissotel Grand Efes and promise to do our best to make your stay an unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Surprised with the parking fee request, complained and didn't pay.

Room Tip: Do not pay parking fee if they request. There is nothing they can do, it's not legal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank areels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

An absolutely stunning property, with any service or amenity you could possibly imagine needing. Though you certainly pay for what you get, the service and overall experience made the total bill worth while. The only thing that dissapointed us was the broken air-conditioner in the room. Service personel were sent to our room multiple times in an attempt to fix it, but we ended up not being able to enjoy any cool air during the entire duration of our stay. Good thing Izmir is such an amazing city, and we did not require spending too much time in the room. Despite this inconvenince, our stay was an overall great experience!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rm2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in Swissotel Izmir; it is absolutely luxurious, located in heart of city neighboring the Kordonboyu (which is the walking street of Izmir at the seaside with many fish restaurants and pubs)
Rooms are well-designed and quite spacious for a city hotel, actually although it is a city hotel has large gardens which you forget you are in the heart of a crowded city.
Pool and saunas are very well.
It has a spacious breakfast lounge with a terrace sitting area also there are heat lamps in the terrace which enable you to have your breakfast in fresh morning air with the nice view of gardens.
Staffs are so professional.
We didn’t use executive lounge and aquarium restaurant.

Room Tip: Hotel consists of three blocks, we were in block C and our room had the view of gardens (labeled as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AydinTBZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Believe it or not, my mom lives in Izmir, we have a home in Izmir but since we spent two days with our daughter in Swiss Hotel back in 2010, we prefer to stay in Swiss Hotel yet my daughter insist... It was trully a real joy to stay in Swiss specially with kids.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Serkan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 98 in Izmir
1,407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 98 in Izmir
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range: $102 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing