We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxe + Serenity + Convenience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Ranked #1 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Luxe + Serenity + Convenience”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We got upgraded to a business suite instead of a regular triple room that's usually standard for the tour. It was spacious and well-kempt. The ante-room had a breakfast nook complete with a Nespresso machine with complementary coffee bullets and glass bottles of fresh water. There was also a spacious living room set, office and extra bed setup in the anteroom. The main bedroom is separated with a set of sliding doors and the bed was large and comfy. Both rooms had a balcony overlooking the pool and courtyard. The bathroom featured all marble fixtures, his/her sinks as well as separate tub and bath, with excellent amenities selection. Dinner was quite good, the mint panna cotta was particularly tasty. Breakfast was so-so, but better compared to a lot of the other hotels we stayed at in Turkey.

Room Tip: Try to get upgraded :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eveiveneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,405
    313
    67
    17
    31
See reviews for
320
409
91
801
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

We booked two rooms here and the staff kindly gave us adjoining rooms which is what I had requested. Check in was smooth and quick and the rooms were clean and well laid out and included a desk. Bathroom was a delight. There was a pillow menu and my request for a foam pillow (not keen on the ubiquitous feather pillows in 5 star hotels now) was quickly met. They had some lovely herbal teas to try as well.

The kids quickly decided that the pool was the place to be. The service at the pool was excellent with towels and water provided automatically. The best thing, however was the pool itself - perfect temperature and with the interesting windows below the surface. The gardens are quite beautiful. My husband found the gym met all his requirements.

The Business Centre allowed free internet access - including 'english' keyboards.

Breakfast was a smorgasbord of turkish and western breakfast foods including juices, cereals, breads, egg and meat dishes, nuts, cold cuts - really everything we wanted.

Location was good for us - short walk to the waterfront and another short walk to the shopping and business areas. There is a great Pasebache glass shop next door. We loved the market (a bit of a longer walk) - it seemed more authentic than the Grand Bazaar (prices were better also). We found an excellent kebap place in one of the laneways just back from the waterfront. It was very busy but unfortunately I forget the name.

We were a little confused at check out because it took a while for us to understand that the hotel had already charged our credit card for half of the cost of the stay about one week before our stay. So the charge was only for the other half not the full amount. Anyway all sorted and we were on our way.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank sandrajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

No mistaking this for a Swissotel...efficient service, if perhaps a bit programmed. Clean, modern decor, if a bit "off" in the way many Swiss hotels are. Rooms are a decent size, well appointed and designed. The lighting in the rooms was definitely too dark for a business traveller (probably my biggest issue). Hotel is centrally located. Food is good. Internet is free. Pool looks fantastic, especially the way it is lit at night. This hotel wouldn't get top marks if it were in a city with better competition, but for Izmir, Swissotel is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Animal70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gefes, Public Relations Manager at Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your valuable feedback. I am happy to inform you that we are working on our guest rooms' lighting at the moment and hope to finalise it until the end of October 2011.
We look forward to welcoming you again in Swissôtel Grand Efes, Izmir very soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We loved everything in this hotel!! The executive suite was the perfect size for our family of 4 plus Grandma. There was a full bathroom with a jetted tub and another half bath in the room. Every little detail was attended to with toothpaste/brushes, bathrobes, slippers, loofah, cotton buds, etc. The food in the Executive lounge for tea and happy hour was delicious. Their breakfast buffet was elaborate and everything tasted wonderful. With both an indoor and outdoor pool, plus a playground, the kids stayed happy. The spa had any treatment you could want available (I recommend trying a Turkish Hamam) and there was also a beauty salon. The staff from the registration desk to the folks in the restaurant were always friendly and willing to help. My only complaint about the whole stay was the cost for the brunch buffet. The food was very good, but I felt it was overpriced. Next time we'll just eat somewhere else. Overall, I would definitely recommend staying at this property!

Room Tip: Spend the extra to stay in an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This hotel near the former Greek city of Smyrna was voted the best by my wife and travel buddies during our 2 week tour of Turkey. I found all the positive reviews in tripadvisor to be accurate for this hotel. Loved the grounds and pool. For breakfast, I like fresh juice however I found no hotel in Turkey knows how to squeeze fresh juice, including this one - a very minor issue. One thing that did intrigue me was the security at the front gate to the driveway had one of those wands with a mirror to check underneath cars entering the premises. Not the Hotel's fault but it was dissapointing to see such measures deemed necessary in Turkey.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yani51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We spent only one night there, but it was enough to give the impression of being far the best hotel in Izmir.
Only minus : long waiting time when checking in.

Room Tip: Garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AgnesbBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I have stayed in other 5 start Hotels in Izmir, but this one is by far the best. Great location with cordial and helpfull staff. Service and rooms are good. The fitness center is amazing. The outdoor swimming pool, "a must in the summer", is very nice. There is also a nice tennis court and lots of garden to walk about. The hotel is child friendly and my kids loved it. I go to Izmir every year to visit family and I am only staying in this hotel from now on.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MazzfMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#4 of 97 in Izmir
1,307 reviews
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 97 in Izmir
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir

Property: Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Address: Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 1 Alsancak, Izmir, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Izmir
#1 Spa Hotel in Izmir
#1 Business Hotel in Izmir
#1 Luxury Hotel in Izmir
#2 Romantic Hotel in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 402
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12.000 m² of landscaped gardens Swissotel Buyuk Efes, Izmir is a five-star deluxe hotel located in the heart of the city’s commercial hub and overlooking the spectacular Kordon Promenade, on Turkey’s Aegean Sea. Adnan Menderes International Airport is less than 10 miles (15 km) and 20 minutes away. Swissotel Buyuk Efes has 402 luxury rooms including 55 elegantly decorated suites At Swissotel Buyuk Efes the guests are presented an inspiring art collection from Fernando Botero to Turkey’s leading exponents of modern art throughout the hotel with more than 800 art masterpieces and a selection of traditional Turkish and contemporary cuisine in a variety of attractive restaurants & bar: Equinox, Cafe Swiss, Aquarium and Sky Bar. Equipped with the latest technology available Buyuk Efes Convention Center located in the hotel, is designed to host all kinds of meetings and conferences in an ideal setting. Over 5,500m², Purovel Spa&Sport provides the Alpine inspired solution to healthy living within a stylish and contemporary environment. Facilities include; 14 treatment rooms, a Presidential Wellness Suite for couple therapies, a hydrotherapy room, solarium, a relaxation lounge, Turkish Hammam, steam bath, sauna, jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor swimming pools, pilates studios, group fitness classes, personal training and a tennis court. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir Hotel Izmir
Swissotel Grand Efes Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing