We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exhellent family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Λαρισα
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Exhellent family hotel”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Double Tree Hotel by Hilton in Izmir Turkey is an exhellent hotel for families. It is very well situated in the center of Izmir and within walking distance of most sights. It is clean and wellcared for. Room service is very good and breakfast and meals are exhellent. The personnel is very friendly and the hotel manager is really friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _13_741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your valuable comment. We would like to see in our Hilton family again.


Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    141
    70
    20
    14
See reviews for
83
72
22
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
703 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 343 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

CONS:
- Health club, 24/7
- rooftop swimming pool, is not big, but very pleasant and quiet.
- Shower water temperature, constante temperature
- Air conditioner in the bedroom, very efficient and silent
- Internet available, free and fair speed
- Location, just a short walk away to city center, the bazar, exhibition center and seaside, etc.
- Carpark available and free
- Restaurants and bars. Good quality food with a turkish touch. And the Rooftop bar is a very pleasant place to relax.
- Amenities available in the toilet
- Amenities in the room, despite the paid minibar, free water bottle available.
- Room size. I stayed on one of the biggest rooms on the floor,(check blueprint picture attached). So I can´t complain about the size of the room.
- Towels in the bathroom. I like big towels and the towels available, are not the biggest ever, but very decent size.
- Price value
- Breakfast is very reasonable with a wide sellection of cold and hot food.


PROS:
- The downside of my stay was the check-in. It was the coldest check-in I ever experienced. I asked for some information regarding the open hours of fitness center and swimming pool, and the information I got from the gentleman on the reception was totally wrong. I found that later. Also I didn´t get my welcome cookie as usual on Double Trees Hotels, and I saw other guest with that. And I´ma HHonors member, I wasn´t received as one, even after showed my member card.


TO BE IMPROVED:
- Tv channels available, not much english channels and the signal fails quite often.
- General cleanness. Reporting this can be tricky, I can´t say the hotel in general was not clean, but two small details forces me to put this as a improving issue. Both details were in my room, I fond when I enter to the room for the first time a little piece of plastic on the floor and a smashed bug close to the bed on the wall. The plastic piece disappear on the second day, the smashed bug stayed during all my stay (5 days) check pictures attached.
- During my stay at night Izmir were little windy. All night I could hear the whistling wind on the corridor and under the door of my room. I guess this can be improved.
- Staff don´t speak english very well. In fact some of them almost don´t speak. I had some situations where was difficult to communicate with the people of the restaurant and bar.


DO I WILL RETURN?
Yes, can happen!


TAXI COST FROM/TO AIRPORT:
- Between 50 and 60 Turkish liras, roughly 20€

EXTRA NOTE:
- All week the hotel hold some events, every night a different one. I understand the Hotel have to make money, but this can disturb the guests, such on car parks, is small with limited places to park cars, easily can be full with just a few persons from the events. Also the "traffic jam" on the elevators, despite the 3 elevators available, easily a guest can be waiting several minutes for a free elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Henrique ,

First of all, thank you for your kindly comment but also for the hotel explanations. We will cope with to be mentioned problems by informing relevant departments. We would like to see you in hilton family again.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After staying with the Hilton Group before, I was disappointed with this property, despite in being relatively new. Welcome on arrival was good, a nice warm cookie, rooms were small, and the low ceilings made it more so small.
Bed was comfortable, windows opened, which is great. Carpet was stained ad not much room for luggage.
Dinner and brekkie buffet was great but beverage service in the evening and morning was average.
We had a long day on the road, and we were tired. It would be beneficial to put them through a Peopleology style course.
Overall an ok hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your comment is one of the most important aspect for our loyalty. We will deliver your complain to relevant departmants as soon as possible in order to gain your loyalty. Thus, for next time we ll be ready for your happiness.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
İzmir, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2014

it has small rooms, old bathrooms (the door lock was broken and wc doesn't function smoothly). there was no clean carpet for praying. At the hotel there is just one seccade and if someone used it, you have to pray on a towel. the staff don't know the qıbla sign. You should ask it to reception and they guide you about the way on the phone. It was vey interesting.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Melek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ecodiver,

Initially, thank you for your kind comments. Fortunately, we will deliver your basic problems to relevant departments. We hope to see you again in Hilton family.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 607 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir Hotel is close to the city center and the sea. It is a very nice hotel with clean and quite big rooms. Its personnel is very kind and helpful. Its restaurant offers quite good quality. Breakfast is also very good, combining both Turkish and Continental style. There is only one disadvantage: Quite high prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgios G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın Georgios,

Yazmış olduğunuz yorumlardan dolayı size teşekkür eder, en yakın zamanda sizleri yeniden otelimizde görmek isteriz.

Saygılarımla,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was the 3rd hotel of our tour. Decent location, about a 10 minute walk from the Kordon section of the harbor. The staff was friendly and attentive. The spa and sauna were nice. The room was clean but generic. We didn't get a wake-up call, one of the areas where the staff fell short along with dining. They clearly weren't used to several large groups coming in and there was a lot of chaos in the restaurant at dinner. The space is quite small for that many people, even taking into consideration the buffet was not large. The food was average, not as good as I'd experienced at other properties. The rooftop is a nice place to hang out and enjoy the view. And it was nice to have a safe in the closet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ecodiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookie719, Satış Müdürü at DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Ecodiver,

Initially, thank you for your kind comments. Fortunately, we will deliver your basic problems to relevant departments. We hope to see you again in Hilton family.

Kind Regards,
Elvan Çekirge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

On arrival, our tour group was offered freshly baked chocolate cookies. The packets said Double Tree by Hilton. So did some other items in the rooms. However a search of the Hilton website failed to find this location. So I am guessing they are still using old inventory from when it was a Double Tree. The standards appear to have been retained, with quality rooms and above average meals. For the budget conscious, there is a supermarket a block and a half away which sells alcohol much cheaper than the minibar. The rooftop pool was empty. The hotel is centrally located, a short walk from the bustling waterfront area. Had to make inquiries with reception about logging on to the free wifi. And with multiple devices, we seemed to get kicked off regularly and having to log in again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bundybear61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 97 in Izmir
1,308 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.3 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
1.0 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#12 of 97 in Izmir
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Address: Ismet Kaptan Mahallesi 1373 Sk. N5 Konak, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 97 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing