We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleased”
Review of Guzel Izmir Oteli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Guzel Izmir Oteli
Ranked #47 of 92 Izmir B&B and Inns
Santorini, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very pleased”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I came with my friends for one night excepting something bad for that price. Instead of that we saw a kind and helpfull stuff, great breakfast, clean rooms and great location!i definitely recommend it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spyra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Sahibi at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Very glad to hear your thoughts please visit us again. We are here to serve you.

Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    46
    36
    17
    19
See reviews for
19
37
62
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel has a great location right near the Basmane train station and not far at all from the rest of the city center. The room is very very small but all we really needed it for was sleep anyway. The people at reception were extremely kind and helpful. They went through the map with you, what you could see, where you could eat. Spoke English well. Breakfast was a typical Turkish breakfast but included :)

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Aconsig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Yönetici at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Many thanks for taking time to write your opinion.

We are here to serve you in best possible way.

Regards

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

This place was perfect for my needs being a couple of minutes walk from Basmane train station, and walkable to everywhere else a tourist might explore. I rocked up on the day and was easily able to get a room for amazing value. It is basic and small, but clean and what you would expect from a budget hotel. It seems to stand apart from more unseemly places surrounding. The best thing to recommend this hotel is the friendly and effusive service provided by reception. Orhan is extremely helpful and welcoming to guests, giving you a taste of Turkish hospitality in his impeccable (American) English.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urban_polyamory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am so glad that you had a good service @ guzel izmir hotel. I am very glad that you enjoyed your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Convieniently located right next to Basmane train station, walking distance to coastline, clocktower, and bazaar... Rooms are clean and of the standard you would expect for the price. Shower was noticably cooler in morning than evening but still adequate. Staff are polite and proffessional, a couple of which speak English well. The only major problem was the noise; could hear everything in the hallway outside and the waterpipe sounds from the neighbouring rooms (even with earplugs). Not great if you are a light sleeper...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r0bjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Taking the time to write your feedback of your stay means so much to us. We are pleased you were able to find our rooms up to your cleaning standards. Our hotel is a budget hotel located in the city center of Izmir. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. Thank you for choosing Guzel Izmir Hotel as your stay while visiting our beautiful city Izmir. Hope to host you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sinem Kurtural
Owner & Operator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here in July last year.

The room was small but comfortable (albeit a bit noisy, given that I was right next to the first floor landing on the stairs), with a good bed and bathroom, and everything was clean. The breakfast was quite reasonable -- more than I expected, which was a nice surprise. That said, I was there fairly early: some later arrivals found there wasn't much free space in the breakfast area, and had to wait while the buffet was resupplied.

So all up, the hotel was decent, hence I'm giving it decent points in most categories.

But, in the last few months, I've been receiving regular promotional emails from the hotel (in Turkish, with no unsubscribe link). I never gave them permission to email me their marketing materials, and I don't even recall writing down my email address for them, so I suspect they've taken it from the online booking site that I used.

Personally, that's enough to convince me not stay here again if I'm ever back in Izmir: you don't spam your customers. But if you do stay here, I suggest giving them a fake email address so you don't get all their promotional crap in your inbox (or, in my case, spam folder, since Gmail's spam filters have now learned that anything from them is unwanted spam).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
I am very sorry that my mailing bothered you this much. If you have read on the top of the page there is unsuscribe button as well as on the bottom of the page there is unsuscribe button. Plus my mailings are both in English and Turkish and they are not promotinal crap as you have mentioned. I email new years cards and xmas crads and fairs in the city. As well as spam if you want to mark it spam is written on the top of the message. Plus my mailing started on Jan 2013 and I send emails to my guests and pontential guests only twice a month. This is practiced by many hotels. We are sorry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Izmir hotels

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I think is a good hotel for the moments when you are in transit. Cheap comparing with other hotels, close to downtown and Konak... the promenade area in Izmir. Also close to bazar. I heared people complaining of the noises of traffic etc.... well Izmir is a big city and hotel is a budget one. So .. wear your earplugs if you cannt sleep easyly and enjoy:) Receptionist is a good english speaker and helpfull!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive remarks of your stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you and it is guest's such as yourself that make to buisness a great one. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Orhan Yıldız
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as a base to visit Ephesus. The staff, in particular the young man who speaks excellent English, were extremely helpful and arranged the excellent day tour for us, which included guided tour of Ephesus and demonstrations of ceramic making and carpet weaving, with no pressure to buy. Also a delicious traditional Turkish lunch. The staff also helped us with the timetable for the airport train, which costs 2.50TL. Our room (202) was VERY small, barely room for the cases and likewise the bathroom was very small. While the room's decor is outdated and it smelled of cigarette smoke for the first day, it was clean and adequate. The light was a bit dim, but the free wifi worked well. Breakfast was basic but adequate. We asked reception for a good place to eat and he recommended a place where we had soup and main course, with bread, water and apple tea for 30TL. As two women we felt safe walking in this neighborhood at night. This accommodation was very cheap, so for the price it was fine.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennyg1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Guzel Izmir Hotel for your stay. Your feedback is very important to us.
Our strongest focus is 100% guest stisfaction. We are a family owned budget hotel with English speaking Reception staff located in the city center close to all Izmir attractions, We look to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,

Sinem Kurtural
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#21 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#14 of 96 in Izmir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
8.8 mi away
Orty Airport Hotel
Orty Airport Hotel
#13 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guzel Izmir Oteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guzel Izmir Oteli

Property: Guzel Izmir Oteli
Address: Fevzi Pasa Bulvari 1368 Sok No:8 Basmane, Izmir 35230, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 92 B&Bs / Inns in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Guzel Izmir Oteli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Izmir City. Café, Fitness Room, Darts, Terrace garden, free open buffet breakfast, Free WI-FI, TV lounge. Free library in many languages. Across from Izmir International fair and Basmane Train station connected to airport. All rooms have mini fridge, hair dryer, wc, shower, satellite TV and air conditioner free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Guzel Izmir Oteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guzel Izmir Oteli Hotel Izmir
Guzel Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing