We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for budget travelers!”
Review of Guzel Izmir Oteli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Guzel Izmir Oteli
Ranked #49 of 99 Izmir B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This unpretentious hotel is in a central location, within walking distance of major attractions and close to the train station for excursions to other cities. The rooms are small, but clean and the staff is helpful and friendly. Breakfast is adequate, if unexciting. I recommend it highly for basic comforts and very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrammarCop747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much. We hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Hotel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Guzel Izmir Oteli
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed in this hotel on two occasions and can absolutely recommend it to travelers. The breakfast is fresh and delicious, my room was clean and had both a refrigerator (a pleasant surprise) and a television. Good a/c, good water pressure, quiet atmosphere. The cost was remarkable for a single room. Most often, single travelers have to pay a double room rate, but here I was able to take a single and this saved me a lot of money.

An important thing to note is that the staff is friendly but professional. Friendly in Turkey can often mean "too friendly"--such as hassling you for tours, or ceaseless flirting. This was not the case here, thank goodness! The staff at Guzel Oteli remained kind and helpful, but were respectful of professional boundaries and guest privacy.

Another reviewer mentioned the hotel wasn't a safe location, which is absurd. It's surrounded by hotels, restaurants, and shops. I'm a single woman and I never felt uncomfortable in this area. The hotel is close to a huge, beautiful park with a running trail. (Or, if you'd rather run indoors, the hotel has a fitness center.) The location is very convenient as it's in walking distance to the waterfront, and very close to the metro, train station, and bus service to the coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ProfAtLarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2012

Thank very much for your taking the time to write a responce for Guzel Izmir Hotel. It means a lot for me and my team to read this. We try to do our best. We are not a luxury hotel so with th eminimum we try to offer the maximum. We hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Oteli.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very friendly staff and very clean! It was a great place to stay and very accommodating to our short stay. They even gave us exact directions to the shuttles we needed. Loved the receptionist, he was very helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nhussai2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2012

Thank you ver much for your nice thoughts and reviewing Guzel Izmir Hotel. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Hotel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here on two separate occasions - once while travelling down from Istanbul to the area around Ephesus and once on the way back up. Both times we had the same room which was very good. The air conditioning was good and the staff were very friendly. We didn't spend a great deal of time in Izmir and so gained a limited idea as to where the main shopping/tourist areas were. However, the hotel appeared to be within walking distance of them. Free breakfast was provided, but unfortunately we left the hotel really early each time and so were unable to try it. There is gym equipment, which was very limited, and a darts board, which was very fun! The hotel is a minute away from Basmane train station. If you're getting the train from Bandirma and end up in Alsancak, it's about half an hour walk away from the hotel. Price was great.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank officeface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

It was pleasure to read your comments. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Otel. Have a great day. Regards.

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great value for money - very good location, clean with air-conditioning. We had a tour pick-up at 730 am so the fact that breakfast was only from 8am onwards was a bit disappointing - they could have accomodated us better by offering to provide breakfast at 715 at least. Otherwise, staff were very friendly and helpful. Free internet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you very much for staying with us. With our staff we try to act as a great team to make our guests happy. Hope to host you againg @ Guzel Izmir Otel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

The Guzel Izmir Oteli was a good hotel for the price, so I'm not going to say it was horrible.

The staff were extremely helpful, and one of them even spoke fluent English, their breakfast in the mornings was okay, if a little basic, but then if you think about it your not paying that much so then the breakfast is okay.

The rooms were clean, which a little exception of the bathroom my wife had issues showering in there due to the mould that could be seen in the shower, but i'm sure it could be cleaned a little better, and it was annoying how the toilet was just under the shower so it was soaked every time you showered.

They had wifi in the rooms which was a big plus, and the location couldn't of been more perfect, they had a train station near by, and almost the bus booking offices are at the end of their small street which was perfect when it came to catch busses elsewhere.

And most of all they had a great lounge downstairs with sat tv in which we could watch the Euro 2012 games.

Room Tip: Their twin rooms facing the street are large, try getting one of those, or else their other rooms ar...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lanekau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Thank you very much for your responce. We try our best to keep our guests happy with fresh breakfast and clean rooms and warm, welcoming staff with fluent English. Hope to host you again @ Guzel Izmir Otel.

Best Regards

Sinem Kurtural

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel's photos you find in internet must have been taken by a professional photographer because when you arrive there and see the place for yourself it is different from what you were thinking. The building is shabby and the rooms are very small and unconfortable. Bathrooms are tiny with no windows. I was traveling with my mum and we got a double ensuite but I would not go there again. The only good point is location, close to the train station but around this hotel and even in the same road there are at least other 20 places. I would definitely go somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Check few rooms before choosing one.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simona P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guzelizmirotel, Owner at Guzel Izmir Oteli, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2012

I am very sorry here about your experience @ Guzel Izmir. We are a budget hotel our strenght is our LOCATION, BREAKFAST and FLUENT ENGLISH speaking STAFF. Some of my rooms are small . Our pictures reflect the truth I took them. I did not hire any photograher infact they are taken by my I phone.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#24 of 96 in Izmir
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baylan
Hotel Baylan
#14 of 96 in Izmir
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Anemon Izmir Hotel
Anemon Izmir Hotel
#36 of 96 in Izmir
151 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 96 in Izmir
294 reviews
0.2 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#47 of 96 in Izmir
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guzel Izmir Oteli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guzel Izmir Oteli

Address: Fevzi Pasa Bulvari 1368 Sok No:8 Basmane, Izmir 35230, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Izmir
Price Range: $19 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Guzel Izmir Oteli 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of Izmir City. Café, Fitness Room, Darts, Terrace garden, free open buffet breakfast, Free WI-FI, TV lounge. Free library in many languages. Across from Izmir International fair and Basmane Train station connected to airport. All rooms have mini fridge, hair dryer, wc, shower, satellite TV and air conditioner free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Guzel Izmir Oteli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guzel Izmir Oteli Hotel Izmir
Guzel Hotel Izmir

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing