We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to escape when not out & about.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

When you're a visiting a city that's not your own, where you stay is just as important as why you're there. Being our first time in Izmir, my friend and I chose the Renaissance by virtue of it being open for just 5 weeks as of the timing of our stay. Not only were we able to take advantage of the spectacularly low rates for a hotel of this calibre, we also enjoyed all the comforts and perks.

The front reception team was amazing. Helpful, friendly and quick to respond to any ask or hint of an issue. They made it a point to remember us and always asked how our day or stay was, and if there was anything they could do for us.

Our room was great for the most part. I've never stayed in a more sound and light-proof room in my life. Not a peep from either outside or the hallway made it into our room. And we could sleep as long as we needed to without the intrusion of sunlight in the mornings. The beds were super cozy and the room was quite comfortable. We had wifi and loved that we could make coffee each morning. The only oddity we found was the design of the shower. Being a double room and staying there as friends and not a couple, it was a bit odd to have a window between the shower and the main room. If you're rooming with a co-worker...it's gonna be awkward (unless you're into your co-worker, in which case consider it a bonus).

Since food usually follows sleep, let's move on to the restaurant. The menu is moderate, but the food is amazing. The manager and staff are friendly and know how to deliver on a wonderful dining experience. The terrace deck is also a fantastic area to dine or unwind with a cocktail and snacks. Although we didn't take advantage of the breakfast buffet, every other guest raved about it.

Now for my personal favourite - the spa. We opted for massages. The therapist was very friendly and skilled. The jet pool was awesome and always 90 degrees. And you can't go wrong with a quick sauna or steam. Our only regret was not indulging in the traditional Turkish bath experience.

Lastly, it's equally important to note that the hotel's location is super awesome. Walking distance to the waterfront, market, shopping and a multitude of dining options. There's also a supermarket and convenience store just around the corner.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely do it again should we find ourselves back in Izmir again some day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tanyams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Tanyams,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review after your stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hote. It is such a pleasure to read your description of your experience and I am so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

I hope next time you are in Izmir, you will have a chance to try our amazing Hamam treatment and we will definitely find a solution to provide you with a Jalousie for your shower window.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (381)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 381 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

Renaissance hotel part of the Marriot group is located close to the Izmir seaside bay.
the hotel is new and has a charmfull interior design.
The rooms are spacely and excellently equipped and offers a big flat screen tv,aswell free WiFi.
the friendliness and service minded personnel is remarkably good.
The breakfast service on the 8th floor provides excellent choice of food,and a nice view over the town.
Outside service on the balcony is possible.
The construction of the hotel guarantee zero streetnoise in your room (third floor)
Price/quality standard is outstanding

Room Tip: believe every room is recommended,especially the free noise conditions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George A, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Mr. Gerard H,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay at the Renaissance Izmir Hotel.
We are very pleased to learn that you were satisfied with your stay. We highly appreciate your nice comments about our hotel and service. Please note that your opinion is very important for us and your review is shared with our team for encouragement and improvement.

I would like to thank you for choosing the Renaissance Izmir Hotel and looking forward to welcoming you back at the near future.

Warm regards

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

The staff here is really great. It is a new hotel and has a few growing pains, but the staff is determined to make things right. We checked in late at night and had a rough first night. The next morning the general manager asked us how we liked our stay so far and since I had only gotten about 3 hours of sleep I told him how uncomfortable I thought the bed was. Well he came up with a solution of putting the same bedding that was on top of the bed under the fitted sheet. It worked perfectly.

While this trip was a vacation, I normally travel for business. That said, because the club lounge is off the lobby I doubt I would stay there if I were traveling alone on business. There are outlets, but no desk type tables for your devices so all typing must be done on your lap. That and unlike when the club lounge is in an upstairs room that feels more safe for a female traveler are reasons why I wouldn't consider staying there if I was traveling for work.

BTW the breakfast Buffett is excellent.

Room Tip: Go for a club level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sookiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Ms. Sookiez,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am so glad to learn that you were satisfied with your stay and I appreciate your detailed comments and feedback. I am happy to see that softening the bed up to your need worked successfuly and very sorry to hear that you were working unconfortable in the lobby lounge having the computer on your lap, I wish I have known this because we have higher tables just in the next section of the lobby. We started informing guests working on computers about this option.

I also would like to thank you for the nice comments about our staff and Breakfast Buffet, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I was in Izmir for several days during the 1st week of September. I was one of the first few guests at this property. I was treated like royality. The rooms are spacious, esp compared to European hotels in the area, and the hotel was very clean. The breakfast was delightful!

The hotel is located two blocks from the sea walk....with wonderful dining options...and also close to the Hilton, Swiss Hotel and shopping bazarr.

A wonderful hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCKey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Mr. JCKey,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is such a pleasure to read your letter and I am so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and we look forward to welcoming you back very shortly.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is a new hotel, well built and designed and tastefully decorated. The location is perfect: in the main avenue, short walking distance from Kordon, the walkway on the water where most restaurants and bars of Izmir are located, the Bazaar, and a few steps from the airport buses.
The rooms are of medium large sizes with excellent services. Sound proofing was excellent, having multiple layers of window. The club room on the first floor was first class with superb offering of appetizers and desserts and great service. The staff was truly outstanding: young, enthusiastic, eager to please and very helpful. Overall one the best hotel experience in recent years.

Room Tip: I believe that there should be little difference in room location. Even on a busy street, the soundp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marcopolo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Dear Mr. Marcopolo111,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; you certainly have an eye for details and I have enjoyed reading your description to the hotel and the services we provided.

I am glad to see that we have lived up to your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Izmir.

Sincerely yours,

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I got to this new hotel in Izmir on the 1st of September and was the first guest ! I was not expecting that I was greeted by all the hotel employees and the special Marriott Staff as the first guest !

After a welcome drink, pictures with the GM I was given a tour of the hotel and we started at the 8th floor at the rooftop restaurant. Very nice and modern restaurant with a lounge area outside with partly some sea view. Breakfast is served in the morning (buffet style) in this restaurant which has good and enough choices. The chef is ready to take any special egg orders or pancakes..

In the lobby you have a small lounge bar where they have cocktail time including some snacks. Soft drinks and coffee is free all day for the folks who booked the club rooms.

The hotel has 11 floors with 3 floors underground.
-1 is meeting rooms
-2 is Pool and Spa, turkish bath and sauna (very nice)
-3 is Gym area with 2 professional trainers (3 running machines, 2 steppers, weights, machines all technogym with TV and more)

I'm staying in a club room which is great ! very hip and modern decorated. Big shower room with a Turkish washing bowl area, normal shower and rain shower. Separate toilet and a separate sink area. The rooms are really nice.

The staff is extremely nice and helpful. The team is very young and they are extremely enthusiastic. The GM is a very nice guy and wants to make this place to a big success. Seeing him and his team he will probably succeed.

Perfect location where it all happens. Restaurants and bars next door and 100 metres from the boulevard. I can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busy_Traveller_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeAssaf, General Manager at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dearest "Busy Traveler 1972",

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. It is such a pleasure to read your letter and I am so glad to learn that we have lived up to your expectations, comments and details like these are encouraging us to do more and makes us very proud of our hotel and team.

Your review is very valuable to us and we have shared it with the entire team.

Again thank you very much and I was honored and pleased to have met you.

Kind regards

George Assaf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Ozgur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volkan D, Yönetici at Renaissance Izmir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#8 of 100 in Izmir
1,452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.3 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#4 of 100 in Izmir
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Izmir Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Izmir Hotel

Address: Akdeniz Mah. Gaziosmanpasa Bulvari No: 16 | Konak, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: $71 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Izmir Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Izmir Hotel is a metropolis in the Anatolian part of Turkey and a popular destination for its Mediterranean climate. We are a popular hotel in Izmir that sits centrally located in the heart of the city's commercial district, steps from the water front, the Kordon Promenade. You cannot miss the charming outside facade of the hotel when you are in Gaziosmanpasa Boulevard. Renaissance Hotel is the signature lifestyle brand within the Marriott International family. The 110 large and sophisticated guestrooms boast luxury bedding and the latest technologies. Luxury bathrooms feature spacious shower with a traditional Bathing Basin, "Kurna." All-day dining restaurant serving Mediterranean delights is located on the rooftop and the terrace offering sweeping views of Izmir Bay. Leisure facilities include a fitness, spa, Turkish Hammam and plunge pool. This hotel in Izmir is designed to meet most demanding requirements of today's travelers and meeting organizers with 3,229 square feet of meeting space and a dedicated business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Izmir Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing