We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and neat, clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Baylan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Baylan
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Great location and neat, clean hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Had stayed here for 2 nights during a recent trip. I had decided to stay at Izmir and cover Ephesus from Izmir. I also used it as my a starting point for a trip to Denizli and hence Pamukkale. The best part about the hotel is the location, right next to the Basmane Gar. Basmane is a key railway station at Izmir. This was helpful as we could take direct trains to Selcuk and Denizli from this station

The hotel itself is located exactly 2 minutes walk away once you get off the train. We had taken a flight from Istanbul to Izmir and had arranged for a pickup from the hotel. The pickup was efficient and on time, even though our flight landed at 2300. The check in was done quickly and the free wi-fi is a great bonus

We stayed in the Agora room on the 4th floor and it was a nice spacious room with a comfy bed. As a plus, it had a balcony as well. Since this was winter time, the heating was also spot on and we were very comfortable inside the room.

The major clientelle of the hotel seem to be local people travelling to Izmir for work and hence the atmosphere is very professional. The breakfast spread is also nice and the breads very freshly baked in the morning. The breakfast is also on till 1030, which is a boon for late risers. The other advantage of the location is that the Metro station is also close by and even though the hotel is not located within the traditional city center, you can always take the metro to the city center

Will definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to cover Ephesus and not stay at Selcuk

Room Tip: Take the Agora room at the top floor. Nice views from the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank KetanMohile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    69
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
50
55
26
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Good hotel, delicious breakfast, great staff, everything new and shiny and for a very cheap price. Even if in theory it's a 2 star hotel, don't believe it, is 3 star without doubt for the standards. Would reccomend it without doubt.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank tamerlan_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tølløse
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

We have just arrived to Denmark after 5 nights on Baylan Hotel.
We found the hotel on the internet and were very happy and surprised about the nice, comfortable and clean hotel.
Every morning we enjoyed to use some time by the breakfast-buffet.
We will like to recommand this hotel to family and friends and hope we will be able to come back another time.
Birger and Inge-Lise Særkjær, Undløse, Denmark

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Elise5055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We will certainly be back here. I travelled with my mum and my three year old. On entering the hotel it is very pleasant and the staff are very professional. We checked in easily and had our bags (lots of them and very heavy!) taken to our suite by one of the very polite staff. The rooms are very modern and very easy to live in! The bed was very comfortable, the shower.....wow.....actually the best I have had EVER! There is a mini bar which is nicely stocked with soft drinks, chocolate, nibbles, water and even a couple of bottles of lager (yum) which is very reasonably priced. The private terrace was AMAZING! Very private with an amazing view of parts of the city, sunloungers, chairs and a little table. I could easily live on that all summer! You can choose to have a daily room clean with clean sheets, shampoo, conditioner and all the basics. Definitely be back. Superb! 5 minute cab ride to Conac "ferryboat".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Mandysophiamoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great hotel, breakfast good, would recommend suite with giant sun terrace,good tvs in each room, great big shower (no problem to work). Staff are wonderful. Very helpful ,but at the same time not all over you. The barman even made me a hot "toddy" (whisky, hot water and sugar) as I had a cold. Prices are great for city hotel. Taxis to Konak around 10 lira from where you can go on ferryboats.We had my 3 year old grandaughter, she loved it, playiing on the terrace, watching Turkish cartoons etc. We'll definately be back.

Room Tip: Go for suite with giant terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank tourist0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

This hotel had all the pluses. Great staff, clean rooms, good selection for breakfast, excellent location and good value for money. All seven of us would stay here again without a second thought. One of the best places we had stayed in Turkey.

Room Tip: Down side is that the shower is quite small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Sherrypd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

For sure it must be something wrong with the staring here- this is absolutely not a 2 star hotel but more a 4 star! We were pleasanly surprised to find this hotel so "high-class" but at low rate. We stayed for 3 nights and appreciated very much the room given to us which was actually 2 rooms and a bath. Excellent as we travel with to boys in their "tweens". Very clean rooms, high standard (fresh fruit selections in the rooms every day) and helpful personal. Mostly turkish businessmen and yound couples staying there when we were there. Typical turkish hotelbreakfast. Liked the location as it was walkingdistances to most places. The small road leading up to the hotel looked a bit rough when we first arrived in the middle of the night and some houses next to the hotel could do with a bit of a renovation but I dont believe it to be a problem really as the hotel is so close to Anafartalar cd. Dont miss the fantastic döner kebab (chicken) at the left corner facing Anafartalar cd when comming from the hotel. Yum is not enough to describe it!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank Stavanger_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#21 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Izmir
Ramada Plaza Izmir
#30 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
0.6 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baylan

Property: Hotel Baylan
Address: Anafartalar Cad. 1299 Sok. 8 | Basmane, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Baylan 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Baylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing