We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful locality”
Review of Karaca Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Karaca Hotel
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful locality”
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Good n safe location. Room reasonably clean and many restaurants nearby to chill-out. Ask for Topcu restaurant from front desk, serve the best Kebab n local delicacies. Walking distant to many shopping areas and Konak pier. Take a day trip to Selcuk n Euphesus by train from Basmane station...

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mahli o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    53
    17
    3
    0
See reviews for
26
38
11
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ios, Greece
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed in Karaca hotel two weeks ago for 4 nights , the staff is extremely kind and some of the few people that speak fluent English in Izmir . The location is excellent for someone who wants to be near everything walking distance to the International Fair center 5min ..Kizlaragasi Han Bazaar and Kemeralti market 5 min,Alsancak 10-15 min walk ...Big variety in the buffet plus traditional local products! Next year I ll be staying in the same hotel...a big thank you to the staff who made our stay easier and fun !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaPakos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Right bang in the centre, on a quiet palm tree lined street, the Karaca offers excellent accommodation at a great price especially when compared to its high priced neighbours.
If you are coming from or going to the airport, they offer a free shuttle. Or, if you are too late for the shuttle (last one about 9pm.) then the Havaş bus terminates at the Swiss Hotel (Efes Büyük Oteli) which is just a 2 minute walk away. Breakfast is a very relaxed affair and you can seat yourself in the restaurant or at one of the streetside tables and people watch.
For a city hotel this is great value.

Room Tip: If you are spending any length of time here then a balcony room might be worthwhile. Otherwise the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is an oldish hotel situated in a quiet area of the Izmir city center. It is not the typical business class hotel and the whole structure seems to come out of a recent past glory days. The rooms are huge and beds very comfortable. My room was a bit cold (october) due to the broken heating. Internet works OK. Breakfast is correct but not extremely rich for the sweet part. The anglo-saxon breakfats (eggs, chees, other salty stuff) seems to be richer. Forget coffee, warm milk or croissants. Overall good value for money, but not superstar. The personnel is extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Check that the heating-A/C is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiclana de la Frontera, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at this brilliant hotel for four nights, and on arrival was greeted warmly by the hotel staff. Our room was large with two very comfortable beds, a large sofa. A flatscreen TV, and good sized bathroom with complementary toiletries. A kettle was also in the room, with Tea, coffe and fresh water every morning. A beautiful balcony (extra) overlooking the gardens across the road, and to the side an area called Lovers lane that is a large walkway with palm trees lining the street with book and jewellery stalls. Breakfast buffet every morning was quite delicious although the same every day. Each evening they served a 3 course meal for a set price. although there are many bars and restaurants in the area. Everything is close to hand including the Bazaar. Depending what time you arrive and leave, there is also a free shuttle bus to and from the airport., If this is not available at your time the Havas bus at the airport is a cheap way of getting to and from your hotel. I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again. Brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maryC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Our room at the hotel was booked through a friend so I had no choice but to stay here. I was told beforehand by numerous Turkish friends that this was a lovely hotel, one of the best in Izmir. When I arrived I was greeted warmly by the staff and shown to my room on the 7th floor. The room was huge with the biggest double bed I have slept in, with a radio built into the headboard, a super comfy sofa, TV and fair sized bathroom. My room had a view of Lover's Lane, a palm tree lines street filled with small book stores, and the grounds of the Buyuk Efes hotel opposite.
Breakfast was included in our package and it was delicious. Although the same each morning, there was a lot to choose from including hotel fresh from the honey comb. If I am ever in Izmir again I will stay at this hotel.
There are different types of quit covers and pillows to choose from and the room service menu was very reasonably priced. I also received 2 free bottles of water each night.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FluffyChicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Well what can we say!! What a fantastic hotel! Lovely room, lovely food, and friendly staff.

We have a house in kusadasi, and just wanted to split our holiday up with a city break, found this hoel online, it even has its own three screen cinema next door, and hotel guests can use for free!! So we watched fast and furious 6, and hangover 3! Each time there was only 6 maximum people in the cinema, which is very up to date, clean and very comfortable seats.

The hotel itself extremely clean, breakfast was lovely lots of choice, even a honeycomb in which to take off fresh honey.

We would definitely come back here next time we are in turkey.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room, just interesting to sit out on balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turkey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#11 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
0.2 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Karaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karaca Hotel

Property: Karaca Hotel
Address: Sevket Ozcelik Sokak Sevgi Yolu No:55 Alsancak, Izmir 35560, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Karaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Izmir and just 400m from Kordon seafront, this 4-star hotel offers free Wi-Fi and free private parking. Restored in classical style, the hotel is a 5-minute walk from Cumhuriyet Square.Rooms at Karaca have classical-style furnishings and include air conditioning and cable TV. Most rooms have balconies offering views of the gardens.Karaca serves a large buffet breakfast. Weekday lunches, both Turkish and international, can be enjoyed at the à la carte La Campana restaurant, which also has a large TV. Karaca Bar offers drinks in front of the fireplace and cookies with tea.The hotel also includes an on-site cinema room where the latest movies are shown free of charge. Ramps are available for disabled guests, and there are no door sills. A sauna, fitness centre and a massage room are available at the small spa facilities.Free two-way shuttle service to the hotel from Izmir Adnan Menderes Airport is available everyday except Sundays and public holidays. Please inform Karaca Hotel in advance if you want to use this service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Karaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing