We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location plus excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good location plus excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came back to the same hotel after two years and we were equally satisfied. The hotel is located on the sea front promenade walking distance from the main places of interest, that is Alcansak from one side and Konak Pier mall and bazar from the other. The rooms are spacious, have free Wi-Fi and are very well equipped. The front desk personel are very professional and willing to help. Both times we had a room with partial sea view. The breakfast is real a treat. Both times we came via the island of Chios and we booked the hotel plus sea transfer through Sunrise Tours (Chios) for a very reasonable price, that is lower than the prices advertised in the hotel website.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nina_auth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is nice to host you again after 2 years. We are happy to know that you had a pleasant stay again. Hope to host you in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir in the future again.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    377
    118
    36
    38
See reviews for
202
263
62
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tromsø, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I had expected a higher end hotel, not luxury, but comfortable, maybe that's where I went wrong. The staff were friendly and helpful, and things were clean and in order, no complaints there. I had reserved a "Double room for one person", and the room had a double bed, but if they market it as a double, I assume it's suitable for two people, but this barely fit one. The bed could only be accessed from one side, and that was a squeeze (the arrangement was: wall, ~50 cm of space, bed, wall). There was no space for luggage, and the bathroom was tiny (you could sit on the toilet with knees and head against the opposite wall). Maybe the Double for one room is smaller, but the discount seemed only to account for the loss of one breakfast, so that was not my assumption. Aside from the size, two big complaints: air conditioning was weak, managing only to cool the room to about 23C/73F in September, and most bizarrely, the room doors could not be closed from the outside without (a) using the keycard to unlock the door and then turning the outside knob and closing it softly, or (b) slamming the door as though storming out on someone. As very few people thought to do (a), this meant you heard slamming doors from around the floor all evening and from the early morning. How did that seem like a good idea to management?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank srh1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We have reviewed your feedback regarding size of the room, aircondition and the function of the room door. Please accept our apologies for all these inconvenience. We would like to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits to Izmir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luzon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for one week....the room was spacious and clean...the view from the executive lounge is excellent!!! Though they need to add more variety of food in the lounge.staff is great..had a really great time !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the variety of food in the lounge. Hope to host you again in Mövenpick Hotel Izmir during your future visits.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort lee, nj
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in Sept, 2012. Although the description sounded and looked good, for the 103 euros a night and no breakfast, I would have chosen the Sofitel for just about 30 euros more.The lobby looked nice, the rooms were clean and the bed and pillows comfortable. The only thing that was not up to par was the fitness center, The pool was nice but the water cold, it said that the was a jacuzzi available but there was a spout with cold water in the corner of the pool and some water jets, and the steam room was out of order the next day. I decided to complain and the manager Miss Foulya, apologized and offered all 4 of us free breakfast. Nice gesture we thought and made us feel a bit better, as when the day before when we complained to the front desk, nothing was done about it.

Room Tip: The hotel has double pane windows that kind of acts like a sound proofing. The hotel is situated in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoFortLee_Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed 2 days en route to Izmir and with a day trip to Ephesus. Service at hotel was impeccable, the rooms large and well suited for the 5 star visitor and fitness center was awesome!
The hotel is located near to seaport with lots of restaurants to choose from and scenic walks.

The only objection was that we could not request non smoking room ahead of time ( not sure if all rooms may be smoking because many people smoke in Turkey). So the stale odor of tobacco was in the hallway and in the room at times.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback. We have non smoking rooms however, depending the occupancy we may not able to assign you a non smoking room. Please accept our apologies for this inconvenience and we will be glad to host you again in Izmir during your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

The hotel is an excellent one, and my review is somewhat limited by the fact that we only stayed one night. But the bedroom was wide and spacious, with everything we needed, including mini-bar, good air conditioning, a nice toilet, and all very modern and functional. The common areas were also beautifully designed and furnished, and the restaurant offers a nice view of the sea. The hotel is also situated bang in the centre of Izmir. The staff is also kind and makes you feel comfortable and welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nando2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExecIzm, Director of Human Resources & Quality at Movenpick Hotel Izmir, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments. Hope to host you again in Izmir during your next visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#6 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.1 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
0.4 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
5.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Movenpick Hotel Izmir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Izmir

Property: Movenpick Hotel Izmir
Address: Cumhuriyet Blv. 138, Izmir 35210, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Movenpick Hotel Izmir 5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted "Turkey's Leading Business Hotel" by World Travel Awards in 2011, 2014 and 2015, Movenpick Hotel Izmir is located in the heart of the city, within walking distance to business and shopping districts as well as the trade fair grounds. It is also, the ideal starting point for visiting local attractions such as world-famous Ephesus and the popular destinations of Kusadasi, Cesme and Bodrum. The 185 modern rooms, including 36 executive rooms and 17 suites, extend the highest levels of comfort for business travellers, and flaunt style with their special colour scheme, furniture design and modern decor. Margaux Restaurant is Izmir's choice for an early morning breakfast, sophisticated business lunches and intimate dining experiences from 6.30 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. Overlooking the beautiful bay and the twinkling city lights from the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir, Mistral Lounge Bar offers you the Izmir's most distinctive cocktails and widest selection of premium drinks in an elegant setting. The Coral Health Club, located on the 11th floor of Movenpick Hotel Izmir with a breathtaking view of Izmir Bay, provides all the necessities for a healthy, active and fulfilling lifestyle from 7.00 Am to 11.00 Pm everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Izmir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing