We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merry Christmas to Me!”
Review of Equinox

Equinox
Ranked #167 of 2,593 Restaurants in Izmir
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Merry Christmas to Me!”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

This was my Christmas splurge and I was not disappointed. Wanting a special dining experience for the holiday, I asked my friends who live and work in Izmir, what the best restaurant in the area was and unanimously the answer was Equinox at the Swissotel.

The hotel is well appointed and was all dressed up for the holiday season including a real life size gingerbread house in the lobby and Elvis singing 'Blue Christmas' on the sound system. The gingerbread smell was heartwarming.

The top floor of the hotel includes a first rate bar with live jazz and spectacular views of the Bay of Izmir. Continuing on to the restaurant, I was greeted by a very sleek hostess and lead to a comfortable table with a lit black candle and a white rose in a crystal vase. From the moment I sat, attentive waiters brought water, wine, a complimentary amuse-bouche of veal stuffed manti with a tart berry sauce and a variety of wonderful warm rolls. As for dinner, I couldn't have asked for anything better. The house specialty of Crispy Duck is divine. The lamb shank, cooked Ottoman Style, is falling off the bone tender and absolutely delicious with hints of cardamom, cinnamon, cumin and plum. This is a very pricey place, e.g. a bottle of sparkling water is over $10 USD, however, the food is first rate and well worth the indulgence. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ginger g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    4
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best in the city”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Just a week ago we were there to taste the dishes of first michelin star chef in izmir I can say it was not bad after our experince in Paris in 2 michelin star restaurant le 5 I suggest parisian chefs should not worry about local taste because they can not satisfy their taste, just give us what u do best because I liked everything in le 5 in paris.h

Helpful?
1 Thank ilhancnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and view”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Located on the top floor of Swissotel. It is a pricy restaurant but has an excellent atmosphere and menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KalleOberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Superb dining and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our dinner and wine recommended by the waiting staff, the medium rare steak was cooked to perfection, so tender and very tasty. Every dish is well seasoned and presented passionately from starters, main course, dessert and the gorgeous Turkish wine is worth what we paid for. The staff are very polite, one of them even show me the way rather than pointing out which way to go, the manageress and waiting staff are very consistent in their service and again attention to details that made our post wedding anniversary dinner a wonderful night to remember. Stunning sea view, finest food and dynamic atmosphere....a real five star quality. Thanks to all the Equinox staff and compliments to the chef...well done!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tinah1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
375 reviews
348 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“View, service and meal top notch!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

Amazing view and with a sexy bat next door, you enter a chic restaurant that offers cuisine from all over the world . Had a sampler of crab ball, smoked duck, pasta and cheese. Flowed that with a large fish portion of sea bass that was perfect. Great breads. Wife had lamb and it was perfectly cooked. Service was fluid and rivaled the Four Seasons in Istanbul

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Damian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Equinox also viewed

 
Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Equinox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Equinox details originally provided by Yellow.com.tr

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing