We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational Dinner”

Kordon Yengec Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 2,594 Restaurants in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Livingston, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sensational Dinner”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We had an incredible experience at Yengec on the Aegean coast of Turkey. The engaging owner, Kerim Ozsoydan, took care of us from beginning to end with the assistance of his refined and efficient staff. We allowed Kerim to select the meal for us, and we were thrilled with the choices he made from the appetizers to the dessert.

We highly recommend Yengec on Ataturk Caddesi in Izmir to anyone looking for atmosphere, a sensational view, and incredible food and service to dine here. The next night we brought back 18 people that we were traveling with for a dinner that they would never forget. In fact, many said at the end of our two week trip to Turkey, that Yengec was one of the highlights of their Turkish experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank realtor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    77
    24
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
denizli
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“delicious fish and aperatives”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

the fish, waiters and ambiance was great. but it is not that cheap, 190 tl for 3 people is an average price in turkey. will come back for sure:)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mszora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great seafood restaurant in a nice setting”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here, selected by the owner who spoke fluent English. We had reservations and the outside table was waiting for us. The owner took us into the restaurant to show us the fish display case and made great recommendations for us. Our meal included small starters including seafood rice (a paella), fried shrimp, a green salad, a local fried fish and for the entree a broiled sea bream. His recommendation for a white wine was great. We finished with Turkish ice cream, which was tasty with an unusual texture. A great setting with fresh, well-prepared food served by professional and attentive waiters.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic seafood restaurant in Izmir”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

My wife and I had a night to ourselves from our guided tour of Turkey and a one night stop in Izmir. We were walking the boardwalk in Izmir looking for somewhere to eat. The requirements were good seafood with a view of the water. We selected this one based on nice atmosphere and typically well dressed patrons which we figured would increase the odds of good food. We don't speak Turkish so it was a pleasant surprise to walk up and ask to see a menu and to be met by accomodating hosts who made some recoomendations. A very nice gentleman ended up seating us and making sure we had everything we wanted (and more) throughout the night.
He politely described most everything on the menu but then recommended a small selection of a variety of items which we selected. He recommended a bottle of wine, which happened to be the best one we had while in Turkey (we were not fans of Turkey's wine selection). It turns out he was the owner and we had some very nice discussions throughout the meal. His recommendations of appetizers, salad and dinner were perfect! I believe we had seabass (excellent).
The atmosphere was perfect also. We sat near the boardwalk with a view of the sunset. Next to us were two young couples where one proposed during dinner and on the other side sat the City Senator who we were told frequents this location as well. Typical, but we spent nearly 4 hours there enjoying ourselves and the night. The staff was great, food extrodinary, atmosphere fantastic... we really enjoyed this place and would definitely recommend it if you are looking for a seafood dinner while in Izmir! We want to go back there just to eat! Thanks Kerim.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Hats off for this restaurant”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Yengec, on Kordon boyu can easily catch your eye among the innumerous cafes, restaurants, bars with its classy outlook, nice crisp white table linens, smart staff, modern decortion, flowers etc. Located very close to Gundogdu Meydani, a major square where many important event takes place.

It is a seafood restaurant . You can choose your fish from a good selection display, the prices are posted on a board next to it . After that we had chosen our cold mezes from a big tray brought to our table, selection wise nothing special there .

We have started with a fish soup. Served in a modern oblong dish it is the best fish soup I have ever had, cooked with orange peel I would strongly recommend everybody to taste it if it's in the menu. Paella was also good though I have tasted better ones. The octopus salad and fried squid were top quality, we also had several local greenary served simple with lemon juice and excellent olive oil. The fishes were grilled to perfection juicy and crisp outside, and the desert, vanilla souffle served with candied almond icecream was superb.

The service was attentive although the place got full , Serving for a large outdoors and second
floor. The owners, one of which claimed to be the mastermind of these memorable dishes are always alert helping service if needed. They took pictures of us and gave it as a memory of our visit.

Good wine and raki selection, you pay for what you are served and trust me its worth it and it is not too much.

Easy to find very central , can park close by . We were lucky to find place but do make reservations the place got full. If you can not find a table on the front row of the second floor sit on the outdoors of the first floor . Ask for daily specials like soup paella etc. which were memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank aguvenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kordon Yengec Restaurant also viewed

 
Izmir, Izmir Province
Izmir, Izmir Province
 

Been to Kordon Yengec Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing