We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big bang for the buck.”
Review of Key Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Key Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Let me begin by saying that I spent the first 10 minutes of my stay here simply taking photos of the hotel interior and our room. The elevator strongly resembles something that Scotty will beam you up with to the Starship Enterprise. Beyond all of the high tech wizardry of this remarkable hotel, there lies a warm sense of caring and hospitality from its staff that is noteworthy for an American that speaks no Turkish. "Nosuch" (phonetic spelling) at the reception desk provides a wonderful welcome to the hotel and support throughout one's visit. The breakfast is presented beautifully and is a perfect mix of fruits, breads, and meats. The hotel is right on the water and offers a wonderful opportunity to stroll as far as you like, while testing various restaurant options along the way. We hated to leave. Would I return? Absolutely!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms at this hotel that I could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TexasTravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated in sharing your experience at Key Hotel.

Your positive comments are reason for satisfaction for all the staff which works every day with love and passion to make our guest stay unforgettable.

Our main task is to fulfill our guests’ expectation and let them feel at home in an elegant environment with a personalized service and warm touch.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon in our glamour City.

Kind regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

193 - 199 of 416 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

From the moment I decided to follow the review recommendations on Trip Advisor for the Key Hotel, I was happy that I did. From my first email, making inquiries -about the hotel rooms, about shuttle services, about adding another night onto our stay, etc. – until we finally arrived, Ismail Erdem was exceptionally helpful and courteous. I reserved three sea-view rooms for my group of six people of various ages and professions. Everyone repeatedly said that no other place that we stayed at throughout our stay in this part of Turkey (which included four different hotels) measured up to the Key Hotel in location, in amenities, and in services. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The view of the sea and pedestrian life outside the window was quite refreshing and fascinating to observe. Some great eating places were in walking distance as were some interesting sights. Although we arrived after dark, I did not feel as if we were getting the left-over rooms, the way some hotels do; instead, it felt as if the rooms had been set aside just for us.

The “wake up” features were awesome – the ability to set by remote control the blinds to open, the lights to come, and for music to play made the traditional phone call from the front desk unnecessary. The internet was easily accessible.

The central location of the hotel made walking around the city easy and convenient. We sat by the sea and had tea, shopped in the Konak Mall and at the Kamaralti Bazaar, attended a fashion show, saw the Clock Tower by night, and just enjoyed the city life well into the evening, and we felt very safe.

After we had been gone from the hotel for a day or so, I received an email that one of our group member’s had forgotten her jacket at the hotel, and they wanted to know if we wanted it shipped back to us. Fortunately, we were passing back through Izmir in route to Istanbul, and were able to pick it up on the way.

I cannot say enough great things about the Key Hotel and its staff. We had a great stay at the Key Hotel and plan to visit Izmir again with only one hotel in mind. I, and the five people I travelled with highly recommend the Key Hotel.

It was a great as everyone said, and everyone in my group agreed that we could not have found a better place to begin our trip, or to stay period. Thumbs up to the Key Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Sea View room was sunny with a wall of windows, providing wonderful views of the sea and pedestrian...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JImani62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write your thoughts and praise my collegue Mr.İsmail ERDEM. I cannot thank you enough for mentioning almost every single detail we aim to succeed here in Key Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Key Hotel, and in the meantime if there is anything that we can do to help you organise your next trip, please just do get in touch.

Kindest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here one night and loved it. Location is excellent, right by the sea in the city centre. Nearby pier has a small but attractive shopping mall and several upmarket cafes and restaurants by the sea. Staff is very well trained, polite and helpful. Rooms are quite spacious. Modern decoration aims to calm and it succeds. High tech appliances makes life comfortable, creates a sense of ease and luxury. Double glaze windows cut the hustle bustle of busy city. Designers thought about every detail from the illuminated hidden mirrors to ample storage for luggage. Breakfast is also very good. Open buffet includes a huge variety from usual Turkish breakfast delicacies, to fruits, warm dishes, egg dishes etc. I am looking forward to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Key Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the facilities and services that we provide. All kind of comments received from every and each of our valued guests -both negative and positive- are greatly appreciated. However as a very experienced, frequent traveller, your vision is of great importance for us.

We will definitely share your generous feedback with the team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Warmest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed two nights in September 2012 in a standard double room with seaview. Room was more than average in size, elegant bathroom with rainshower, bed, furniture and equipments of highest quality and standard. Good buffet breakfast with hot dishes prepared to order. Location is near Konak (city centre) and close to shopping and restaurants. Our room rate (booking.com) was very reasonable in view of the high standard of the hotel (might have been an introductory offer). Aircon was good, windows can be opened, but some noise from the surrounding restaurants and bars is then inevitable (but not really disturbing). Small cons are the lack of a pool and of a parking lot (though i think the staff woudl provide valet parking). Interior design might also lack a bit of personal touch or warm feeling. Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the sea side (great view; land side rooms face a major through street and might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Herbert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write your thoughts.

As you mentioned, uniqe convenient location, high standards of guestrooms designed to provide the most pleasant stay and of course marvellous bay view are only some of the features that make Key Hotel different.

Regarding the parking issue, let me remind that we have free and secure parking area just infront of the hotel and 7/24 valet parking is available on complimentary basis.

We do hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a suite consisting of 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and lounge. Decor is very modern and bathroom has a large bath and a separate shower with rain head. Bath condiments are Moulten Brown. Hotel is well located on waterfront. They organized a guide for us who was English speaking and she did a great job of showing us Ephesus and museum plus a Carpetarium. Next day she organized a tour of the town of Izmere including ferry ride, local markets, bazaar and old clock tower. I would stay here again as the atmosphere on the waterfront with fisherman, restaurants and nightlife was very good.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kimboToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Key Hotel. We are delighted to see your comments regarding our hotel. Rest assured that we will continue to strive in providing the best service and product that Key Hotel is renowned for.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back, assuring our best service and attention.

Kindest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay here. Had every possible modern amenity. Concierge was very helpful in booking things for us. Breakfast was pretty good too. However, because its so modern and sleek it feels pretty sterile and there is no "home-y" feeling. Accordingly, we were glad we weren't staying there too long.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Red8910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for the time you dedicated in sharing your experience at Key Hotel.

We appreciate very much your comments as a tool to offer an even better service and make your next visit an exceptional one. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously, and we sincerely regret that we weren't able to give you the home-y feeling that vast majority of guests describe as one of the greatest succes points of Key Team.

Once again, thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with us. I do hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back at Key Hotel in the near future.

Best regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at Key Hotel for three nights and loved it. The room was very spacious and newly decorated. The location is great, close to the the historic Kizlaragasi Hani, Konak Metro Station, and Konak Iskelesi. It was great to have the breakfast while watching the Izmir Bay and the ships passing by. I also liked the fact that the warm breakfast items were served according to clients wish, unlike some other high standard hotels where everything is usualy cooked before hand. I believe the Key hotel offers the standards of a 5 star hotel. Finally, I have never seen such welcoming, helpful and kind hotel crew before.I would definitely reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FUSUN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noodly_appendage, Front Office Manager at Key Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

It is so lovely to hear that you had such a nice stay at Key Hotel, and thank you for writing about it.

We are indeed lucky to have such a fantastic location - at the heart of the city and just by the sea. I cannot thank enough for your comments about our way of serving breakfast. Your description is exactly what we aim to do about breakfast: Respecting personal choices, and tastes.. Finally thank you for your glowing comments about my teammates that work every day with love and passion to make our guest stay unforgettable.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future.

Warmest regards.

Ozgun CAN
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Swissotel Grand Efes Izmir
0.4 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 98 in Izmir
1,425 reviews
5.4 mi away
Wyndham Grand Izmir Ozdilek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Izmir
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Izmir - Alsancak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key Hotel

Address: Mimar Kemalettin Caddesi No:1 | Konak, Izmir 35260, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range: $92 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Key Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the city, the KEY is a 31 room, luxury-driven lifestyle hotel, catering to the discriminating taste. We pride ourselves in providing our guests with personalized attention, unparalleled service, cutting edge technology, delectable food in a refined atmosphere and we want to be your choice of hotel in the Aegean region! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Key Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing