We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Small Hotel”
Review of Met Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Met Boutique Hotel
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“A Great Small Hotel”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

My wife and I stayed here after unexpectedly changing our plans and arriving by train in Izmir. The staff of the hotel welcomed us and was happy to allow us to check in late in the morning after a two-block walk from the Basmane train station. We encountered a spotless, modern room with a tea kettle and supplies, refrigerator, large bathroom, and a comfortable bed. Breakfast was the best we had encountered in three hotels in Turkey, and they even played interesting music from the 1950s.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the main street; it is better than watching TV.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FallsChurchTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    38
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
67
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I've stayed there 2 nights and that was just awesome. The employers were very friendly. Rooms are quiet, beds are comfortable and most important : Breakfast was perfect!
iki gece konakladım ve harikaydı diyebilirim. Personel çok sıcak. Odalar sessiz, temiz ve yataklar çok rahat. En önemlisi: Kahvaltı mükemmel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Serdar Ç
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

It was really better than I expected! The room and bathroom was so big and I 'm sure the stuff is the most friendly and kind hotel stuff I 've ever met. Even it is situated on a traffik road it was so quite! Ahhh!! Also wonderfull breakfast!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I am an American living in Istanbul. I made a trip to Ephesus last weekend with another female expat living in Istanbul. I was very disappointed to not be able to find a small, groovy, locally owned hotel or Inn in Izmir (small business opportunity!!)
Though the Met is not this kind of place it was clean, well-kept, updated and the staff is super friendly and attentive.
We wanted to leave early in the morning, long before breakfast was to be available. They made us cold Turkish kahvalti plates, but also had just about everything else out by the time we were finishing.
Filtered coffee!
Free parking
Good restaurant recommendations
Free wifi
Modern bathrooms...great shower!
Comfortable beds
No smoking in hotel

I'd definitely go back

Only recommendation - tone down the air "freshener" dispensing...it's too strong. Almost nauseating. But I'll take that over cigarette smoke any
day!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooroy, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We chose the met Hotel based on reviews and were in no way disappointed. The location is good and the hotel is maintained spotlessly. The rooms are a very good size (something not always the case in older established cities). A very comfortable bed and an excellent bathroom with possibly the best hotel shower we have encountered. As for the staff, we cannot praise them enough. Everyone in the hotel went out of their way to help us at all times, and always with a friendly smile.

We travel a lot and have stayed in very many hotels, but this is one of the best and one we would definitely choose to return to. We give it and unqualified recommendation.

John & Adrienne Forth

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 501JohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Everything about Met catches your eyes from the very first moment. It's elegant but very subtle among the loud adjacent hotels that are shouting class. This cozy hotel is designed so tastefully that you just wish you could extend your stay there. The staff is so nice and friendly you never feel you're not home. The location is also very very convenient. You're 2 minutes away from 9 Eylul square, which is quite central if you want to catch the Metro or terminal services. You are also within walking distance from so many interesting places for tourists. Last but foremost is the breakfast: I totally enjoyed every bit of it. Nothing could have been any better than it was. Thanks Met from the deepest of my heart for making Izmir a trip to remember.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalilax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

superb location (less than 5 min walk from train station, 10 min walk from seaside), clean room, modern design. nice breakfast.

but do not ask the reception for any travel information!

I sent an enquiry (purely) about airport trasnsfer 2 days before my check in date. without any agreement, i saw a taxi driver at airport with my name. it was out of our expectation since seeing no reply to my email, but we took it since he was already waiting there.

11:35am, i asked reception how to get to ephesus. options provided:

a) there was no more train till 320pm (at my request, reception confirm the time after checking internet);
b) bus station is very far away from the hotel and 1-way bus journey to reach ephasis takes 2hr+; he calculated the total fare to be 60+ euro, if taking taxi from hotel to bus station, bus fare, taxi at ephesus;
c) they can arrange taxi transport for 80 euro.

Upon knowing that we had stayed in Izmir the day before, and we were leaving early morning the following day, reception informed us that we would hv to spend the day INSIDE Izmir if not taking 80-euro taxi.

Luckily, we had some doubts and walked to the train station (only then we realised that it is 5 min away!). We found out that there ARE regular train (hourly) to ephesus throughout the day, which costs 5.75 TRY one way!

I just do not believe reception does not know the train schedule!

It is frustration to me that the hotel purposely misleads a traveller by providing wrong & incomplete information. this is more than being unprofessional. it disregards a traveller's time and expereince completely.

(my mistake is that i did 0 research about the city but blindly selected & trusted the hotel based on high rating).

As a traveller, I will never support a hotel as such.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lingyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Izmir
Hilton Izmir
#5 of 96 in Izmir
1,245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Izmir Hotel
0.5 mi away
Key Hotel
Key Hotel
#2 of 96 in Izmir
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
1.2 mi away
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
Ibis Izmir Alsancak
#10 of 96 in Izmir
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Izmir
Ramada Plaza Izmir
#29 of 96 in Izmir
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Met Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Met Boutique Hotel

Property: Met Boutique Hotel
Address: Cankaya Mah. Gazi Bulv. No:124, Izmir 35280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 96 Hotels in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Met Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Met Boutique Hotel, where hosts nice, spacious, modern, sound insulation and confurtable rooms, has a location to İzmir seaside walking distance. Also Met Boutique Hotel has a modern architecture which equipped marble, granit, special Stones, and wood. Met Boutique Hotel, located the Street which is very frequented of the city, is close-range bussines, and historical places. All transportation vehicles and facilities, which are very close to the Met Boutique Hotel, is also near of Train Station and Metro Station only 200 mt. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel and the taxi Office. Adnan Menderes Airport is 18 km distance from the hotel, and İzmir Culture of exhibition space is only 150 meters away . Not only department within the hotel that Front Office (greeting department) is counseling transfers, day tours, airline tickets, car rentals, etc.. guidance service offers counseling and 24 hours a day, but also provides airport transfer service with luxury vehicles for a fee.Met Boutique Hotel, has a stylish bedrooms, free Wi-Fi Access, is equipped with LCD TV. You have bedside reading lights in the rooms. All rooms, serves the guests laundry and ironing service have a private bathroom are paved special tiles and porcelain tiles with hair dryer. Met Boutique Hotel's restaurant serves breakfast buffets, extremely wealthy and generous. The restaurant serves lunch and dinner a la carte international cuisine. Hotel with various seating areas, restaurant, suitable for casual meals and business meetings. Met Boutique Hotel with high ceilings and modern decor with a Lobby Bar 24 hours a day, and we serve you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Met Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing