We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Proper Turkish hospitality and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Agora Konak Saray Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Agora Konak Saray Hotel
Ranked #25 of 93 Izmir B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Proper Turkish hospitality and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2010

Free parking, very friendly service and a nice place. Good English as well.
The location is great if you want Turkey rather than shopping or nice pavements. The road outside is narrow and packed with barber shops, schwarma bars and chai stores, all overhung with ivy canopies. Gorgeous smells and lovely people.
The hotel is clean and shiny with a lovely top floor restaurant.
The rooms are small but fine, with air conditioning and a powerful and hot shower.
The one downside is the nearby mosque which belts out a very loud call to prayer at 5am for 5 minutes.
Thank you guys for a great stay

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank byrneharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
22
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2010

Pros: Conveniently located near the train station, free wi-fi, courteous and helpful staff, good value
Cons: The room smelt of cigarette smoke, and the neighborhood is somewhat dodgy, especially for female travelers

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The room was clean, had a mini bar and a TV. Breakfast was good. Reception staff was friendly but not everyone spoke communicable English. They were also pretty useless when I tried to get information on public transportation, tours to local sites or navigating the city. The only thing I liked about the location of the hotel was its proximity to the train station and agora. The train turned out to be a great way of getting to the airport and Selcuk/Eephesus. The hotel is located very far from the bus station and the dalmus station. Since the city public bus service is very confusing, getting to any of these places requires a long and expensive taxi ride. I really hated the area. It is basically bazaar meets ghetto kind of a place, dirty, run down, smelly, loud and chaotic Needless to say , I didn’t dare to venture out at night. I can see how some visitors might find the surroundings to be exotic and unique but for me it was just not appealing. My advice to potential visitors: skip Izmir all together and if you simply have to visit the city chose a hotel in a nicer location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

We loved the location of this hotel (for someone not from Turkey, staying right close to the bazaars was loads of fun). For a budget hotel, it was relatively well proportioned. And given that we seemed one of the only guests at the time, the (potentially recycled) breakfast was very hearty.

The main problem we encountered was the ill-proportioned suite, and the response from the staff after I complained (we had 1/2 a roll of toilet paper in our room, only 1 set of towels, and more than half of the light bulbs in the room were burnt out). The room was clean, so these items escaped our notice until nighttime. While we got the TP in short order, they said they had no bulbs until tomorrow (even though the mini-mart next door was well stocked with new bulbs).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zharik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

Normally we find hotels to be better than what the average Tripadvisor reviewer thinks, but in this case just the opposite was the case. It is true that the breakfast was good, better than the budget-hotel average in Turkey; but everything else was bad. The worst thing was the smell in the bedroom and even worse in the bathroom. The bathroom smell was like a sewer and the bedroom smell was of heavy smoke which was only made worse by the air conditioner which seemed actually to be blowing stale cigarette odors into the room. Beyond that, the staircase was tricky, being steep and curved with some parts having no handrail. The staff seemed to be either drunk or on drugs, with only one member able to speak English. When we found there was no water in the room, the explanation given was that it was a cloudy day and the water supply worked on solar energy! On top of all this, we had a visit from a prostitute...but whether she was sent by the desk clerk or simply slipped by him, we don't know. We had booked for three nights, but checked out after the first; the reception was not pleased at this and tried to charge a 50% penalty on the remaining two nights. We left and walked down the street to another hotel, which was not only much better but also a little cheaper.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — unpleasant smells in room
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslyushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

If you stay in this hotel, please check to see if the American flag is flying upside-down. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in March 2010, and noticed this problem. The hotel's receptionist promised us that the hotel would take the flag down, wash it and fly it right side up.
Aside from the disturbing upside-down flying American flag problem, our stay was fine. The hotel is in a good location with many local eateries and hammams right down the street. The hotel is also walking distance to the bazaar and the train station, where you can take a train to Selcuk/Ephesus and the airport. The hotel offers free breakfast with a great food selection.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lutzia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2010

As you're walking to this hotel through the streets, you quickly ask yourself "What kid of place did I choose?" Suddenly once you walk in here past the reception, you see a hotel that's a lot bigger and nicer than it looks from the outside. The breakfast is pretty large, and the hotel is located in a good spot to experience life in the city as a local. They also have free wireless internet.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wdave37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Izmir hotels
0.4 mi away
Konak Saray Hotel
Konak Saray Hotel
#50 of 96 in Izmir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oglakcioglu Park Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
Olimpiyat Otel Izmir
#22 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Ramada Encore Izmir
Ramada Encore Izmir
#39 of 96 in Izmir
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kilim Hotel
Kilim Hotel
#35 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
8.3 mi away
Orty Airport Hotel
Orty Airport Hotel
#13 of 96 in Izmir
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Agora Konak Saray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agora Konak Saray Hotel

Property: Agora Konak Saray Hotel
Address: Cankaya Mah. Kestelli Cad. No:113 Kucukyali, Konak, Izmir 35240, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Izmir
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Izmir
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Agora Konak Saray Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Agora Konak Saray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing