We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect but not”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa
Ranked #28 of 137 Hotels in Cesme
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Hotel is in a great location, the pool and beach are beautiful. The water is turquoise blue and sandy beaches and fairly shallow so great for kids to swim and play in - don't have to worry too much about them swimming. The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, marble floors , rooms are all upgraded with comfortable beds. They were nice enough to change our room as the seaview was slightly blocked, however the new room (ask for 6 or 7 floor rooms) had a/c that was not really working even though they came several times to "fix" it.

Checkin/front desk service was good and helpful

Downside is food service - service at dinner and on the beach was poor. Very hard to find any waiters to serve you not sure if it is because we didn't speak turkish which was part of it but the other part the service is not well managed - even if you tip the beach waiters never come back to see if you need anything else. allegedly the beach chairs have call buttons but they do not seem to work or maybe they ignore you.. not sure..

food was good - dinner had a great choice and variety quality depended on the items - meats and fishes were good as was deserts and salad - pastas were bland and sauceless. had a great childrens buffet that my 4yo loved to serve himself.and food was good - not all fast fried foods which was nice.

good family hotel
Loved the property and time on the beach was not happy with the lack of service for an American chain hotel - its service at 80% it just is missing something..

Room Tip: ask for seaview 6 or 7 floor or make sure you get the wing for room ending in 01 -13 have non smok...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank debs799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for your wonderful review ,

We strive on a daily basis to exceed guest expectations and we are thrilled to see we were so successful during your vacation
Thank you for giving such great recognition to our Team Members for their exceptional service!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (911)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

121 - 127 of 911 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights half board in July 2014 and overall had a lovely stay.

The positives:
- Beach is fantastic, plenty of beds and the sea is clean and warm.
- Pool side is also lovely.
- Rooms are clean, we were lucky enough to get an upgrade to Starwood Preferred Guest rooms so can not comment on other rooms.
- The food at breakfast and dinner has lots of variety and is overall good. The beach food was the best, but had to pay for that.
- Staff are friendly.

Negatives:
- The whole hotel is in need of major renovation and modernisation. The furniture in the rooms and lobby area is dated as is the wallpaper and carpets and the bathrooms are just old but in good working condition.
- The air con in the rooms can not be called "air con", it is more like coldish air being blown weakly into the room.
- The games area by the beach looks like something out of the original Tron movie (1980s reference).
- The staff speak very little english which we found a bit difficult at times.

Room Tip: Double check the price of your room with the operator before you travel as it could have come down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2014

Dear Matt G;

We are so sorry to hear about your situations. We will investigate and look into procedures regarding waivers.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your stay at Sheraton Çeşme Hotel Resort&Spa.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time

Best regards.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I traveled at the end of June with my family. The grounds at The Sheraton are beautiful. The pools with an evil eye design in the middle were wonderful and big, and the beach is simply spectacular. The Sheraton has free lounge chairs and umbrellas lined up on the beach in front of the hotel. The sand and the water were both perfect. This beach is a great swimming beach, with calm waters. We ordered lunch at the pool and the food was delicious. The pier they have in front of the hotel is also a great place to lounge, with a bar right there.

Now for the rooms: Being that this is a big Sheraton property, we expected more of the rooms. They are outdated and could use renovation. Each room has a balcony which is a nice touch. The bathrooms seem to be more recently updated and were clean. My biggest problem with the hotel is that the air conditioning was not working. It never got cold in the room! Air would blow out slightly cold, but the room would never actually get cold. We complained and were told someone would come look at it. A man came and saw what was going on and said he would be back in 5 minutes, and he never returned! Later that evening, we inquired again. After much back and forth with a manager, and changing rooms on different floors, we finally came to a room with somewhat of working air conditioning. It truly never got even slightly chilly in that room, but it was better then the 2 other rooms we were in. It was almost July on the coast of Turkey, this hotel needs working air conditioning. We heard various excuses of an "old system" and other things. At the end of the day, with a name like Sheraton, there should always be cold air conditioning working. I am a Starwood Preferred Guest, and felt that since the hotel was basically empty, they should have given us rooms with ocean views and made it their priority to fix the air conditioning system. Overall, I was disappointing with the actual hotel and customer service, but loved the location, beach, and pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gymnastjenny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear gymnastjenny09,

We are so sorry to hear about your situations. We will investigate and look into procedures regarding waivers.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your stay at Sheraton Çeşme Hotel Resort&Spa.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time

Best regards.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Clean rooms, perfect food. The staff could have spoken a little bit better english, but they are all helpful and friendly. Wellness area with thermal water. Amazing sea view, clean beach easily to reach thru the tunnel.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 8th floor have got no balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evgenia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear, Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review ,

We strive on a daily basis to exceed guest expectations and we are thrilled to see we were so successful during your vacation
Thank you for giving such great recognition to our Team Members for their exceptional service!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I don't understand how Sheraton can give it's name to this property. It's an old hotel which need renovation in all aspects. on the beach there is nothing special and the drinks are extremely expensive for Turkey standards even for a 5 star hotel.They are charging 6 USD for a coke which is not acceptable for such a bad service.
Rooms are old and definitely not a 5 star room.
The hotel staff is not smiling and not happy to work.
Swimming pool and around the swimming pool is extremely old fashion without anything 5 star.
Just avoid!

Room Tip: try to have a room with the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerem s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear about your situations. We will investigate and look into procedures regarding waivers.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your stay at Sheraton Çeşme Hotel Resort&Spa.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time.

Best regards,

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

The disappointment starts from booking this hotel on the SPG website up to the last dinner .

It was impossible to book the exact requirements online, i had to contact the hotel to double check the booking and definitely it was a wrong one.

We asked the hotel to book us a transport from the airport, and it took the driver 45 minutes to find us in the terminal, although we gave the flight details and got a confirmation by email that he will be there.

When we arrived at the hotel, at check-in, the person on duty asked if everything was fine (exactly as he was trained) but in reality he did not care about the answer. We complained about the pickup service, but he did not react, as if we said nothing.

We got to the room, and it was full of dust, dirty not what you expect from a Sheraton hotel. We asked to change the room, they did and it was a bit better, but definitely not at its best.

Breakfast: the food is ok, but service.... Terrible. We asked for an orange juice, 40 min later.... It did not come.... But, the person in charge about squeezing the fresh orange apologized :)

Dinner: the buffet dinner is ok, but service Terrible. We stayed late and the restaurant had to close. We were sipping our nice Rose, when the waiter came and asked us nicely to leave....but.... We had on the table, a bottle of wine, 2 glasses, a bottle of water and 2 glasses, an ashtray with our cigars. And the waiters ( they were 3 looking at us) never moved a finger to help. We had to carry our stuff ourselves and put a bottle under one arm, the other bottle under the other arm to go to the terrace and continue our evening, as they suggested, while the waiters are watching and wishing us goodnight....

I am speechless.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BGMarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear Guest,
We are so sorry to hear about your situations. We will investigate and look into procedures regarding waivers.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your stay at Sheraton Çeşme Hotel Resort&Spa.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time

Best regards.

Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

The value of a hotel is based on the quality of service, and a hotel with such horrid service as this does not deserve to be a five star hotel in the least. I've noticed many other travelers complaining of service here, so I decided (although I am not someone who usually writes reviews) that future patrons must be warned; the worst part is that management does not seem to understand or care. The manager who has responded to all of these reviews, Ms. Yasemin, clearly does not understand English at the level necessary to understand these reviews, and I'm appalled that this doesn't seem to be an issue at all! Without someone to understand our complaints - there is no way there will ever be any refurbishment at this hotel at all, which is something it is in dire need of! So many instances of innapropriate behavior by the staff come to mind, I can't deside where to begin. Even the task of ordering a simple Turkish coffee while relaxing in the spa is absolutely terrible. I order the Turkish coffee, and although I am not Turkish, I am well aware that there should be some foam on top so I kindly ask the young girl who brings me the coffee she has made, if she could bring me one with foam (not a single bubble in sight!) I don't think she is used to serving anyone with any standards as she seems upset at my request; half an hour later, she begrundingly brings another cup of "Turkish coffee" without a single drop of foam and she grunts something I assume was an insult under her breath, in Turkish - which I cannot understand. This was just day 1! I decided to make an account specifically to write this review because the staff was also specifically unaccomidating to my two young children, who were having fun in the indoor pool and asked repeatedly to keep it down. I am all for the American way of keeping your children from bothering others, but this was too much! Its a pool, and they are both under the age of 10! They are on vacation! It was clear the staff was not accomdating for children, and that is where I draw the line! Any adult - whether they are supposed to be "servicing" me or not - can be rude to me, but for an adult to scare children! That is apalling. I shall end my rant here because it is clear management will brush my complaints off just as they have all the other vacationers who have complained of unpleasant staff, partially because they don't understand English the level necessary to run an American hotel and partially because they don't seem to care the slightest. I should also add that the air conditioning was not working during our stay and our room temperature was consistenylu over 87 degrees Fahrenheit!!!! That is absolutely disgusting for a five star hotel! We complained consistently about the air but were told by some members of the staff that is was being repaired, while others said it was working just fine!! I could go on for hours - but like I said it will not make any difference. My only hope is to warn future travels, specifically foreigners who are used to five star hotels, or supurb American service to stay away, unless you want to be consistently insulted by the staff and pay for a five star hotel that deserves no more than two (did I mention the sheets were hard, the bed was awful, the bathrooms are damp, just overall ick!).

Room Tip: Please don't choose this hotel, the quality is horrid for the price; but if you must, make sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton Cesme H, Social Media Executive at Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are so sorry to hear about your situations. We will investigate and look into procedures regarding waivers.
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us during your stay at Sheraton Çeşme Hotel Resort&Spa.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back next time

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesme hotels
1.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa, Cesme
1.3 mi away
Ilica Hotel Spa & Thermal Resort
2.7 mi away
Boyalik Beach Hotel & Spa Cesme
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Altin Yunus Resort & Thermal Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ceshme Plus Hotel
Ceshme Plus Hotel
#63 of 137 in Cesme
311 reviews
4.3 mi away
Alkoclar Alacati Exclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa

Address: Sifne cd. Celal Bayar Mah. 5152 Sok. No:43 Ilica, Cesme 35940, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cesme
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Cesme
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cesme
Price Range: $75 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Cesme Hotel Resort And Spa
Sheraton Cesme Hotel Cesme
Ilica Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing