We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“That was really relaxed and very nice”
Review of Hotel Doga

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Doga
Ranked #89 of 130 Hotels in Cesme
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“That was really relaxed and very nice”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

That was exatly what me and my wife need a sunny and friendly hotel and a sunny weather. The prices are ok the bedrooms are clean. We have every morning a good breakfast and in the evening a fantastic lunch with super service. İ think me and my wife come in october again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aynisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    9
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

The Doga was just the type of place we needed - somewhere quiet but within easy walking distance to the harbour/beach/shops/buses, etc. The residents which were of a similar age - 70 ish - especially the Irish were great (and made friends with many other nationalities) but we will not be returning IF they take the pool away. <3

Room Tip: We had a room up the steps and near the pool which was fantastic for returning to sit on our little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mumdadjustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

having seen photos before we went like you, would have been impressed!
having been !totally different ."best rooms saved for old friends".
goodbits swimming pool (thats it)
bad one kind of water COLD only a cold tap in sink ,shower COLD and if you stand in middle you stay dry? toilet cistern held on by wire so dont flush it to hard unless you carry spanners on holiday! took 2 days to mend (would of been better getting primary school kids to do it). Been in better on backpacking in india
cesme lovley place people great BUT HOTEL LIKE ITS NAME THE DOGA stands for do not goa

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shaun b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddleworth, Oldham UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Hi I am Ian but known at the Doga Hotel as Hasan Amca (Uncle Hasan)

I've been going to the Doga (Nothing canine!! it means "Nature") Hotel at least twice a year for years,usually July and September, everything is always perfect.

The last time I went was in July 2011 and I am going again on 14th September 2011 and will be go every year adinfinitum.

I always like going mid-September because as well as meeting some of the same people nearly every year, people from UK, Turkey and Norway as well as new people, it,s always good crack.

Mehmet is no longer working at the Doga, Ferhat now fronts the pool, bar and restraunt areas ( he calls himself Jack because most people either can't pronounce or remember his real name). All the staff are very obliging and more imortantly, honest.

If you are reading this reveiw and/or other reveiws and can,t make make your mind up take it from me, GO FOR IT, you won,t be disapointed.

Room Tip: All basic but clean and serviced daily. Top floor facing the front get the late afternoon and early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Last years holiday was very good when Memhet was running the bar ( he is no longer at the Doga as he is doing his national service ) however this year was excellent - Jack who ran the bar made our holiday. He and the staff could not do enough for my husband and I while we had a superb, relaxing holiday. Jacks cocktails - even though they had no names - were to die for. The food served in the holiday was some of the best food we ate while in Cesme. Ebo was the best educated,well mannered (kind sir) of a waiter you could ever wish for. An excellent run hotel, everyone was so friendly and we were treated like one of the family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TracyandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have just returned from our Holiday to Cesme and our stay at the Hotel Doga.
First the hotel .. Well what can I say it was everything we had wished for and more , from the moment we arrived we were welcomed by the staff , and the guests that were already there . Massive thanks to Simon the owner and his lovely wife who sorted out our fridge and hairdryer crisis immediately nothing was ever too much trouble ( even when i inadvertantley took a dip in the pool in my white skirt and she got it cleaned for me ) and the other staff including Ferhat (Jack) . Ibo, the lovely Brook , and the rest of the staff you were all the people that make the Hotel so special .The pool area and the bar are something else No other hotel in Cesme comes close to what this hotel provides, the sun shines all day on the pool and at 17.17 its beer o clock time at the bar :) Yes the rooms are basic so dont go expecting luxury but the setting in between lime and plum trees is beautiful and the rooms are cleaned every day with clean bedding and towells too. After a few days we started to get a bit fed up of Effes so we asked Jack if he did Cider and although he didnt within 2 days he got some in for us now that is service .The hotel is situated about 10 mins stroll from the main part of Cesme and yes there is a slight uphill walk to get back but after having a large meal in town perhaps that is just whats needed .
Restaurants ... Here are a few I would recommend
The Friendly Corner .. very good food at a very reasonable price try there Chicken curry yummy
The Star Restaurant ... Excellent for steaks as well as other food of course
Ibos ... the place the Ex pats meet up and excellent food
The Olive Tree ... the Beef Stroganoff is out of this world .
No Problem Bar ... Good food and a lift home if you are lucky
There are other restaurants that we tried but cant remember the names sorry but I must say we did not have a bad meal anywhere.
We met some lovely people on our stay including Ian who was an absolute godsend he took us under his wing and took us to Alacati , Chiftlic and Illica Beach . Steve and Annette, Pauline and Gordon , Anne and Barry , Kathy and Tommy , Nicky and Henry and everyone else we met there.
Trips.... there are a few trips I would recommend , For The boat trip there are the Bang bang boats with music all day if thats what you want but I would recommend the St Mary as its a much quieter boat which will give you a much more relaxing day and a beautiful lunch its a bit more expensive at 50 lire but well worth it.
Ephesus is about 1/2 hours away Thomas cook do a very good trip its £65 which I think was a bit steep but to be honest its worth paying a bit more to take the hassle out of trying to organise it yourself.
Altinkum Beach ( golden Beach ) my most favourite day out 3 lire on the bus and you are taken to heaven , lovely sand , clear water ( albeit a bit cool) and peace and quiet .
Cesme Castle , 3 lire to go in and the views are stunning
All in all I would recommend Cesme as a place to go in Turkey , No its not Bodrum , Marmaris or even Ichmeler , theres NO sky sports or English 99p breakfasts so if thats what you are looking you will be dissapointed . Its a lazy , chilled out , beautiful part of the world that delivered everything we wanted from our holiday this year and more. Never has 2 weeks seemed so long and relaxing and for that feeling we thank Cesme and particually the Hotel Doga from the bottom of our hearts

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank cats1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Beautiful hotel with great a great pool!

The owners were out every day greeting us and making us feel more than welcome: You can really tell this is a family run business!
The bar stays open as long as there are still customers in so you are never shoo-ed away from the place (The music is turned down though for those sleeping thank goodness!)
Will be back to cesme soon and wouldn't want to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie-963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cesme hotels
2.4 mi away
Kamer Suites & Hotel
Kamer Suites & Hotel
#46 of 130 in Cesme
87 reviews
0.3 mi away
Calis Hotel
Calis Hotel
#71 of 130 in Cesme
8 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ege Tulip Cesme
Ege Tulip Cesme
#47 of 130 in Cesme
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Otel Yeni
Otel Yeni
#59 of 130 in Cesme
81 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cesme Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kanarya Hotel
Kanarya Hotel
#114 of 130 in Cesme
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Doga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Doga

Property: Hotel Doga
Address: Musalla Mah. 1005 Sok. No:17 Cesme Merkez, Cesme 35930, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Cesme
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 130 Hotels in Cesme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Doga 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Doga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doga Hotel Cesme

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing