We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Akropolis Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Bergama B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 16, 2012

3 nights in July 2012 and we felt so at home. The staff went to great lengths to make us comfortable and the hotel was clean and charming. I watched one of the employees climb up on the roof to pick fresh apricots from the tree. They served them to us with every meal. Food was fresh and inventive and always seemed to have been prepared with care and attention to detail. We were there in the worst heat of July, and chose to eat in our room instead of at the shady outside tables. The staff never minded fetching our food upstairs and came back many times to see if we had all we needed. Other reviews which site a run-down property must have been from before a renovation because none of those complaints were pertinent when we were there. The pool was clean and cool. The owner gives the impression of a relaxed Grateful Dead hippie who just wants you to have a good time at his boutique hotel. Our bed was firm and comfortable. The air conditioning and ceiling fan more than cooled the room in 100 degree temperatures. Lots of great water pressure and hot water whenever we needed it. the shower is the standard floor drainage with a curtain pulled to protect the spray from soaking the rest of the bath. This is a bit of a surprise to people who have not travelled Turkey, but standard operating proceedure in Turkish hotels. Extra pillows and towels are provided with a smile. The chef enjoyed preparing special treats which he learned to make during a stint in Germany, and he often provided them at no charge beyond the basic meal cost. We decided to re-visit the same place on our way back home, and Erçument asked if we wanted him to hold the same room that we had stayed in a week earlier. Everyone was so accomodating. We met nice guests from Europe and Canada, and enjoyed brief chats with our neighbors. The entire courtyard is full of beautiful flowers. If you need luxury accomodations, this is not your hotel. But if you enjoy simple, clean, friendly beauty and a relaxed atmosphere, make the reservation!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 153 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at the Akropolis Guest House during our Turkey trip in July with our 16 month old daughter. We had a wonderful time there and would recommend this hotel to anybody. The hotel is walking distance to the red basilica and to the lift to the Akropolis. The staff is really nice and helpful and the food was excellent. They made our stay really nice and pleasent.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisAndiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and I'd rate it one of the best places we stayed in our 4 week trip to Turkey. It was a good location (walking distance to the Red Basilica & base of Akropolis) and the staff were wonderful. They upgraded us to a bigger room, provided us with tea and fruit platters whenever we were relaxing in the courtyard or near the pool and were so friendly. We felt like treasured guests. The food (included breakfasts & the dinners we had there) was excellent - home made and great variety. There was nothing to dislike here. This was wonderful value for money - I'd recommend it very highly!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VicAuTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a place with friendly staff, a good location to get to the acropolis (walking distance to the lift), a great little pool to cool off and very friendly staff who do a great job looking after their guests well and give a personal touch to staying there. There is simple but tasty food as well.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH_AW_IH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed at the Akropolis Guest house in mid-May 2012 and had an excellent experience.

The location: At first I thought Akropolis was out of the way since it was a little off the Lonely Planet map, but in retrospect the location is excellent. As others mention, a five minute walk to the funicular (or gondola, whatever you want to call it). The funicular is the way to the acropolis of Pergamum, which is Bergama's very cool main attraction. The Guest House is right next to the Red Basillica and a ten minute walk to 'downtown' Bergama. Bergama is decidedly not a town garnered to tourism, which is cool, but you're not missing much by not staying 'downtown'.

The place: Peaceful courtyard. I really enjoyed reading and eating out there by the pool. My room had a cabin feel. Spacious, comfortable bed, a nice desk. The bathroom was clean and reasonably big.

The people: Very nice. The maid was very friendly, accommodating, and a good cook. The owner is kind and responsive. I left my glasses at the Guest House and he quickly sent them off to my next destination.

If I come back to Bergama, I'll definitely return to the Akropolis Guest House.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This guest house was situated 5 minutes walk from the cable car to the Akropolis. The guest house hosts were delightful, we were offered a cup of tea on arrival and an upgraded room. Our room was very spacious with patio outside to sit at. We decided to have our dinner at the guest house which was a feast of home cooked turkish food at very cheap prices! The guesthouse is situated around a central courtyard with a lovely swimming pool to cool off after a hot days' sightseeing. When we left we were seen to the gate and waved off by the host.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mackenzie1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Hotel is situated close to the Pergamon site in a quiet road where cars can be parked. Open style, room (already shown in photos) and hotel was Ok but the best feature was the owner and his cook/assistant who were very friendly and helpful. A sign in town said 'Akropolis boutique hotel'- rather think guest house.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking road- seemed to have more light- and we could see the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrdevelopment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergama hotels
0.1 mi away
Les Pergamon Hotel
Les Pergamon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bergama
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Taskonak
Taskonak
#9 of 15 in Bergama
1 reviews
0 mi away
Attalos Suites Hotel
Attalos Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bergama
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aristonicus Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hera Boutique Hotel
Hera Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Bergama
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Odyssey Guesthouse
Odyssey Guesthouse
#2 of 15 in Bergama
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akropolis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akropolis Guest House

Address: Kurtulus Mah. Kayalik Sok. No 3, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range: $40 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Akropolis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akropolis Guest House is located in the historical, old part of the city where the major attractions are very close. It's on the way of Redhall-Bazelika and Akropolis. Just 250 mt after Bazelika. And everybody know where Bazelika is if you ask in Bergama....You will feel the blend of uncountable cultures from the terrace. One silent location sarrounded narrow streets with old houses which they reflects the face of pergamum stories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Akropolis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing