We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quiet and peaceful”
Review of Pergamon Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pergamon Pension
Ranked #10 of 16 Bergama B&B and Inns
Leongatha, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiet and peaceful”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The owners were unbelievably friendly and great hosts.The court yard was a good place to relax and chill. the breakfast was one of the best we had in turkey. The room was small but cosy. No compliants about anything. Would recommend the pension to anyone travelling in this area

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    11
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
25
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Pergamon Pension is semi-restored Ottoman House will a lot of charm but don't expect the latest in furnishings. The Pension is run by a super friendly, eager-to-please Turkish family. The breakfasts are the best we had in Turkey. It has a good WiFi and is well located.

Con: We thought we were paying for a room with a private bath but ended up with a shared bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevastopol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very-very kind and hospitable owners, especially she - Nuray. All her children are very kind, and friendly, and polite, and very silent (not usual for Turkish children) The room was very clean and some little knitted things were added. The breakfeast was very good, plentiful and special. But first of all, the personality of Nuray is awesome! She tried to make me feel at home in her own home. This was unusual for me: She was a bit more than just polite and affable person - she was amazing!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aelia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Highly recommend this place.
Has a beautiful courtyard and the rooms are nice and adequate for the price.
Staff took our bags to our room and gave us a welcome drink. This surprised us considering the price!
Really good shower, didn't run out of hot water.
Breakfast was amazing and homemade. They even made me something special because I can't have milk.
Such nice staff.
Really did feel like home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANBERRA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed at the Pegamon Pension recently. Ozden and Nuray Bavli were the perfect hosts
'our home is yours', and indeed you felt at home. Nuray is a wonderful cook and her breakfast is the best we have tasted in Turkey, not only for its variety, but also for the quality of home cooked jams, preserves and even rich chocolate cake.

The savories are also wonderful. Her cheese filled filo pencils are delicious. There is omlette, boiled egg, olives, tomato and chili paste, cucumber, orange slices, tomato, fresh bread, two types of cheese, eggplant dip, carrot dip, yoghurt – it was amazing, chips (french fries) and smoked eggplant were added one day. My wife had apple tea, and for me the earthy, strong Turkish coffee.

From the roof terrace you can watch the last rays of the sun enrich the colours on the Acropolis hill and burnish the ruins of the old Roman settlement. Then the Azan, the call to prayer, and in Bergama it is the most wonderful confluence of voices, echoing through the valley from each mosque.

The Acropolis is a short 'taksi' drive, or a walk if you are fit and energetic. The Asclepion is also within walking distance, or a short taxi ride. The Red Basilica is near the bus station, about 200m, (but closed when we were there). The Bergama Museum a 15 min walk through the old town.

The house is extended from an Ottoman dwelling, with courtyard where breakfast is served. Some rooms have en suite and the larger rooms share a small bathroom. This is not ritz and glamour, but character, location, the warmest hosts and the best breakfast in Turkey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BMCGLOIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I arrived to the hotel in the evening with being warmly welcomed. My room was upgraded to a relatively more convenient one for me with a small fee. After settling down to my room, I was offered to drink a welcome tea with my hosts. They were so kind and helpful that I felt like at home.

In the morning, they prepared me breakfast which was very rich. It was so surprising to me in a positive sense as I haven't seen such variety at 3-4 stars hotels I've ever stayed.

The owner is also a taxi driver. He organises tours to historic sites out of the city such as Sardes upon your request. By the way, he took me to the cable car to Acropolis and didn't take any money. In the same way, he brought me to the bus station with his motorbike as he was free at that moment.

During the day, I stopped by the hotel twice to rest. I was also given a kind of goodbye coffee. I watched TV a little bit and helped their daughter Nilay to paint her picture book. It was so funny.

Overall, I would highly recommend Pergamon Pension. If I'm in Bergama again, I will definitely stay in Pergamon Pension.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeqununSeyahatnamesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

we arrived about 8pm off the bus and made our way to the pension. Our host met us at the door and showed us to our small but very comfortable room. Very clean. Breakfast next morning was amazing!!!.. More than we could eat but we tried!! The owner was very helpful and booked our bus to Canakkale for us while we took in the Acropolis of Pergamon and made our way down the hill. If you go to Acropolis, dont take the easy option down in the cable car. The walk to the bottom is VERY worth while and most people dont do it so you have it to yourself. On getting back to the Pension, our hostess made a Turkish coffee while we waited for her husband to return. He drove us to the bus and wouldnt take any money even tho he doubled as a taxi driver. These people went the extra mile to make us welcome.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
22.0 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
1.5 mi away
Berksoy Hotel
Berksoy Hotel
#3 of 5 in Bergama
48 reviews
0.0 mi away
Athena Pension
Athena Pension
#6 of 16 in Bergama
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Akropolis Guest House
Akropolis Guest House
#5 of 16 in Bergama
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Attalos Suites Hotel
Attalos Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Bergama
27 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anil Boutique Hotel
Anil Boutique Hotel
#11 of 16 in Bergama
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergamon Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergamon Pension

Property: Pergamon Pension
Address: Barbaros Mahallesi, Lokcu Imam Cikmazi No:9 Izmir, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pergamon Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing