We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Civilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Athena Pension

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Athena Pension
Ranked #7 of 14 Bergama B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Civilisation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Without a doubt this is the best pension in Bergama - it has a lovely garden which has a clear view to the Acropolis and you can sit in it freely - newly renovated this year it is fresh and pleasant in an almost japanesey feel and the proprietor is very friendly. The breakfast is an exploration because it has Turkish elements unfamiliar in Western Europe such as mulberry syrup and rose petal jam and assorted pastries and things which are part of the holiday experience. We loved it and it is very central. As in all Turkish towns you are woken by the calls to prayer blasting out at 6.15 in the morning or so and the conversation between the local dogs in the middle of the night, but that is just part of the local colour.

Room Tip: You want to be in the main Ottoman House which has four bright and airy rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipmartyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    24
    13
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Although I spent only one night in Bergama, my host at Athena Pension went out of his way to be sure that I was comfortably settled. I liked the room, which was one of four in that section of the renovated Ottoman house. Shoes are left at the main door, and slippers are provided for the interior. The room was quaint, but definitely charming, and the shower did not disappoint. I needed to find the bus station the next morning, so I hopped on the back of the owner's motorcycle and he showed me how to reach it from the pension. There were small cafes, serving locals, close to the pension, and also a small market for water and snacks. The breakfast was simple, but the bread and rolls served were definitely fresh. After dropping me back at the pension, he headed out on the bike once again, returning with bread fresh out of the bakery ovens. If you are there soon, be sure to note the 25 or so melons hanging in mesh bags from the beams in the breakfast house. They are not decoration, but are hung to preserve them so that melon is on the menu well past the growing season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWnative98274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edogawa-ku, Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I traveled in Turkey with my wife.
We could stay comfortably,in this hotel.

This accommodation is using a traditional ottoman's building.(about 100 years ago)
But all rooms have already renovated.That was enough to enjoy staying.
In the neighborhood of this hotel,Good old buildings and traditional Turkish life still remain.

Beautiful garden,nice stuff,good hospitality.
Especially,in the evening,We could see a great heritage site from the garden.
This experience was saikou(in japanese,meaning `very good!')

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobuo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The place is near the acropolis and near a small bus station that has buses to Izmir.

If you are coming from Cannakkale ask if the bus drop you in the city (30 TL) otherwise they will leave you in the middles of a desert crossroad and you will have to walk till the bus station and take another bus (minibus, 1.6 TL) to reach the centre.
We had this problem because we didn't buy the bus ticket the day before and then it was fully booked (buy it at least the day before leaving!!!! 25 TL) so we had to take a bus till Edremir (28TL) then another one till the crossroad to bergama (10 TL)...that meakes you loose a lot of time.

The pension: The owner speak english enough to understand you but not for chatting.
Our room was a double with bathroom and was quite big.
Very clean and silent.
There was air conditioning and WIFI.
You can pay with credit card or euros (no coins)
They have a garden where you can have breakfast or just relax.
The breakfast was fruits, bread with cheese or marmelade, an omlette and other sweet things + coffee or thea.
Very familiar place.
I saw also other rooms (more expensive) and very were super nice! Quite classy!

Highly reccomended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsHeich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turkey
Level Contributor
252 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This was a very nice place to stay and one of our better choices when travelling along the coast of this beautiful part of Turkey. The accommodation is tastefully decorated and the courtyard within which you can park your car adds another dimension to the already beautiful surroundings.

The beds are comfortable and the rooms are very clean. Hot water and clean showers the attention to detail in the well designed rooms just adds to the experience. The air conditioning is particularly quiet and our hosts provided a very friendly and welcoming service.

The breakfast was organised in the courtyard of the adjoining Ottoman house. No effort was spared in provided a feast fit for a king. With homemade jams, bread and cheeses and a selection of fruits and cakes this really was one of the best breakfast experiences we had on this trip.

The couple running this are nice people. They work hard to please their guests and they do a great job. We would have no hesitation in recommending this place. It ticks all the right boxes!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The Athena is such a great place to stay. Aydin will make sure you have the information you need to have a relaxed stay. The single room was cooled by effective aircon, and was decorated with lovely turkish textiles. Aydin no longer offers rooms in the same street; those rooms that were negatively commented on, are now let by a different management under the name of the Pergamon Pension. If you are looking for the Athena, find the Pergamon and the Athena is just a little further on.

Breakfast was very good, and Aydin's menemen is deservedly praised. The locals eat very well - - the kofte was amazing in a bun.

You get keys for the room and the front door, and the restored Ottoman house enables you to be as private as you wish to be. Aydin is friendly and has many great suggestions to make the best of my stay. He took me up to the Acropolis after it closed so I saw the sunset at the Roman bath-houses. Magical.

Bergama has wonderful architecture, I really enjoyed my short stay, and hope to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great; the hostel room has 5 beds and the shower room is in a separate building in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm surprised to read any poor reviews about this place because we thoroughly enjoyed it. Our host, Aydin, was very friendly, very helpful and very motivated to provide good service and accommodation to his guests. We stayed in the family room, which must've been renovated by the time we got there because it was great. Warm and cosy with plenty of hot water. A little small but fine. Breakfast was lovely and varied each day. Our children were made very welcome too. The price was reasonable and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiandgav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
0.3 mi away
Les Pergamon Hotel
Les Pergamon Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bergama
5.0 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
22.0 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
0.1 mi away
Hera Boutique Hotel
Hera Boutique Hotel
#1 of 14 in Bergama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pergamon Pension
Pergamon Pension
#6 of 14 in Bergama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Akropolis Guest House
Akropolis Guest House
#4 of 14 in Bergama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Anil Boutique Hotel
Anil Boutique Hotel
#9 of 14 in Bergama
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Athena Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Athena Pension

Property: Athena Pension
Address: Barbaros Mah. Gokce Imam Cikmazi No:9 Bergama Merkez, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want to stay in the middle of the interesting old town, very central but very quiet street,Pension Athena is option for guests. This over a century-old, Ottoman house is located next to Bergama (Gallinos) river (just next to the Roman Bridge). Wifi internet, secure indoor car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Athena Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing