We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Acropolis”
Review of Anil Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anil Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Bergama B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Hotel is nicely located just off the main street and is in quiet surroundings. Our room was a good size and very comfortable and clean with a modern bathroom. The stairs up to the floors may be a bit slippery as they are quite polished.Breakfast was typical turkish (boiled eggs, cheese, tomatoes, bread) but nothing special. There are a few nice eating places around the corner, on the main street, where you can sit outside.
The hotel is also close to the Museum which we really enjoyed and the exhibits are all well presented. Definitely worth a visit. The toilets here are also very clean.
Not too far away from the hotel is the Asklepion, a very historic site, but it is an uphill walk and was hot the day we went, and doesn't seem to be very busy. I would recommend getting a taxi up there and also to the Acropolis as a much better option than walking. There is also lots to see up at both sites. Go back down from the Acropolis on the Chair Lift and walk back to the Hotel passing the Red Basilica. The town is very nice and we found we could change money at the Jewellers! The service, food and beers at the Zeus bar around the corner is brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed 3 nights, over xmas,with a wonderful view of the Acropolis.Staff were very attentive and helpful, attractions very close by.The hotel lived up to expectations, but parking was a problem which the staff overcame for us.Would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: ask for Acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandydave2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I stayed three nights at this very clean and well-located hotel. My room was very comfortable, quiet, with hot hot water, a very cozy bed, a nice flatscreen tv, and good wifi. Breakfast was good, with veggies, cheeses, olives, cereal, eggs, bread, juice, tea and coffee.

It's a new hotel, and the lighting and colors are quite nice. There is a lift, always welcome!

The hotel is right off the main street, very central, with lots of restaurants within walking distance. The staff speaks pretty good English, and each one was kind and helpful.

I'd stay here again anytime and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaliforniaWoman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Well located just off the main street in quiet surrounds. Our double room was a good size and bathroom very modern. Clean and comfortable accommodation. Breakfast was reasonable but nothing special. Good eating places around the corner on the main street where you can sit outside under the shade of nice trees. Close to the Museum which is well presented and worth a visit. Not too far from the Asklepion but quite an uphill walk so we cheated and got a Taxi. Get a Taxi to the Acropolis then descend on the Chair Lift and walk back to the Hotel passing the Red Basilica. We had a view of the Acropolis from our bedroom window but it is distant.

Dean K Perth WA

Room Tip: Front room with view to the Acropolis hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is a small, newly opened (or renovated) hotel nicely located in the city center. Our triple room was of adequate size and both usefully and attractively furnished. The average size bath had an above average size multi-function shower making it somewhat cramped. The mattresses were reasonably comfortable but of the thin, "feel the springs" variety. Such mattresses are fairly common in Turkish hotels--not uncomfortable but a bit strange. We had a nice view of the acropolis and the staff manged to find us parking immediately in front of the hotel. They served an average Turkish breakfast. The initial price quoted seemed excessive and we bargained it down a bit to a level very similar to hotels of similar quality we had visited in this trip. There are not many restaurants in the immediate area but the locanta-style restaurant we found was excellent and we also enjoyed a couple hours drinking tea, smoking nargile and playing backgammon in one of the nearby Turkish cafes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwampeastMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is a very convenient hotel (actually Bergama is so small that most hotels ought to be convenient) to the primary attractions of Bergama - the museum, Asklepion and the Acropolis - both eminently walkable from this hotel. Our room (302) afforded a round the clock view of one side of the Acropolis which was nice.

It is minutes walk from a grocery store, a friendly but small eatery (ask the friendly owners of Anil hotel and they will direct you) and the city square. The owners speak decent English and were nice to walk with us to the eatery (which, by the way, serves vegetarian dishes).

The room is well maintained, but small. It had 3 twin beds and a mini bar. The bathroom was correspondingly small as well with the bathing area having just enough space to accommodate a person of small build.

Breakfast was basic - the typical Turkish fare of cucumbers, tomatoes, olives and bread (only white bread was served), with tahini helva and coffee for the vegetarians. Some meat slices and eggs were also available for the non-vegetarians.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Acropolis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasudhachara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We liked this typical small Turkish botique hotel. It is conveniently placed. It had a nice feel, and everything was fine. It was a good base for visiting the Pergamum ancient ruins and the Archaeological Museum.

At the same time one’s expectations need to be congruent with the realities of small Turkish hotels—especially regarding toilets and bedding: Turkish toilets generally are not the best on flushing things down, especially toilet paper, and you are instructed not to put paper into the toilet. Rather, the toilets typically come with a bidet nozzle that you turn on to clean yourself rather than wiping. Toilet paper is used only to dry your bottom after washing with the bidet jet. The toilet paper is put into a covered waste container rather than flushed down. (This pertains to western-style sit toilets, not the Turkish eastern squat toilets you will sometimes encounter in public W.C. facilities, where the ritual is a bit different.) Typical Turkish hotel beds have bottom sheets but no top sheet. Instead there is some sort of light cotton blanket or coverlet that functions as blanket and top sheet. Some hotels provide additional blankets as well.

The breakfast was a typical Turkish breakfast: olives, cheeses, meat, bread, cucumbers, tomatoes, coffee(Nescafe), etc.

Bergama is not a particularly touristy city. This was a welcome change. We especially wanted to avoid typical mediocre tourist food. We asked the attendant at the hotel to recommend a place that tourists wouldn’t go to but locals did—a place where he would eat. He called a friend who spoke better English and had us talk to him on the phone, then we handed the phone back to the desk clerk while his friend translated. He then left the desk and guided us several blocks to a place. (Interestingly, we had spotted this place ourselves a bit earlier.) There was no menu. You went in and chose what of a modest selection was available. It was dirt cheap. It proved to be the culinary high-point of our Turkey visit and we returned there for lunch the following day.

That the hotel would go to such lengths to accommodate our wishes as to personally lead us to the place speaks a lot for the quality of its hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergama
16.0 mi away
Halic Park Dikili
Halic Park Dikili
#3 of 8 in Dikili
96 reviews
21.7 mi away
Kalem Island Oliviera Resort
22.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Izmir Aliaga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Dikili Sunset Club Hotel
16.0 mi away
Perla Hotel
Perla Hotel
#3 of 11 in Dikili
36 reviews
0.5 mi away
Athena Pension
Athena Pension
#6 of 15 in Bergama
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anil Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anil Hotel

Address: Ertugrul mahallesi, Hatuniye Caddesi No 4, Bergama 35700, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Izmir Province > Bergama
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bergama
Price Range: $39 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anil Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is located across the street from the Bergama Museum and is the only hotel located in the city center of Bergama. The hotel has been renovated and re-designed completely in 2012 with panoramic Acropolis scenic view rooms that include 82’ LCD TVs, mini-bar, air-conditioner, sitting area and orthopedic mattresses. The hotel also has free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel. All the rooms have a special compact shower cabin with features like fm radio, massage console, hydro massage and rainfall sprinkling settings to please and relax guests. Guests can enjoy a rich open buffet breakfast and/or an evening meal which includes a variety of famous olive oil based aegean and local dishes while enjoying a breathtaking panormic view of Acrolpolis and the city. Guests can enjoy the panoramic Acropolis and city view and order a drink either their rooms or from the terrace restaurant while using the Wi-Fi free internet which can be accessed easily from anywhere in the hotel. The hotel’s reception gives extensive free information about Bergama and its surrounding towns and cities. On request the hotel offers private transfers to and from the Izmir International Airport for reasonable rates. The hotel also has laundry services. Anil hotel is across the street from the Bergama Museum and just 15 minutes from both the Acropolis and Asclepion Archeological sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anil Hotel Bergama

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing