We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very presentable hotel”
Review of Tugcan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tugcan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gaziantep
Certificate of Excellence
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very presentable hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here on a brief business trip so unable to present much about the hotel. However the rooms were clean, bed a little hard, not much choice for English speaking on tv.Breakfast buffet varied and efficient service. One negative was the failure to communicate the early morning call at 4.30, luckily I have a contingency so did not miss my flight.Arrived late on first night and room service slightly poor with not a lot of choice on menu.
Taxi fare to airport 50 TL

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaf51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    63
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
22
7
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
İzmir, Türkiye
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

The hotel is in the middle of the center. We stayed for four nights for holiday and enjoyed a lot. Almost all locations are newly refurbished. You can taste traditional foods at breakfast. The spa is wonderful. The staff is very well trained and very helpful. Very much recommended...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuneyt360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
173 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2011

Tugcan , located centrally is a five star local hotel, recently renovated .

We have spend one nite at Tugcan and found very comfortable. The spacious and modern rooms were tastefully decorated , yet our clean bathroom didnot look recently renovated. The rooms has all the comfort of a five star hotel.

We didnot use most of the hotels facilities , but had breakfast and dinner and found both very satisfactory. Especially the dinner buffet had several very good prepared local food. Both served in a very modern dining area.

The service was friendly and good. The hotel is close to historic Antep neighbourhood where there are nice bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aguvenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice, when on business trip to Gaziantep. Very professional and highly satisfactory in general.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELIST-34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
550 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,017 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at Tugcan Hotel at the last stop of our 7 days long South East Turkey trip and as the last leg of a very tiring journey, this hotel was almost a paradise to us with its comfort. It's centrally located, very clean, very modern. The rooms are spacious, equipped with all modern technology. Though we did not use, hotel has a spa as well. The service was extremely friendly and the welcoming at the reception with special drinks was flawless. We had thought the hotel was newly opened as there was a "new furniture smell at the lobby and corridors" but when I read the previous reviews, I understand it's an old hotel but totally renovated. Of course, the downside of all this modernity and comfort is that in case you look for an authentic experience, it's definitely not the right place because the hotel could be anywhere in the world but for us, having experienced all the authenticity in the previous days of our trip, this was no problem at all. I recommend this place to all those travellers who look for comfortable accomodation in downtown Gaziantep.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TubaKoseogluOkcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night , as part of a trip in Eastern Turkey. Have no idea what is available in Antep but this hotel was OK. Located in the city's center. Close to restaurants ; supermarkets and walking distance from the city's attractions. Food was fine - not gourmet but sufficient ; tasty well presented. Room was basic but clean. Clean but small towels. Amenities included shampoo; soap ; body lotion. Water pressure was fine . Bed was fine ; clean sheets etc
Room had coffee & tea kit and a mini bar.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZvikaGl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2008

We stayed in the Tugcan Hotel for one night in early October, 2008. The hotel seemed in serious need of a rennovation, and signs in the lobby indicated that one is in the works, but gave no timeline. The hotel is dated and run-down. In our experience the employees were friendly and helpful, but, frankly, this didn't make up for the overall sub-standard physical plant of the hotel.

The hallways are dingy and drab, poorly lit and deserted, and lined with odd, tacky green woodwork and doors that, judging by the loud noises coming out of some rooms as we passed, are as paper thin as the walls. The carpeting was drab and badly stained pretty much througout. When I went into the room the air was stale and smelled strongly of cigarettes. The furnishings were outdated and seemed dingy and beat up. I have stayed in other smoking rooms in Turkish and other hotels, but this was certainly the strongest, foulest smelling room I'd ever seen. My husband immediately asked for our room to be changed and the desk staff quickly and politely complied.

However, the non-smoking room was only a slight improvement. Its carpets seemed to have been cleaned more thoroughly and/or recently than those in the smoking room, although several prominent stains remained, and the room itself seemed a bit airier and definitely didn't smell. Until, that is, we turned on the a/c to get some air. The a/c blasted smoky air into our room and we were forced to just leave it off. The room itself was subpar. The walls and carpets were dirty, paint and plaster seemed to be missing from some walls, particularly in the corners. The room was so dusty that, in the morning, when the light came through the windows, you could see dust particles thick in the air. I woke up cogested and allergic.

The bathroom is strange and tacky, with large logos on the glass shower partition and colorful marble. Mold and rust also seemed to feature in the bathroom's decor. The toilet includes both a standard Turkish wall-mounted flush unit and a strange button on the side that operates what seems to be some type of automated bidet. Pity the function of this button is not really explained. The furnishings are worn and tatty, the room seemed dusty and not overly clean. Public areas, like all hotels in Turkey, no longer allow smoking, but still feel stuffy and tired. Breakfast was fair, but, again, despite the friendly staff, the overall impression was pretty grim.

Gaziantep is a lovely city, with delicious food. However, I certainly hope there are better places to stay there than the Tugcan Hotel.

  • Liked — Staff friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — Tired, dirty, ugly physical plant
  • Stayed October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SafaBey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TugcanGuestRelations, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Tugcan Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
Dear Safa Bey ;


Thank you for choosing Tugcan Hotel during your stay in Gaziantep in 2008.
It has been a long time since you wrote a comment on us, and I am truly sorry for replying you too late. Tugcan Hotel was the first 5 star hotel in South East Region and Gaziantep opened its doors in 1994.

We started a complete renovation programme in 2009 starting from rooms, restaurantsi meeting rooms and health club and finished in 2011.

We are sorry for the inconvenience we caused , your comments are important to us.
We wish to see you back in our hotel .
Regards ;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gaziantep hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
Hotel Ibis Gaziantep
#6 of 27 in Gaziantep
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Gaziantep
1.1 mi away
Divan Hotel Gaziantep
Divan Hotel Gaziantep
#2 of 27 in Gaziantep
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Gaziantep-Sehitkamil
0.7 mi away
Sirehan Hotel
Sirehan Hotel
#3 of 27 in Gaziantep
147 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
Hotel Novotel Gaziantep
#4 of 27 in Gaziantep
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugcan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugcan Hotel

Property: Tugcan Hotel
Address: Ataturk Bulvari No:34 | Sahinbey, Gaziantep 27010, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Gaziantep Province > Gaziantep
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Gaziantep
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tugcan Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and explore the cultural town Gaziantep from its very heart and stay at the modern Tugcan Hotel, where sophisticated style complements its historic surroundings.Escape your day-to-day life and trade it temporarily for the 5-star luxury of this hotel. Contemporary style and a warm interior characterise this residence and you can enjoy a wide range of facilities here. Savour a drink at the stylish, inviting bar, work up a sweat at the gym or simply indulge in the comfort of your glamorous room. Take advantage of the Business Centre and occupy one of our conference rooms to conduct business. Discover the historic and cultural city centre, which is right outside your door, and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tugcan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing