We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for information at the start of your trip”

Bayazhan Gaziantep City Museum
Ranked #11 of 37 things to do in Gaziantep
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great for information at the start of your trip”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you visit Gaziantep without doing any research on it (like I did), the Bayazhan Gaziantep City Museum is a great place to start on your first day. I wouldn't go to it at the end of the trip (or if you already have some kind of guidebook); it would be largely pointless.

There are informational displays divided up by rooms (historical, food, Gaziantep's local handicrafts, way of life, other areas of touristic merit), which I treated almost as if it were a guidebook, in order to inform the rest of my activities during my 5-day visit. The museum exhibits feature mostly wall text, a few videos, and mannequins set up in vignettes, not really any historical objects.

Supposedly the audio tour is available in English, but mine was in Turkish and I couldn't get it to switch languages. If you need English, be sure to ask for it. The Turkish audio tour was nicely produced -- good professional narration and some music and sound effects for atmosphere.

I wish I had known there was a shop and that one could enter the restaurant area (where I think there are more shops), but I suppose that is the pitfall of not doing any research before visiting.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Agrajag777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    26
    9
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“rip off”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Bayazhan is a historical building you should visit in Gaziantep. I hope this review is not out of place- it is going to be about the restaurant at Bayazhan. I enjoyed the food at the restaurant but I was very surprised when the bill came! Instead of placing bottles of water on our table and charging us for that, they kept filling our glasses with water without being asked (I don't even know if it was tap water... and I'd like to know!). They also gave us pide (sort of bread) before the meal, which is usually gratis. We were charged BOTH for the water and the pide!! Especially for big groups this sums up to an insane amount of money and since this is really not how restaurants work in Turkey, we were very negatively surprised.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cyprus92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kas, Turkey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good value”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

One feels this was sponsored by the Chamber of Commerce; it is unabashedly self promoting. That said for the price of one lira, it was worth it. You are given an audio guide in the language of your choice, which automatically ( usually) clicks onto the rooms' selection. Lots of interesting facts about the agricultural and commercial output of the area.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PennyLibrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“nice city mseum start antep tour from here”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

before going anywhere in gaziantep go this little nice museum located in an old antep mansion. I really loved this nice mansion and museum very much. the entrance fee is only one turkish lira, which is almost gratis. after visiting the museum you can have something in the courtyard of this old mansion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank giritline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Find!”
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Great little museum in the heart of Gaziantep. A nice place to spend an hour or two. A bit tired in appearance and difficult to find (as are most museums in Antep) but surely worth a visit if you are in the area. Lots of very interesting stories and Antep history portrayed with life-size displays and artifacts. Be sure to get the electronic translator option when you arrive and enjoy your visit.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Justhetw0fus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayazhan Gaziantep City Museum also viewed

Gaziantep, Gaziantep Province
Gaziantep, Gaziantep Province
 
Gaziantep, Gaziantep Province
 

Been to Bayazhan Gaziantep City Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing