We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but a little far from town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melrose House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Pamukkale
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Good hotel but a little far from town”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Wife and I stayed in Melrose House for a couple of nights so that we could have a full day to visit the World Heritage Site of the travertines, the Hierapolis and the thermal pools. We caught the Pamukkale bus from Selcuk at 3:30pm and were told it was a direct bus. But as has been mentioned by the others, you would need to change to a servis bus at Danizli Otogar. The Pamukkale bus was a medium sized (24?) bus instead of the usual 50+ big coach so it was a bit cramped for the 3+ hr journey. There was no convenient break and the bus stopped about 4-5 times to pick up and drop off others. The servis was waiting at the otogar and the transfer over was quick. The servis driver checked with the 8-10 of us going to Pamukkale where we were staying and announced that we would be dropping us at our hotels. The trick there was he took us first to a hotel where he helped to sell tours to us. It wasn't hard selling as such but one could see their intentions and it stretched out our time taken to get to Melrose by 20 minutes or so. Considering Melrose is a good 20 minutes walk from town centre, so it wasn't a thing to complain about!

Checking in was quick as we'd notified the owner by email about our bus time beforehand. The room on 2nd floor (a junior suit) was fine (no lift), quite spacious with a spared single bed for us to put our clothes etc. It was a bit dim but then many of these hotels are not brightly lit as a rule. There was a door to go out to the a small belcony. The bathroom was clean but a bit cramp and also there was a small leak from the toilet cistern onto the tiled floor. The shower was fine. Melrose was quite near the edge of the town but there were a couple of other hotels near by and 1 of them played loud music until late (10-11pm'ish) on both nights! Something to be aware if that could annoy you. WIFI worked ok.

Breakfast was simple affair but enough to get you going. It started a bit later than usual at 7:30/8:00. We were ok with it. The hosts tried their best to be friendly and helpful, explained to us of how to go to the the travertines and other attractions etc. We took he advice to go up there up after an early lunch and stay till the evening to see the beautiful evening scenery. It was impressive. We covered all the attractions slowly with rest in between. I know some day trippers go in and out in less than 2 hours! A pity in our view. We didn't eat dinner in their restaurant and ate in town instead. We'd noticed that their restaurant could be quite busy especially when they have group customers staying for the night. They gave us a lift back to the town centre for catching the local bus out to Denizli otogar the next morning.

Considering the charge, what you get and the helpfulness of the hosts, we'd recommend the Melrose.

PS: We left our room key with the host before we went out mid morning and asked for it to be cleaned and the towels changed (left on the floor). When we returned after dinner it wasn't done and we had to go see the host for new towels. He apologised and said he had left the instructions with the cleaning lady and couldn't really understand why it wasn't done!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SC168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    574
    303
    71
    15
    12
See reviews for
215
492
32
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The staff are friendly and made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely, very clean, with a massive bed but although we booked a deluxe room it had no balcony or view. The bathroom was very large, a bit quirky and the fittings were dated - and there was also a separate shower room. We didn't eat in the restaurant as we went to find a place to eat with a view of the Travertines at sunset, but we regretted not eating there - the restaurant was full, the food looked amazing and the diners all seemed content. We enjoyed a few drinks in the bar/pool area later in the evening - very relaxing, lovely setting. Breakfast was plentiful, setting us up for the day. Although the hotel was a bit of a walk from the sights it was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Pamukkale is destination for a lot of day trips and tour buses. Crowds come from as far as Istanbul to see the beatiful white cliffs for the day before running off to the next destination. How nice it is then to sleep on site, have a wondeful breakfast and beat the crowds of busses to the attractions.
We only spent one night, but it was well worth it, nice hotel. It is a lot further away from the airport than I thought. I was expecting 10 minutes or so and it is actually an hour...but shuttle connection went smoothly. You take a shuttle from airport, tell them where you are going, and after about 40 minutes you get off on the side of the road where another shuttle is waiting to take you rest of the way. Sounds scarier than it is and all went smoothly.
The hotel itself has kind of an archaic reservation system. You email about availability, they email you back and tell you yes or no, then you email back and confirm. Please note, the system doesn't always work, so an extra email or two can't hurt making things run smoothly. On almost all my legs in Turkey I emailed same day or day before to let them know I was still coming, here I didn't get the chance and reservation was messed up. Thankfully they still had a room for us. Looking at the reservation book, i can see why....was a mess of scribels and things crossed out.
Other than that, the place itself was top notch. Great staff. Arranged our shuttle to get back. Showed us where to go and what to do during the day. Great rates. Great food. Nice pool. I only spent a night and only regret is that I should have spent two.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Capfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff are lovely and go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible. It's in a great location - a little off the main tourist hub but minutes from markets, ATM's, travel agents and restaurants. It has a lovely pool and terrace area, all rooms have balconies and private bathrooms, the restaurant serves gorgeous food (large portions, mind!), the free breakfast is varied and plentiful, there is free wifi, free tea and coffee available in the mornings and three beautiful friendly resident cats (soon to be more as one is pregnant). Honestly can't fault this place, and the price is really reasonable considering the quality of the accommodation and services/facilities available.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cactuschild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

All the positive reviews on Tripadvisor are accurate. We stayed in a very comfortable room on the top floor for 2 nights.The hotel is quiet and in a semi-rural setting on the edge of the village. Excellent value for money. We wish we had planned to stay longer.
We spent and afternoon visiting the travertines and Hieropolis and the next day took a tour (minibus only with 3 other people) to Aphrodisias arranged by the hotel.
We ate at dinner at the hotel: good well prepared food at a reasonable price (although not the best food we had in Turkey). Breakfast was good - a good choice, and plenty of food. Again not the best we had in Turkey but very much good enough.

Room Tip: Top floor room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjcbvsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Nice spacious rooms and a well done hotel. Hotel is run by family members and is very reputed in Pamukalle. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Will recommend others to stay here. Since Pamukalle isn't very big, the location is good if you want go to cotton cliffs, about 15 mins walking.

Only lacking part was food - both dinner and breakfast. Apart from being expensive, the food wasn't really a knockout - was neither bad nor too good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms downstairs or on 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shashaank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The staff was friendly and helpful - the owners are a husband and wife. He was always in a great mood and was very helpful. She's the chef and is absolutely the best in town! Breakfast is fabulous, but don't skip having dinner there!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HilaryC327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamukkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Venus Hotel
Venus Hotel
#2 of 27 in Pamukkale
917 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pamukkale Ninova Thermal Spa & Hotel
3.0 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Aspawa Pension Hotel
Aspawa Pension Hotel
#10 of 27 in Pamukkale
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ozbay Hotel
Ozbay Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pamukkale
343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tripolis Hotel
Tripolis Hotel
#11 of 27 in Pamukkale
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melrose House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melrose House Hotel

Property: Melrose House Hotel
Address: Pamukkale Mahallesi, Vali Vekfi Erturk Cad, No. 8, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pamukkale
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pamukkale
#3 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
#4 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Melrose House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Melrose House Hotel, where a homely atmosphere is offered to our guests accompanied by the traditional Turkish hospitality.Designed and furnished to create your most pleasant stay, Melrose is a small and luxury Hotel which offers nicely decorated comfortable rooms and spacious Turkish cuisine to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Melrose House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melrose Allgau Pamukkale
Hotel Melrose Allgau

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing