We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another category is required to capture our experience at the Venus Hotel”
Review of Venus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Venus Hotel
Ranked #1 of 27 Hotels in Pamukkale
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another category is required to capture our experience at the Venus Hotel”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Yes, the place is lovely and the food terrific with an excellent location and wonderful staff. However my partner arrived ill and after a day of not getting any better we were accompanied to the local doctor and then into town to the hospital where we were ushered through a medical process which was unilingually Turkish, by the manager of the Venus , who accompanied us the entire day. I have no idea how we would have managed without him, and am glad that I dont need to imagine it!
We had initially been told that it was 'market day' and the manager's presence was needed at the hotel, however when it was clear that we could not navigate the medical establishment on our own, provisions were made for him to come.This was service beyond extraordinary and ranks as one of the unforgettables of travel experience.
As well, they allowed us to stay an extra night, as we really couldnt move, even though they were going to be full for the night. This meant that they might have to move someone to another hotel and there was a concern that a negative review might ensue as a result of such a request on the part of the hotel . I somehow had no doubt that if the circumstances were known that anyone would be able to imagine that they too, at some point down the road , might find themselves in such an unfortunate situation and would be more empathetic rather than annoyed.
As we needed to leave and could not drive ourselves, they allowed us to leave our car at their hotel for a number of days, with the idea of our returning when possible, and moving on.
The kindness, generosity and consideration went way beyond the imagination.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThrutheSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    276
    78
    18
    15
See reviews for
206
417
36
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

From the street the hotel is very charming and even more so once you enter through reception. Our room was fresh and clean, the restaurant served us a delicious dinner and breakfast was very good. The staff were excellent, offering to shuttle us to Pamukkale and providing us with excellent tips on how to best explore the area. Venus hotel is outstanding value for money

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Pamukkale has changed a lot since I last visited as a child; the big mega-hotels that used to be at the top of the travertines are all gone and the hotel options now are primarily small intimate places in town. The Venus is on the opposite side of town from the primary attraction but the town is tiny so it takes no time to walk from the hotel to the base of the hill. The hotel is cozy and the gardens are beautiful; we sat out on our room balcony at sunset and read for a while and savored the quiet and calm. The restaurant at the hotel is great; the food is wonderful. The room was clean and neat and the staff were all very warm and helpful. I'd stay at the Venus again happily if I were to return to Pamukkale.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies are quite nice - sit out and have coffee in the morning or a glass of wine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taser8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I would agree with the most recent reviews especially regarding the friendly atmosphere of this hotel and its interior design. It is a perfectly adequate place to overnight whilst visiting Pamukkale. Recep and Hasan were the main ones we dealt with and both speak very good English. There is a nice touch in that the room information file tells you about the family. I would say that the in house food is much as other guests have reported - adequate but not best priced given the competition in town. One of my wife's chicken kebab sticks at dinner was under cooked. We pointed it out and it was put right without complaint. A word of advice when paying: if you are required to pay at the hotel (rather than pre paying an internet agency) they only accept cash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelBoffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we first drove down the back streets to get to the Venus, we wondered what we had gotten ourselves into. Once we walked through the entrance / pool area and into reception, we felt much relieved. The hotel is beautifully decorated in the Turkish style, with numerous areas indoor and outdoors in which to sit and relax.

Our room was a reasonable size, with a good balcony (with cotton cliffs 'glimpses'). There was not a lot of space for bags or to hang things. The bathroom was good size with clean modern fittings and excellent shower. Internet worked fine. The bed was OK, but harder than we prefer - did not get a great sleep.

The issues we experienced were:
No hot water. We attempted a shower at about 9.30pm. Water started off luke warm and quickly went to tepid. Next morning is was hot.
Shower recess did not drain the water away quickly enough - left standing in a pool of water. The water also leaked out onto the floor.
Breakfast was very basic. The only hot food was boiled eggs. We could find little eat other than bread (no toaster) and jam, and a piece of fruit.
In-house restaurant was poor. We opted to 'eat in' mainly because of the good reviews the restaurant had. After a week in various places in Turkey, I can confidently say that the food at the Venus is below average and over-priced. There must be better options available in the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandJudy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Spacious clean room, nice and informal atmosphere. We enjoyed it all, including food, easy access to the absolutely amazing Pamukkale´s landscape.It´s worth driving some few hundreds of kilometers up to this city and visit an unique place in the world. And for sure it´s very advisable to spend a night there and this the right place to stay. Great value for the Money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank conrado_schulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

In our four weeks travelling around Turkey, this was the best and most memorable place we stayed. The hotel is about 600 metres walk from the "travertines" and the gaggle of local shops and cafes aimed at day visitors. We had all our meals in the Venus Hotel and we never regretted it as they were excellent. Breakfast was a generous buffet. Our room was also excellent, with great attention to detail and ambience..The management/staff was relaxed, friendly and helpful. The pool was inviting but the (clean) water was too cold for me. Fortunately there are hot spa hotels in the nearby town of Karahayit, a short dolmus trip of about 6km. Overall, full marks to the Venus Hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trizzybit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pamukkale hotels
0.1 mi away
Melrose House Hotel
Melrose House Hotel
#4 of 27 in Pamukkale
975 reviews
3.0 mi away
Richmond Pamukkale Thermal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hal-Tur Hotel
Hal-Tur Hotel
#2 of 27 in Pamukkale
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Pamukkale Ninova Thermal Spa & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Ozbay Hotel
Ozbay Hotel
#7 of 27 in Pamukkale
343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bellamaritimo Hotel
Bellamaritimo Hotel
#3 of 27 in Pamukkale
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Venus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Venus Hotel

Property: Venus Hotel
Address: Pamuk. Mah Hasan Tahsin Cad. No. 16, Pamukkale 20280, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Denizli Province > Pamukkale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Pamukkale
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pamukkale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Venus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Venus Hotel is a charming family run hotel located in the pleasant Pamukkale villiage. Facilities include a swimming pool, tranquil garden, free internet, and a relaxing 'Ottoman' corner. You can see Pamukkale's famous travertines or enjoy mountain views from the balconies of our sunny rooms. We also serve a large variety of homecooked Turkish meals for lunch or dinner in our popular restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Venus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Venus Hotel Pamukkale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing